We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hwange Safari Lodge
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I booked the Hwange Safari Lodge for a group of 40 guests traveling with me from the US. The overall stay was very pleasant. The only negative it that the air conditioner was circulating cool air but left the temp. a little above US standards. The food was good. The experience of eating outside by the watering hole was really pleasant. On our second night the parade of animals was wonderful. The staff was very helpful and responded to all request with a pleasant attitude. There were no real negatives. The game drives were great. Overall a good African experience!

!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnBookworm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a charming older lodge that really surprised us. We were not expecting much based on the reviews so we were pleasantly surprised. The entrance is beautiful and we loved sitting outside by the watering hold to animal watch. The accommodations are older which adds to its charm. We did NOT have air-conditioning and it was hot. We had a large group and no one had air-conditioning. The air "circulator" was loud and so was our fan, but we only slept in our room and spent the rest of the time enjoying this beautiful lodge. The safari we took was good with an excellent guide Bheki! We saw antelope, buffalo, a lion, giraffes, elephants, birds, zebras, sables, aardwolfs, etc.

The service here was top notch. Everyone was really accommodating and pleasant and also offered a cheerful hello or smile! We loved our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We visited Hwange Safari Lodge years ago when there were still a lot of tourists about 15 years ago. Now we were back and were pleasantly surprised by the lodge. Staff was friendly, professional and helpful.Rooms: beds were good, bathroom good and clean. Aircon was noisy so we didn't use it. We used the fan instead.Food was good, the chef came around in the afternoon to tell what he would prepare for us that night. The view from the garden is great with allways animals at the waterhole.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Yeah, it's an older lodge with dated rooms. Yes, my bed mosquito netting smelled kind of musty. And the food is just so-so (except the rolls. They were heavenly.). The most important feature is the spectacular animal viewing at this lodge.

As we pulled up to the lodge, we could immediately see a group of elephants in the distance. Getting closer, we realized that the lodge is located literally at the edge of a game viewing park. A watering hole attracts every type of animal - zebra, elephant, antelope - and you can just stand there at the fence and watch nature in action.

I spent hours watching animals approach the watering hole - even witnessing an elephant literally KICK a crocodile into the water- and also watching elephants dig up sand to ingest the minerals and nutrients. It seems weird to think that this would be so fascinating, but the interactions between the different elephants, the babies trying to practice what the adults were doing, etc was just amazing.

The rooms were pretty basic, but had everything you needed. The carpet is worn, the appliances need updating, but what the heck. You're in Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4hersheybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is about as worn out as the Caribbea Bay Hotel is but we, our group of thirty, liked it.
The service was excellent and the GM and the F&B manager really tried to make our stay pleasant.
Perhaps we were spoilt by the at least 100 elephant at the water hole and the similar amount of buffalo.
The service from the staff of this hotel should be an example to the others in the hotel group, they were great and the dinner under the stars was excellent. Small things like a full ice bucket with your wine goes a long way to covering a wonky shower.

Room Tip: Perhaps closer to reception .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Old place, a bit tired, but enjoyed being there and taking one afternoon safari and night safari within the one evening we were there. Special appreciation to the very experienced and environment conscious safari guide. He was willing to take every extra step to make the experience special for us.Spectacular experience, managed to see a lot of animals in wild including lions and Giraffes. Lazy around the bar watching all kinds animals drinking water from the pond outside fence. Slept in my room on first floor watching a single elephant inside compound, around the swimming pool area.

Wonderful Experience!

Room Tip: Get on the 1st floor, with the view of pool and pond outside fence. You will get to watch all sorts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraveenJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

As Zimbabwean tourists we feel privileged to visit Hwange National Park every 1 or 2 years and HSLodge continues to be our choice. Given the terrible state of the Zim economy since 2000 and on going! and the years until around 2010 of virtually no tourism, HSLodge is hanging in there - thanks to the running staff I'd say, with a shortage of top management support and short funding.
The waiting staff are keen and pleasant but inadequately trained and innocently clueless in aspects of service with exception of one or two waiters who have been there a long time and have experience.
Housekeeping maintains the tradition of properly laundered bed and bath linen, clean bathroom, making-up of rooms, tea tray etc, but the carpet in our room had not been washed in enough years to render our feet dirty from walking around barefoot in the very spacious, light, comfortable upper level suite/executive room (fabulous bush view)... Multi-colored once modern carpets don't show the dust accumulated from lack of soap and water!
Front Desk Manager of some years, Mr. Ncube, welcoming, kind, facilitating as ever.
Banqueting lays on a decent enough if somewhat dated nightly buffet and daily breakfast (dreadful baked items aside). In mild August, everyone forgoes the pleasant, airy dining room in favour of garden and poolside meals with a view of the wonderful African 'bush'. Suppers here are great, with large pit fires providing atmosphere and warmth on coolish August nights, and exciting Entertainment by local traditional dance and theatre groups.
The lodge was built c1973, it's a great, 2 level crescent design with every room facing the bush and a watering hole that attracts game day and night across the lodge's lawns, beautifully shaded with old mopane and acacia trees.
The reception foyer is an open ceiling atrium whose trees are all atwitter with nesting weavers.
It was refurbished during Zim's booming 1990s but things are a little jaded (not least the awful black grano floors in public spaces) and the need for funding and maintenance is obvious, though the spacious 70s design, superb location and staff intention to please generally redeems it from disappointment. Its a good place to stay at.

Kate Es review is right on the mark tho I have no idea which Foyer bathrooms she refers to. Our room bathroom was nice, we don't mind the old bath tub, it's nice and deep. In fact, I would also second the only 2 other reviews I see, which follow Kate E's, except that our room was not dirty apart from the mentioned carpet.

Finally, the lodge is very close to the National Park and a stone's throw from the PaintedDogs Conservation project. Not only is the park as good as it gets for game viewing but the drive back to the lodge is a game drive in itself, especially in the evening if you leave the park when it closes at 6pm or night-drive back after supper or drinks at the Parks Main Camp restaurant (very basic).

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny or shady room, garden or upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyMcComish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 24 in Hwange National Park
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 24 in Hwange National Park
42 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 24 in Hwange National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 24 in Hwange National Park
249 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gwango Heritage Resort
Gwango Heritage Resort
#1 of 1 in Hwange National Park
20 reviews
6.7 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 24 in Hwange National Park
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hwange Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwange Safari Lodge

Address: Farm 39, Hwange National Park 5792, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range: £112 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hwange Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hwange Safari Lodge is an oasis of luxury in the heart of the African savannah. Surrounded by untouched wilderness our guests have access to all the modern amenities required to make their stay truly comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants, one which is located outside with views of the watering hole. The swimming pool is a popular oasis for cooling down each day and the bar is the ideal place to relax after a safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hwange Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwange Safari Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing