We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wilderness Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I were at the Davison Camp in May 2013 with 4 of our friends, The staff was wonderful, the food was great and the wildlife safaris were amazing. This was truly an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari_Lem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

My friend and I recently spent 2 nights at Davison's. The camp and permanent tents are lovely and very comfortable. We also enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the elephants and wildlife at the waterhole. Unfortunately we didn't find the senior staff all that welcoming after we discussed an issue we had while on a game drive. After that they made us feel awkward when we would request something (which wasn't often). It also would not be the camp if you want any privacy, and the camp was not even close to full while we were there. The food was excellent, as was the wait and housekeeping staff. The game was not plentiful while on the game drives, though lions did come to the waterhole the first night we were there, which was fantastic. If you are with a large group or enjoy a lot of socializing ( and not about wildlife viewing, Zimbabwe, or conservation) you may like this camp

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you so much Cynthia S, for the review you posted pertaining to Davison'sCamp. We appreciate your feedback and have advised the relevant parties of your impressions of the camp. The Management were made aware that you and your travel partner preferred to have a different mix of guests on your game viewing vehicle and arrangements were made to make the necessary changes. Additionally, the guide allocated to you during your visit, was informed that you found the storage boxes in between the seats on your initial vehicle, a hindrance for your camera equipment and he then changed vehicles for the very next game drive, resolving the issue as quickly as possible.

Thank you once again for you feedback, we are delighted to note that you found the food offering, waitrons and housekeeping staff all to be excellent.
The Davison's Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent four nights at Davison's Camp in May, 2013. This was the more reasonably priced of the Wilderness Safari camps in the concession (Makalolo and Little Makalolo being the others). The camp is situated by a large watering hole, although it's a bit distant and you probably need a good telephoto lens to capture some of the action (except for the elephants who come right up to camp). Overall the food and service in the camp was excellent, and the accommodations quite comfortable. The guides were of varying quality compared to guides we've seen elsewhere. Night drives are different from other parts of Africa because they use a red light and not a regular spotlight, so it was difficult to see many of the animals. They do not use a second person on the vehicle as a spotter, so the driver has to balance driving on the road with trying to spot animals on the side of the vehicle, and this was a challenge.

The location is not the best because the area immediately around camp is not rich in game. We typically had to drive about 45 minutes to get to any areas that had a lot of game. We did have great lion sightings, and the Sable antelope sightings were the best we've had.

It's best to stay at one of the Makalolo camps if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prim8Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent three nights at Davison's Camp in early July and had a wonderful experience. Everything about the camp is superb; from the staff, setting, location, accommodations, food and game viewing. Our trip started with a bang when we saw a group of three Roan shortly after our airplane landed to a large herd of elephant at the camp water hole upon our arrival at camp. The next 2.5 days were just superb as our guide, Livingstone, expertly showed us all the wonders that Hwange had to offer every morning and evening while we enjoyed excellent service at camp between drives. Afternoons were spent lounging around camp watching an endless parade of Kudu, Sable, Zebra and Elephants come down to the camp water hole.

The highlight of our stay was the second morning when we left a pair of mating lions to race over to a pack of African Painted Dogs that had just killed a Kudu. We were able to watch them for an hour defend their kill against several groups of jackals before heading back to watch the lions some more. That night we topped off our big four day with a leopard lying astride a termite mound right next to our jeep.

As some reviewers have mentioned, this is not a true "Big 5" camp as poachers have sadly reduced Hwange's Rhino population to a few, rarely seen individuals. This is, however, a solid "Big 4" camp with the added bonus of being one of the best places in the world to see the stunningly beautiful Sable Antelope. In fact, this was one of the main reasons we chose to add Davison's to our trip this year and we were not disappointed. The Sable come down to the camp water hole every day around lunch and we saw at least a dozen or more each afternoon.

As long as you understand that and appreciate the wildlife that does call Hwange home, the beautiful scenery, great guiding and superb service you'll want to come back as we do.

My one recommendation would be to offer guests the option of a mid-afternoon walk. The activities are centered around game drives and this part of Hwange does not lend itself to bush walks with a good chance of seeing good game. Given that, it was tough to give up a morning game drive to do a walk and we would have loved the chance to take a short mid-day walk leaving from camp after lunch.

Room Tip: All of the tents are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJames04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were happily surprised at Davison's Camp. While the rooms are modest, they have great view and provide all needed comforts. The staff is 100%+ professional (best of 3 camps we visited!). Sibs, the manager, is soft spoken pro who runs a tight ship and still has time to take guests out on game drives. The vehicles were first class, the guides (we worked with 4 different ones) were knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. The game viewing was superb. Elephants abound, we saw 2 different groups of lions, and about everything else you could want to see with the exception of Rhinos, which are nearly extinct and not part of routine game viewing. Food was adequate and well served. All in all, the experience exceeded expectations and made our trip a success.

Room Tip: Closer to main building as you have to walk to room along with armed guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time. Unlike what some other reviewers said, we saw plenty of wildlife including cheetah and lions. We didn't go with a checklist but an open mind. Guiding was excellent food was good and everyone was happy to be there. Plenty of time to take pictures. Very knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I am speechless after our 2 night stay at Davison's. We spent several days at three different camps with Wilderness Safari (Toka Leya in Zambia, Davison's and Ruckomechi in Zimbabwe). My entire family was unable to rank them because they are so different. Davison's Camp is in the Eastern most part of the Kalahari Desert and the land is flat and sandy.
We traveled in September during their dry season and the game drives were spectacular. I laughed when I read the review prior to this criticizing the camp for the lack of big 5 and I can only guess they traveled at the wrong time. With the exception of Rhino which are very rare and not likely in the park any more, all the others were seen in large doses. During our first game drive, we encountered 3 different prides of lion including 2 separate prides dining on a buffalo and elephant kill and the third pride was stalking Sable when we saw them. There are so many elephant in near, around and in the camp. Multiple times during our stay, elephant were cruising through camp. All the game come to the water hole in front of the camp and at one point, there were approximately 80 elephant and other game that we saw. We encountered Leopard, huge herds of buffalo, numerous hippo, and giraffe. Jackal, sable, kudu, waterbuck, impala, fish eagle, ostrich, were also seen. Please don't decide on traveling to Davison's due to the game. Its EVERYWHERE and amazing.
Zimbabwe seemed very safe and I never felt uncomfortable during our travels but I was glad to have assistance from Wilderness Safari when crossing from Livingston to Vic Falls airport. I don't think I would have wanted to do that alone. Wilderness Safari was very effective in arranging all transfers including our air travel between camps. My wife and I traveled with our 2 boys ages 10 and 12 and always felt safe.
The dining at Davison's was great. Wine pairings were fun and the meals were well planned out. I enjoyed the open long table seating where everyone sits and reminisces about the prior drives. The campfires at night were great and the star viewing was absolutely gorgeous.
Our guide was Sibbs and he was fantastic, and well educated about the game and local area. No question went unanswered and with two young boys... there were a bunch. The camp was very attentive to our kids. The family tent was comfortable with an adjacent room and bathroom for the boys with 2 twin beds.
I would recommend this camp without reservation and am very interested in returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
32.9 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 25 in Hwange National Park
173 reviews
39.4 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 25 in Hwange National Park
432 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 25 in Hwange National Park
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 25 in Hwange National Park
263 reviews
32.2 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 25 in Hwange National Park
51 reviews
35.9 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#18 of 25 in Hwange National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp

Address: Linkwasha Concession, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a shady grove of ancient false mopane trees, Davison's Camp overlooks grassy plains and a shallow pan that entices a steady stream of plains game and elephant herds in their hundreds, especially in the water-scarce winter months. Named after Ted Davison, the first warden of the Park who devoted 30 years of his life to it, Davison's offers the quintessential Hwange experience combining excellent wildlife viewing with the opportunity to visit a local village and participate in community projects. • 9 tents (1 family) • game drives • nature walks • village visits • viewing platforms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Davison`s Camp Hotel Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing