We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime”
Review of The Hide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hide
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a gem hidden away in Hwange NP. The staff were extremely professional and looked after us brilliantly. The rooms far exceeded what I had expected and I loved the outside shower. The patio area outside our room also offered the opportunity to spot some waterbuck up close at night.

Our drivers were excellent and could point out animals or birds that we could not have seen only for their keen eyes. The food was excellent and I cannot recommend the Hide enough to anyone thinking of going on a safari.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    37
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
118
186
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at The Hide in early March which is towards the end of the wet season. This means that waterholes are full and animals don't have to move around in search of water. We still managed to see a wide variety of animals thanks to the tireless efforts of our passionate, enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide David. David had the uncanny ability to talk at length about something as small as a dung beetle, and make you understand its importance in the eco system. The Hide sits on a private concession, so there's no fighting for space once game is spotted and you can easily sit and quietly watch animals/birds in their natural environment.
The 'tents' are spacious, comfortable and fully equipped with everything. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the outside bath or shower - we just never seemed to find the time!
Light breakfast before a morning game drive, brunch, rest or chat, afternoon tea, afternoon game drive, dinner then a night drive. The food was superb - how they managed to create restaurant quality food in the middle of nowhere is amazing.
Everyone at The Hide was warm and welcoming, ready for a chat or to assist in any way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will seriously consider returning during the dry season to use the hide that sits a few metres from the waterhole and get the opportunity to get very close and personal with the game coming for water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was my first trip to Zimbabwe and my first time in Africa in the rainy season. How different! Lush vegetation meant the game was harder to spot, but there was much else to see and to learn about. I loved the game walks where we unravelled conflict between lions and buffalo from the previous evening by interpreting the tracks, and discovered ancient bones bleached by the sun. Equally I loved hearing about how the local people use plants to heal, and would love to come back and be a granddaughter for a day!
And the last afternoon drive which became a night drive was something else! I will be back one day.
Thank you all for looking after me so well and for giving me a very small glimpse of your beautiful country.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolmealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The food and it's 5 star presentation was the best we had of any Safari Camp or Hotel in Africa. We were in Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Uganda. There are main meals, tea time with delicious treats and always lots of food on offer - no skimping here!

The two main managers were away, so Lindsay was the one greeting us when we arrived and left on game drives. She was like a mom, waiting on the front steps with a smiling face, asking us how our day had been!

The spacious tents have a thatch roof over them, which is less noisy than tent camps that only have multiple layers of canvas.

We saw lots of animals and the drivers were very knowledgeable about the names of plants, birds, and animals. The guides stopped the vehicle as soon as we saw something of interest so we could get an initial photo and then slowly went closer for more pictures. Sometimes the game moved on but often it stayed. I have been to places where the driver roars right up close and the animal invariable leaves and no good photo is obtained.

Having the large waterhole right across from the main dining/sitting area always gives you something to look at, as the animals slowly wander through for a drink day and night.

I'm not much of a drinker, but the Bar is open all the time so you can help yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms are in a row facing the long watering hole. Staff will walk you to your room with lights at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unbiased-Facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was our first trip to Hwange/ZImbabwe/Africa on a leisure trip. We were met at the Hwange airport by our guide and quickly on our way to The Hide. Leisurely pace when entering the park. Plenty of animals on the way in. As newbies we were happy to see anything and were rewarded with a large group of giraffes after less than an hour. Upon arrival we were briefed, checked in and told the major times for activities. Our drink preferences were taken and after a quick change we were off for a sunset drive. We had two young boys with us and the staff were very helpful in accommodating requests and suggesting activities to keep them entertained.

The drives were frequent and varied. We saw lions over a fresh kill, elephants, cape buffalo, giraffes and plenty of birds. Although the guides can't control the animals they all worked together to try and locate the best viewing and alert one another to their location. Jean was a budding photographer and he was very helpful in suggesting camera settings and shot types to get the best memories from the trip.

The rooms were nice and comfortable, food was excellent and the drinks were cold when they needed to be. Sundowners and snacks were a favorite along with the night drives. Everyone had a good time and for a family with children this was an excellent place to experience our first true safari.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the common area require an escort after dark. You can request an escort ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I loved The Hide in Hwange N.P. I was there November 2013 and thought it was dry I had a great time and met some lovely people.
Being Coeliac I have to ask for Gluten Free food, The chef at The Hide made some of the best G.F. meals I have had anywhere. Sitting around a big table or the smaller one when only a few guests is a very experience. On the game drives we saw a variety of animals and had plenty of information given to us.
I had buffalo and bushbuck grazing very close outside my tent and was great to be so close to such a large animal. I hope to go back in greener times. So a big Thank You to all at The Hide for giving me an experience to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is an amazing place. The tents are spacious and comfortable with outside showers and a big bath inside. Meals are excellent and numerous, all cooked by the camp's chef and his colleagues, and the open bar is a bonus. The staff are endlessly helpful and sociable, so meals taken around a big table with guests, staff and guides, are a real pleasure. And there are more hours of games drives (morning, afternoon and night) than anyone could possibly wish for - lots to see and incredibly knowledgeable guides. For anyone who hasn't been on safari this would be a great introduction - but it might spoil you for anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
54.7 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
175 reviews
25.5 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 22 in Hwange National Park
355 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide

Property: The Hide
Address: | Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known and much loved, The Hide Safari Camp is situated within Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe's largest game reserve, renowned for its abundant and diverse wildlife. Built in 1992, The Hide has justly earned its reputation as a great wildlife experience wrapped in warm and welcoming hospitality. Accommodating up to 20 guests in comfortable, spacious, en-suite luxury tents under thatch, The Hide prides itself on having a family of experienced, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides. Activities on offer include guided walks with a professional guide, day and night game drives, ‘hide’ sits, sleepovers at the romantic Dove’s Nest and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide Hotel Hwange National Park
Hide Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing