We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warthogs Bush Camp
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kariba
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
17
16
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
16
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolbar restaurantnice barshores of lakecould have been betternational parktentlocalstracychaletwildlifeaccommodationfishingbushactivities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We were originally just going to spend one night at Warthogs before our kayak trip to Mana Pools but ended up staying almost a week because it was so good. There really isn't much to do at all in Kariba unless you are into fishing (which we weren't) but relaxing at Warthogs was just what we needed. The highlight though was that on our first morning two zebras wandered outside as we showered in our en-suite bamboo hut - and that was only the start. During breakfast five elephants wandered around the camp and every day this was the same. It was amazing - you only had to look outside and there was some form of wildlife; every walk into town was a walking safari and I even got woken up one day with ones trunk in our hut. But you felt perfectly safe all the time. The restaurant is always open and does great value food, Ian the owner is the perfect mix of helpful and relaxed and all the staff are really obliging. Also the huge bed and mosquito net was one of the best we have had so far in Africa.

Room Tip: The bamboo huts have en-suite shower rooms with hot water whenever you want it
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuziLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This place was recommended to me by my safari advisor when I asked for a more affordable place to stay in Kariba than the expensive hotel he originally offered. My boyfriend and I stayed here the night before and after our canoe safari on the Zambezi river (which I highly recommend to all). Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, who is an incredibly friendly englishman, who promptly picked up my 20kg backpack and showed us to our tent himself. The first night we stayed in a tent which was only 15 dollars a night for the 2 of us. The tent was basic, but it was clean and there was a large double air mattress which was quite comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and the water is hot. Within 10 minutes of our arrival a huge elephant started romping through the camp site eating the leaves on the trees. We got way closer then we ever did on our safaris. At first I was worried about the safety aspect of this, but later we were told that it was the same elephant that comes in every night and wouldn't hurt anyone. We also had the unique experience of seeing hippos grazing just outside of the restaurant area as we ate and hearing hippos munching on the grass just outside our tent at night. This is very fun, but bring ear plugs if you need a good nights sleep. The food is great! Best burger and fries I've ever had and a delicious breakfast of eggs, toast, sausage, fried tomatoes and onions. The owner also helped us out when we needed to get some cash from town, he asked one of the workers to drive us into town so we could go to the ATM. This was quite the adventure because their company jeep is about 50 years old and is missing half the windshield and the drivers door, but it got us there and back in one piece.

The second night we stayed in a cabin (the owner gave it to us for the price of a tent because he had taken all the tents down for the night to use at an event the next day). It was very fun because the bathroom only has half of a roof so you can look up at the stars if you shower at night (although this can be a bit chilly in august). I didn't get to try the pool because we weren't around much during the day, but I definitely would have otherwise (it has a water slide!).

This place may be a little rough around the edges but it was an adventure that I will never forget and it still had enough comforts to make it a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Did not stay here but the accommodation is in a basic small rondoval for $25/night and includes an on-suite. Internet access available. Lunch was good and a few elephant pass near the pub/restaruant.. Owners very friendly and welcoming.
The surrounds are real Kariba bush. Very basic but would have stayed for a night or maybe two for the adventure. Excellent for backpackers. Very small swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_duncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa H, Owner at Warthogs Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa H, Owner at Warthogs Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews