We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hornbill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hornbill Lodge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We've recently spent a few days at Hornbill Lodge and I can say with complete honesty that we received a second to none service. Great lodges, free drinks, wonderful food and wine, laundry, nice views, good conversation, a fishing trip, lovely views over lake Kariba, plenty of wild animals. Really worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a great place to stay and easily the best stay I have had anywhere. on arrival after a long drive , we got a wonderful welcome and refreshing cold beer and snacks. the thatched chalets were fabulous with fantastic views of the lake. the food was excellent and we were made to feel like family. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Landeron, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a person who we met on our trip to Zimbabwe and certainly were not disappointed. I am allergic to the usual "all included" but this was different - we were served "real food & drink" not cheap versions of…
The rooms have no doors or windows but this is what makes it special and you wake up to a wonderful view of Lake Kariba and a friendly puppy trying to haul your mosquito net out to play!!
Jackie & her friend out from OZ were very friendly and they provided excellent service & great food. Our stay was short as we were catching a boat the next day, but I can definitely recommend this as a place to stay if you are heading to Kariba. It is small so book in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bålsta
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Already in the planning stages I got a positive view of the Hornbill Lodge and foremost Jackie, the excellent host. On arrival we were greeted like old family friends. To say we felt comfortable from the very first moment is an understatement. Having arrived on motorbikes via the Kariba dam (and two border cntrols) we were almost completely dried out and exhausted. Jackie fulfilled her promises and brought us a number of cold beers reviving us and enabled us to enjoy the magnificient view over the lake.
Ackomodation is quite unique (unless you join a safari): Traditional large huts with running hot and cold water and a flushing toilet. No artificial A/C - just nature herself! And it was sufficient.
There was a panaroma (opening) towards the lake, but no window! Great - and different!
Upon our visit Jackie prepared the food herself in an exquisite way.
The swimming pool was small but beautiful - just like gem itself.
No negative comments? Well, ther could have been a frog or two less - especially in the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillitts
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wonderful accommodation. Best home cooking in Kariba. Gorgeous pool area. Stunning view of the lake. Colourful owner / hostess full of character. Goes the extra mile, and then some. Most relaxing place. Everything a holiday destination should be. We will be back next year, Jackie:-) Steyn Family

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank msrsteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed 1 night at Hornbill Lodge and it was an absolute joy. The room was clean and comfortable and Jackie and Brian treated us like family only better. Great gin and tonics! Lunch was fresh home cooked fish and chips with salad and rolls and dinner was steak and vegetables with a to die for mushroom cream sauce and homemade ice cream. We had a private table for 2 out by the pool and it was heavenly. We would love to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlifepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Hornbill Lodge on our way to Matusadona NP. It is a wonderful lodge with 4 beautfully designed chalets equipped with everything a traveller might need. It is very quiet, with great lake views, good food and a wel-stocked bar but the excellent and highly personalised service really makes the difference. The owner will know what you need before you have even thought about it yourself but also knows when her guests need time for themselves. We would recommend this to anyone looking for accomodation in Kariba.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
2.3 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
64 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
61 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
2.2 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
99 reviews
22.7 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Lodge

Property: Hornbill Lodge
Address: 797 Mica Point, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a small intimate lodge, situated on Mic Point, Kariba. Hornbill Lodge offers very comfortable accommodation for twelve. The main satellite thatch 'A' frame includes a bar, lounge and dining area. With a double room upstairs with en suite facilities. There are four thatch 'A' frame bedrooms, one King, one family, two Twin, each with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hornbill Lodge Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing