We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!”
Review of Gache Gache Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gache Gache Lodge
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here 4 nights on business with several colleagues. It was very rustic and remote, but it was comfortable and the staff did a phenomenal job taking care of us. The rooms are open-air huts (except for one, which is enclosed and air-conditioned) overlooking a tributary of Kariba Lake. We spotted several hippos and crocodiles from our rooms and from the patio at meals. Speaking of meals, the food was delicious and far exceeded my expectations of what we would be eating in such a remote location. I am still amazed at how fresh the food was each night at dinner. The game drives and "booze cruises" were very fun and allowed us to see several animals, such as elephants, warthogs, impalas, buffalo, and several beautiful bird species. I would definitely come back here again if ever given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at this lodge in 2009 and it was amazing. I still think of it and wish I could go back. The "rooms" are actually little huts that are open to the environment. So, no doors or windows, which is kinda cool and scary at the same time. However, the huts face the tributary of lake Karibe and there is a steep drop right outside out door. So, nothing can crawl in during the night. The guides here were terrific and very knowledgable. I would recommend any of the Landella Lodges to a traveller.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitwe, Zambia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at Gache Gache over New Year. Just pulling up to the lodge showed how gorgeous the location was and our room was right there, with its own little patio and amazing view of the river/lake and two very happy hippo. Stunning lodge and location, great food, fantastic New Year and the staff were all excellent. We had a wonderful dinner one night overlooking the Gache Gache river and plains which was planned to perfection, and a lot of fun. Would definately go back again and can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the room with the aircon, though they are planning to install more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzyDarEsSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed here as part of a group of about 15 people and had the lodge to ourselves which was lovely!

The lodge is in a lovely location with stunning views across the bay/river. The area around the lodges is nice and shady with new grass having just been planted.
The main lodge is well laid out with various different areas for relaxing, great for enabling guests to not feel on top of each other! The pool was fantastic for lounging in during the heat of the day and was well maintained.
The only negative comment would be the presence of a TV in the bar area showing the news and sport - not ideal when you are trying to get away from it all for a few days and enjoy the sounds of nature!

The lodge staff were exceptionally friendly and polite and helpful.

The food was wonderful and we were definitely not underfed! The fresh baked camp bread and banana bread were especially good!! Drinks were fairly expensive.

The thatched guest lodges were very rustic but completely adequate and kept very clean - all were ensuite with toilet/showers, with fans and mozzie nets. The honeymoon lodge also had AC and a fridge and proper glass windows whereas the other guest lodges just had bars across open spaces in the walls as windows, with curtains.
all the lodges have balconies which overlook the river/bay.

The game was fairly sparse in the area - much less than in the nearby Matusadona area. A lot of hippo, crocs and prolific bird life all around the lodge. Elephant and buffalo were also seen during the game drives but the bush in this area is very thick making game drives hard work! We did have a few hippo coming on to the lawns around the lodge every night, some getting impressively close!
Fishing in the area was good with a couple of nice tiger being caught just off the bank in front of the lodge.

A word of caution: we took malarone as malaria prophylaxis as the UK pharmacists insisted nothing else worked for Zimbabwe. My husband subsequently came down with malaria and we have since learnt from a doctor in Harare that malarone is as good as useless for the Zambezi Valley and the only drug routinely used (and which we used to take when we lived in Zim!) is one called Deltaprim which is only available in Zim. Just something to bear in mind.

All in all though, a fantastic trip and would go again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kk1981vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
17.3 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
64 reviews
20.6 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
60 reviews
21.0 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
97 reviews
18.0 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
113 reviews
39.6 mi away
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gache Gache Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gache Gache Lodge

Property: Gache Gache Lodge
Address: Across Lake Kariba | Easern Basin, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gache Gache Lodge is situated across Lake Kariba only 30minutes by speedboat. You can also drive around in a 4x4 vehicle or you can charter a flight in to our own airstrip. We can arrange transfers. We have 10 rustic chalets, one with air-con. All with own verandah overlooking the lake. We offer game drives and our area now has great game-viewing and excellent fishing (Tiger & Bream) as we have our very own Environment Protection Unit on hand to combat any poaching in the Gache Gache Wilderness Area (GGWA. Gache Gache Lodge has a splash pool to keep you cool in those extremely hot months! Our evening game drives by boat/booze cruises allow you to take amazing pictures of stunning sunsets and birdlife too. September through April are the best fishing months! We look forward to hosting YOU soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gache Gache Lodge Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing