We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Seriously.”
Review of Cutty Sark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cutty Sark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kariba B&B and Inns
Inhambane, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best service of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Seriously.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Cutty Sark is a throwback to the old Rhodesian era, with wonderful grounds, comfortable, sensibly priced rooms overlooking Lake Kariba, and a staff as attentive and kind as any I've ever come across. My only regret is that we were only passing through. The Cutty Sark is worthy of an extended stay....

Room Tip: Opt for the higher priced rooms with balconies overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mecklen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Cutty Sark for a weekend on a short break, and I was very happy we had chosen it. All of the rooms have views of the Lake and the rooms were very clean. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, they helped us organise game drives etc. The bar was reasonably priced, the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vimbai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We arrive tired and hoping for a "room in the inn" having not pre-booked and received a warm welcome and 2 rooms which we were very grateful for. It was a bb rate per room.
The rooms are clean, neat and well maintained (only one thing to note, in our room the ceiling fan was not well connected but then the air-conditioner was in perfect working condition).
We were made to feel part of the family, the pool was wonderful, welcoming and very clean; staff extremely attentive.
The evening meal was "frugal", not a huge selection but varied and we had the spaghetti bolognaise and the macaroni and cheese on the first night. It was extremely tasty and the beers were cold.
Breakfast the next morning was varied and a good selection.
The following evening it was nice to see a few more people at the hotel; this part of Karieba is not a huge tourist destination, more who use the hotel as a one night stop on their way to the houseboats that ply the Karieba. Again, the food was very yummy and tasty; I had the burger, son had sudsa/relish, hubby had bangers and mash which was not so nice (mash lumpy and the skin on the bangers a bit tough) and once again a very tasty mac and cheese.
The whole time the staff were awesome, the hotel and amenities clean and tidy.
It is sad that this area is not so well supported as this hotel has the most amazing setting. I think with a few tweaks like perhaps a tea/coffee service in the room and maybe a small bar fridge tucked away into the large spacious cupboards/more variety to the meals; it could definitely be a 3 star. I would recommend it as a stop-over and even for a 2 night stay

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1964DragonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It is definitely a good place to stay. Staying there was not at all difficult in any way. The staffs were quite welcoming and helpful. They even helped us carry our luggage to the room. Our air conditioned room was a comfortable place to sleep in. The bathroom was clean with a nice shower. Since we were there at Kariba only on a fun trip, we had plenty of free time and so we spent most of the day at the beautiful pool at this hotel. Swimming was a great fun. In the evenings we would play tennis with some friends we made there. It was good. We would not hesitate to stay at the Cutty Sark again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marioncami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Manager at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you very much for your kind and supportive comments.
We appreciate your effort to review our Hotel and rest assured we will continue to do the best we can to ensure everybody is looked after and has a great time whilst staying with us.
Thank you on behalf of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Cutty Sark - (Kariba Zimababwe) 2-3 May 2011 - magnificant veiws of Lake.. AIrconditioned, TV, good pool, tennis court. No internet. Food good. Staff all very helpful, large room and shower.
Very good value. Could not get thru on phone so just arrived and plenty of space..(Disappointed with Catamarang cruise but it is not run by hotel). Currently not licenced so BYO.
Would definately go back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave_duncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B, Manager at Cutty Sark Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you very much for that constructive review.
I am pleased to be able to confirm that the Cutty Sark Hotel is now fully licensed and has re-opened its Bar, so no need to bring your own.
We have gone one step further and now also have hi-speed broadband (WiFi) for the use by our guests and visitors.
To ensure you can contact us now, even if the landlines are down.., we have new mobile phone numbers for the Hotel and a state of the art switchboard to take your calls
We also acquired new transport (baptised DotCom by the Team) to transport guests to and from Kariba Airport of any of the Marina's in the Kariba area.
We always invite guests to provide us with feed back and are very appreciative of yours.
Save onwards travel with the best wishes from the Cutty Sark Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
0.0 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Troutbeck Resort
Troutbeck Resort
#1 of 4 in Nyanga
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
#3 of 4 in Lake Kariba
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#7 of 14 in Kariba
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutty Sark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Hotel

Property: Cutty Sark Hotel
Address: Nzou Drive, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cutty Sark Hotel is set in 72 acres of private gardens on the shores of Lake Kariba. Surrounded by wildlife and with stunning views of the lake and mountains, it is a place to get away from it all – join a land or water safari, visit Kariba Dam, only 10 minutes away or just relax by our pool and enjoy the peace.If it’s business you’re planning, we have a large conference room, flexible accommodation and staff who will work closely with you to make your meeting a success. Our rates are affordable, you’ll get a warm welcome and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cutty Sark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Hotel Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing