We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Makalolo Plains Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makalolo Plains Camp
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A wonderful camp where you can see lots of animals coming and going to the waterhole directly in front of the dining hall. The tents are comfortable with electricity, bathroom with hot water, even an outdoor shower for added fun. The staff are friendly and helpful, the guides are excellent, getting to within feet of lions and other animals. The most memorable event was watching two adult and a baby elephant come to drink from the deck pool.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the "walking safari" through the bush; also night game drives to see noc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here as part of an Overseas Adventure Trip and loved it. It was our final camp and each one kept getting better.

The rooms were great and well maintained. Plenty of light and hot water.

The real benefit of a good camp is the staff which was superb from the cleaners, to the chefs, and especially the guides who had great knowledge of the surroundings and found all of the animals, vegetables and minerals we were looking for.

Food was outstanding and way too plentiful. It seemed like you didn't go two hours without a meal, snack, drink, sundowner, or other excuse to imbibe. Nothing like a hot cup of coffee when it is chilly in the morning on the drive and a cold beer in the hot afternoon. All included, of course.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikel12323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Every place we stayed had good food, fine accommodations and super guides, but this one had added touches of steps for the jeep climb and sherry on return. Most interesting wildlife we saw. Try to avoid late October early Nov. heat spells. It was over 100 f every day.

Room Tip: Try for 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siem riep
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Makalolo Plains Camp was the best by far of the four wilderness safari camps we stayed in. It was comfortable, pleasant, very well run, and the food was excellent. The only downer was the wine.

The tour guides were great and we saw a fair number of animals, including lions and the elusive white rhinos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank readySiemRiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This review may not be relevant as I stayed here before 2007 (I had to enter a year and 2007 was the earliest), however I can still remember this place so clearly and long to return one day. I felt I had to write a review of this place as it really is magical. From the moment we flew over the landing strip to clear the zebra we did not stop seeing lots and lots of animals. The game viewing we had was spectacular. The people looked after us so well and the rooms were as good as any 5 star hotel even though they were tented! The food was fantastic as was the setting, due to it being so remote, the only other jeeps we saw were from Little Makalolo (it's little sister camp)

Sundowners were fantastic, with the drinks cabinet and nibbles being taken out when a good spot was found on the afternoon drives.

Oh I really just loved everything about this place and could not fault it one bit. I can't wait to one day go back.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyk282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Our family recently returned from an idyllic stay at Makalolo Plains. We were 20 in all, ranging in age from 3 to 80 years! It was the second safari camp stay of our trip, and while we thoroughly enjoyed our first camp in South Africa, Makalolo was a truly unique experience. The staff, including Amon, Dickson, Laurence and Rania, ensured that each and every one of our group was comfortable and felt welcome. It is very hard to pinpoint one highlight of the trip, as everything, from the tents to the game drives to the chats around the fire after dinner, proved unique and memorable. The location is truly stunning, as you are able to sit on your private deck or on the common deck area and watch a wide array of wildlife go by......elephant, wildebeest, baboon, waterbok, impala and zebra, to name just a few. The game drives were memorable and chock-full of wildlife. One of the most extraordinary moments was a sundowner enjoyed under a stunning African sunset, shared with a herd of 35 elephants enjoying their evening drink and wallow.......Our most sincere thanks to Amon and the team at Makalolo. We have left Africa but thanks to you, Africa will never leave us.

  • Liked — The tents were spacious and comfortable and the outdoor shower was fantastic!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
us
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

This was a real disappointment compared to Somalisa.
The food was average at best and the game viewing limited.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank philbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 23 in Hwange National Park
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 23 in Hwange National Park
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Hwange National Park
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 23 in Hwange National Park
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 23 in Hwange National Park
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 23 in Hwange National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makalolo Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makalolo Plains Camp

Property: Makalolo Plains Camp
Address: Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe (Formerly Wilderness Safaris)
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Makalolo Plains Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the parched, flat grasslands of Hwange, Makalolo Plains Camp is an attraction for thousands of elephants and buffalo and even lions and hyenas. Makalolo boasts one of the few water sources in the area, and therefore a procession of wildlife is a daily event during the dry season. You will enjoy panoramic views of this waterhole from the raised and spacious main area which comprises a lounge, pub, plunge pool and dining area where delicious meals are served. Consisting of ten large comfortable rooms your accommodation has en-suite facilities as well as an outdoor shower for you to immerse yourself in while enjoying the African skies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing