We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warthogs Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warthogs Bush Camp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place. Where else do you go to bed with advice on what to do if you get up in the night and there is a hippo in camp; spot elephants as you are driving in and need to move from your sunbathing spot because the zebra are coming to eat the grass!!

The tents are comfortable; the bathrooms clean with hot water; the food in the restaurant is very good quality for a very reasonable price - though they do need a greater selection of vegetarian dishes = my only suggestion for improvement; the bar has a nice mix of locals (with some interesting stories about living in Zim) and guests; and finally the staff are a real credit to the place and Ian (the owner) a true gentleman. I didn't want to leave!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scal_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went by the bush camp to check it out, its location is fantastic, metres from the waters edge. People were fishing off the bank! It's rustic, laid-back, offering basic accommodation facilities in tents or grassy huts, but it has a picturesque charm to it! If you are into camping in the wild, then this is for you! I love my creature comforts too much!! Its not too far from all facilities in Kariba, and has the added advantage of game viewing right on its front doorstep, elephants wonder by unfazed by people! A group of beautiful zebras were browsing in the front garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevyAbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've been there 1 day, because we wanted to have a night on the lake kariba.
After arriving, and put our stuff in the tent, we needed some USD, because we payed the stay with our last dollars.
Took a taxi to the city. We couldn't get ANY money, because of the major Mastercard problem in Kariba!!! Only VISA-card is accepted. The problem was so huge, that we have to leave Zimbabwe, and could not spent one night on the Lake. It was insane. And even worse, arrived in the south of Zambia, there was no Mastercard possible to. We had a hell of a drive (with no money) to Lusaka. Luckely, there was mastercard.

The owner of Warthogs was so kind, to refund the 15$ for our night, so we could spend them on the way to cross the border.
So please people, be aware you have VISA card, or enough cash money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

After a long day traveling on the local chicken bus in the heat, I was met by Stanly, a taxi driver.
All pre arranged by Warthogs :)
Arriving at the Bush Camp I was met by Ian who owns the place and some locals !
Such a warm and friendly arrival..
I had booked a tent but ended up staying in a cabin, thanks Ian :)
Warthogs lies within a national park and rests on the shores of Lake Kariba. Each evening I was seranaded by 2 pods of Hippo, entertained by troops of Baboons by day and amazed by the visiting elephants.....
This is not a 4 star place... It's a a basic bush camp... It's also one of the most beautiful places I have stayed :)
A place where memories and friends have been made :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaTeasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

After a 20 hours chicken bus ride we arrived at Warthogs but unfortunately it was in the middle of its renovation so there was no room for us. But Ian, the owner, was very kind and helpful and drove us to look at another hotel. But he felt it would be too expensive for us so he offered us to pitch a tent for us at a good rate. The following day he moved us into a chalet with a fantasitic open shower and lake view. Through the entire stay Ian was super friendly and helped us arrange a canoe trip on the Zambezi river (Zambian side). We would recommend Warthock anytime - we had a fantastic stay.

Cheers,
Mikkel & Ditte

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkel Børlum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Firstly I apologize for this long review but I was extremely appalled with warthogs and its owner, Ian, and I don't wish what happened to us to happen to someone else.

On the 28th of December 2013, friends of us who were staying at Warthogs bush camp in a chalet were broken into when they were at the party that night. The burglars had cut the lock leading into the chalet to gain access. I cannot comment further on this particular burglary as I don't know the full details but moving on to the 30th of December, our accommodation at Charara fell through and so we decided to pitch our tent outside our friend's chalet at Warthogs. On arriving back at Warthogs after the party on the 30th, we realised that we had been broken into -again- and this time they had climbed through the space between the wall and the roof and had taken both bags of women's clothing that was there as well as they had slashed our tent- leaving us having to sleep in the truck as it was pouring down.

We then proceeded to the bar to try and contact the police and the owner. The police didn't come that night and the owner, Ian, simply said "I can't do anything at this moment." -and put the phone down.
Next morning comes and Ian only appeared at around 9-9.30 and was 'too busy to talk right now' . He then came back later and between his 'very busy schedule' he offered us 1 minute periods to try and explain to him what happened. He was extremely hostile with us talking to him and was consistently trying to get away as we were trying to talk to him. He constantly denied anything we tried to say including denying information that is clearly state on the warthogs website. The website clearly states that they have staff for security and a guard dog- copied and pasted here-" We have staff (and a cheeky dog) on duty 24 hours a day to help with security, washing up, making fires etc". The 'cheeky dog' is a very old, frail and lovable Labrador that sleeps quietly under one of the tables. Ian openly denied the possibility of him even getting a security guard as he said the area is too 'large' for the guard. The camping and chalet section is very small and fits into the space of possibly a quarter of a rugby field.

Once the police arrived and we gave our various statements etc, our friends asked the police to assist them in getting a refund for the costs of their stay there as they had lost more or less around $2000 in the thefts and damages of their items. The cost of their accommodation had come up to $270 and upon them asking Ian for that as a refund so they could stay somewhere safer, he simply handed them a waiver that they had signed which stated that Warthogs would not be held responsible. He did not once apologize and was not prepared to assist any more than what was considered the bare minimum.

Upon further research, I found out that warthogs had been broken into several times before and the customers had experienced a similar situation. Other friends of ours had gone to stay there and the warthogs septic tank was overflowing leaving sewerage spewing around the camp and the owner was doing nothing about it.

We left warthogs that day empty handed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa H, Owner at Warthogs Bush Camp, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Apologies, also, for the long response but we feel it is necessary. Firstly, the burglary on 28th Dec was dealt with by the police, with all normal procedures undertaken. As stated, the locks on the doors where cut with bolt-cutters, which suggest that the thieves where well prepared and determined, so hard to stop.
As to the night of 30th Dec. Firstly, Ashton requested that he could put his tent near the Evans chalet as it had been damaged by elephants at Charara. Ian agreed to this despite being fully booked as the weather was very wet and it offered the opportunity for him to share with his friends in the chalet if the rain retuned.
As to the robbery that night, Ian admits that he did not attend (at 2.30am) as at that time of night there is little he could personally achieve, but he certainly did not "put my phone down" Our staff tried to arrange for the police to attend but they failed to arrive. At first light, Ian spoke to the staff by phone and was told the clients where sleeping and arranged to be called as soon as they awoke, and he arrived at camp before they did awake (after a party that they say they left around 2.00am)
Being new years eve, his day was "busy", but despite the clients NOT wanting the police, Ian arranged for 2 officers to attend. In the meantime he went to resupply the camp and returned to speak to the police. In that conversation Ian commented that he thought it odd the client had not taken her I-phone with her. She had told the police that the battery was flat, but Ian had personally put it on charge for her at lunchtime and personally handed it to her when she left to go to the party. This I-phone was, strangely, not stolen by the thieves, merely broken! Ian attended the police station later and was told by the officers that they (ZRP) did not want to file the report as there were too many inconsistencies in it. He certainly did not try to avoid the clients and the only time he got hostile was when they told him that our website "clearly" stated that we had 24 hour security and a "ferocious" guard dog. The person telling him this hadn't even seen the web page!
With regard to security at Warthogs, we are a bushcamp and are not allowed a fence, and by nature of the area it is very difficult to patrol. This is the opinion also of the security company who were employed for New Years eve itself. As stated in our website, we do have 24 hour staff to "help" with security. We also have a secure storage room and a safe that clients are free to use. The "cheeky" dog had to be put down last month, following an injury that the police advised us was making him too cheeky.
Ashton comments that Tamarind lodges are safe because they are fenced. They do not have wildlife! We are a bushcamp. We checked with Tamarind, and they DID NOT go to the shops to buy new fans, they keep them in a store room and put them in rooms on request.
Having experienced robberies at my house Ian understands how frustrating it is, but we cannot be responsible for every clients items of property. We am also confused about the "overflowing septic tank" as that happened at our old camp two years ago due to exceptional rains.
Warthogs has survived during difficult times because of our, and our staffs', dedication. We can assure you that we will continue to provide the best service possible for what is a 'budget' facility.
We hope this clears up some issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windham, me
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here two nights, went on a 3 day camping trip, then returned for one more night. The first night a hippo came up to the bar to graze and hung around for about 2 hours! The next day 2 elephants joined us for lunch. And upon our return from Mana Pools two zebras greeted us at the tables outside! This place was just perfect!

We chose the pre-erected tents which were a great value at $10 for a single, or $15 for a double with mattresses and bedding! If you bring your own tent it's only $5 to camp. The bar was reasonably priced, but the food was quite expensive. Expect to pay $10 per lunch/dinner and breakfast was $7-10. But, they do have a shared kitchen, braii, woodstove, and kitchen utensils for free use, just ask the bar for the cupboard key.

The staff was incredible! We hooked up a cheap tour to Mana Pools as well. If you are looking to canoe or game drive into the park don't get sucked into natureways which charges upwards of $500 per person! They are a tour licensing company, so their guides are typically new and working towards certification, but once they obtain guide status they leave to pursue better paying jobs. For an amazing time with a local legend contact Zera or Doubt, ask for info at the bar or email aqualifedm@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
8.9 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
19.2 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warthogs Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warthogs Bush Camp

Property: Warthogs Bush Camp
Address: Warthogs Bush Camp, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warthogs is a small camp offering budget accommodation for short stays. Although we are situated in a game corridor and have frequent 4 legged visitors, we are also only 4km from the shops, harbours and fuel stations. We are registered Tour Operators and can arrange Canoe Trips, Houseboats and day trips on the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warthogs Bush Camp Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing