We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like visiting family only better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hornbill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hornbill Lodge
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like visiting family only better”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed 1 night at Hornbill Lodge and it was an absolute joy. The room was clean and comfortable and Jackie and Brian treated us like family only better. Great gin and tonics! Lunch was fresh home cooked fish and chips with salad and rolls and dinner was steak and vegetables with a to die for mushroom cream sauce and homemade ice cream. We had a private table for 2 out by the pool and it was heavenly. We would love to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlifepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Hornbill Lodge on our way to Matusadona NP. It is a wonderful lodge with 4 beautfully designed chalets equipped with everything a traveller might need. It is very quiet, with great lake views, good food and a wel-stocked bar but the excellent and highly personalised service really makes the difference. The owner will know what you need before you have even thought about it yourself but also knows when her guests need time for themselves. We would recommend this to anyone looking for accomodation in Kariba.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are looking for stunning views, clean & very comfy accommodation and a host who goes out of her way to make you feel welcome (and so much more) - then Hornbill Lodge is the place for you! An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LymmManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After a rather long (22hours)but fantastic ferry ride across the lake Kariba we had the great pleaser to meet Jacky and her outstanding cooking skills with wonderful wines ,all inclusive . A full days rest and the evening was full of laughter .
This please is paradise !
Go visit , say hello from Dorothee& Georg

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDorothee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After a long drive from Harare, cold drinks and warm smiles awaited us at Hornbill Lodge. Right from arrival we were made to feel at home, treated more like visitors rather than unknown guests. Cold drinks by the pool, a few snacks, some conversation, and some time alone to soak it all in. Hornbill Lodge is situated on a hill, overlooking scenic Lake Kariba. Our accommodation was a treat. Beautifully decorated, spacious, clean, comfortable and with magnificent views of the Lake. The attention to detail throughout Hornbill Lodge really impressed me. The decor, the finishes, the landscaping were all a visual treat. And Jackie's cooking was the best I had had in Zimbabwe.

The day after we arrived, we were off again, on a Natureways Safari for three days. Highly recommended! I loved the safari and the camping, but I also enjoyed the knowledge that after our adventure on the Zambezi we would be back at Hornbill Lodge for another afternoon, evening and morning. A dip in the plunge pool, a stroll around the lovely gardens, some downtime to just sit and relax before dinner. The food was, again, delicious, and a relaxing evening with our hosts followed.

We had to leave after breakfast the next day. I don't think I have ever been so sad to leave a holiday stay before. We are planning our return visit in a few years. Another safari, and a few days at Hornbill Lodge to look forward to.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bpperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in June 2013 on separate occasions before and after a canoe trip on the Zambezi. We were gobsmacked when we first saw the accommodation - a beautiful chalet with magnificent views of Lake Kariba. Jackie and Tom are wonderful hosts. All wine and food was included in the price and both are plentiful. All meals are home cooked and Jackie's skill in the kitchen is legendary. Jackie even packed us a breakfast "to go" on our last morning when we had to leave at 5:00am. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I have travelled around the world and this is by far the best place I have ever stayed. I would go back to Kariba just to stay in the Hornbill Lodge again.

Room Tip: All of the chalets are great with fantastic views of Lake Kariba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

What a perfect place to spend time before and after my canoe trip. A beautiful view, a scenic garden, great food and warm friends that make you feel like home! The open cabins are beautiful with a spacious bathroom and have a view on lake Kariba.
I enjoyed the company of Jacky, Tommy and Brian. I hope to come back to visit them on a next journey...

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PetervanderGiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
2.3 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
63 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
61 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
22.7 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Lodge

Property: Hornbill Lodge
Address: 797 Mica Point, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a small intimate lodge, situated on Mic Point, Kariba. Hornbill Lodge offers very comfortable accommodation for twelve. The main satellite thatch 'A' frame includes a bar, lounge and dining area. With a double room upstairs with en suite facilities. There are four thatch 'A' frame bedrooms, one King, one family, two Twin, each with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hornbill Lodge Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing