We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had the most glorious Christmas at Bumi Hills, the children were welcomed and catered for, the game drives were most excellent (thank you Dean) and we all had hours of fun in the very inviting pool. A truly great place with out of this world views.

Room Tip: Back room are more family friendly and closer to the pool and dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyHarare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonyaZim, Marketing Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review of Bumi Hills! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy a special family Christmas with us! We hope that you will return again soon to soak in the pool, enjoy the special views and enjoy some more adventurous activities!
Best wishes from the whole Bumi Hills team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Overall I was very pleased with bumi, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the views were amazing and all trips were fab! I was only here for a few days and I didn't want to leave! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_Wuwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonyaZim, Marketing Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review of Bumi Hills! We are thrilled that you had such a good experience and we thank you for your kind compliments. We greatly look forward to you returning for a another visit in the future!
Warmest wishes from the whole Bumi Hills team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

D. Demou Zim

A most amazing destination!!
Bumis unique location and setting, offers the most spectacular views, an abundance of wildlife and first class accommodation, cuisine and personalised service.
Each trip for us has resulted in special and memorable experiences, from catching my first trophy 'Tiger Fish' off Starvation Island last year, to a close and personal encounter with an 'Ele' that got too friendly on our recent visit in October.
Looking forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Front Rooms with lake view are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Bumi Hills cares about the surrounding wildlife - they're actively involved in anti-poaching and conservation. By visiting and staying there, you not only get 4 star luxury treatment in comfort, meals and activities (not to mention unparalleled beauty) but you also directly aid their work in conservation - you can't do any better than that. It's a win-win-win for everybody including the wildlife, the locals, the local economy and Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional. They all have a view and if it doesn't suit you, lounging by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonyaZim, Marketing Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Hi Keith
Thank you very much for your review of Bumi Hills! Your mention of our conservation efforts are extremely well received and we thank you for your kind support in this regard! we do indeed face many challenges in our efforts to conserve the pristine environment in which we operate. It is only through the support of people like yourself that we can make a difference. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Warm wishes from the Bumi Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Bumi Hills is a wonderful Safari location with every extravagance available. The chef was well trained, presenting gorgeous meals 3 times a day. The Safari experience was delightful with water locations and bush to explore. Infinity pool cooled, as did the AC in the room at night--what luxury in the bush! The view from the deck of our room presented much entertainment---with binoculars and tea, or other libations from the in-room refrigerator, we could have watched indefinitely . The staff is remarkable with everyone giving tremendous service with panache. This is my favorite of 4 places we visited in Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonyaZim, Marketing Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Travelbounder
Thank you very much indeed for your positive review of Bumi Hills. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!. We hope to welcome you back again one day not too far into the future!
Kindest regrads from the Bumi Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Fantastic upgrade of the old Bumi with FANTASTIC staff and great (if sometimes too fussy) food. Views from the restaurant, bar area and pool are unrivaled- game is great for beginners as you are guaranteed good elephants and small game. We were also treated to lion which was special. For bird watchers you will be spoilt rotten!! Pity it was only on arrival we were informed the spa was closed for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarriedZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonyaZim, Marketing Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you very much for your kind and constructive review of Bumi Hills. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies for the last minute information about the spa closing during your time at the lodge. We have rectified this to ensure all future guest visits to the lodge will not be negatively impacted.
Kindest regards from the whole Bumi team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is our 3rd visit to Bumi and we were still overcome by the magnificent views and unique setting of this beautiful place. From the time we arrived by transfer boat we were treated like royalty and were made to feel really special and welcome. A cool welcoming drink by the pool bar with it's breathtaking views set the scene for the trip.
The rooms are spacious and amazing and have 180degree views of the lake. They are luxurious, clean and very comfortable with every need catered for.
The food is delicious and varied and caters for all pallets.
Activities include game drives by either vehicle or boat plus you can even do a walking game safari. Then there is the fishing activity whereby you go out by boat and try and catch the notorious "Tiger Fish". All the guides are extremely knowledgeable and will give you an experience you will never forget with very close up encounters with elephant, hippo Lion and many other wild animals.
All the staff are warm and friendly and will cater for your every need.
The highlight of this trip was an evening meal set up by the waters edge where we enjoyed a wonderful meal by candlelight.
We can recommend this beautiful place to everyone and one thing is for sure. We will return!!

Room Tip: Try get one of the front rooms as they have the best views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonyaZim, Marketing Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Hello Arthur,
Thank you very much for your review of Bumi Hills! We thoroughly appreciate your kind comments and your room advice to other travelers. We are so fortunate to have such a hard working and friendly team at the lodge. We are especially excited that you will return again to visit us, hopefully soon!
Our very best regards from all at Bumi Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
35.2 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
69 reviews
37.3 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#6 of 13 in Kariba
5 reviews
33 mi away
Hornbill Lodge
Hornbill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kariba
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#1 of 4 in Lake Kariba
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
#3 of 4 in Lake Kariba
112 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rhino Safari Camp
Rhino Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Bumi Hills | Lake Kariba, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Price Range: £481 - £931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge and Spa boasts one of Africa’s finest wilderness locations with an elevated position on a range of remote hills overlooking the vastness of Lake Kariba. Bumi is situated near the North Eastern border of the Matusdona National Park and is easily accessible by light aircraft and boat, allowing you to be swiftly transported into paradise without the stress of a long journey. The safari lodge has a total of 10 rooms, all with views over Lake Kariba. All rooms are premium rooms with balconies and uninhibited views over Lake Kariba. There are garden rooms available too, reserved for guides and tour leaders, with slated terraces, set a little way back behind and on a level above the premium rooms. Taking centre stage is the beautiful infinity pool that seems to blend endlessly into the lake horizon. The pool is surrounded by intimate wine and dining terraces on different levels. The lodge interiors have been beautifully finished in a fusion of contemporary western and African styles. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is situated on an extensive wildlife conservation area. Bumi Hills is home to lion, leopard, big herds of elephant and buffalo, as well as a multitude of different plains game. Guests can indulge in superb fishing in the lake waters surrounding the safari lodge with bream and the fighting tiger fish in abundance. Birding and cultural experiences (with the rich local Tonga culture) also abound. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a dream wedding destination – an incredible setting for a small, intimate event (maximum of 46 pax) whilst enjoying special time with family and friends surrounded by Lake Kariba and a myriad of wildlife! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing