We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to enjoy KARIBA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gache Gache Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gache Gache Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best places to enjoy KARIBA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a peaceful place, awesome in absolutely ever way. Loved fishing in the area, the views are breathtaking from any angle but the sunrise and sunset were the winners for me. I didn't get to stay in the lodges but we had lunch and drinks and it was simply an awesome time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlNcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We went up to Gache Gache lodge for the weekend . They offer a transfer ( if you need it across the lake ) or you can get there by vehicle , but we arrived early using our own boat . Check in was only at 11 and we got in at 8 am , needless to say the staff were very welcoming and polite . All meals the were fantastic , well presented and more than enough to keep you full . Drinks at the bar are very reasonable so no need to feel like you pockets are being emptied, and they will fill up cooler boxes for you to take on your own boat or a booze cruise if you would like .

All in all a very pleasant stay with very friendly and welcoming vibe from the lodge and staff .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at the Gache Gache Lodge for about a week. It was truly an amazing and relaxing experience. The rooms are right along the Kariba lake and you get gorgeous sunsets where you can have a drink or two and watch the hippos breach. The rooms are beautifully styled like an african safari with open window vents to keep you cool and bring in sounds of the bush. I was taken out by Ray Townsend and taught how to do some tiger fishing and caught so many I consider myself a half pro. He also gave us some great insight into the poaching situation and even took us on a game drive to see some elephants and lion. The hosts are so fantastic and helpful and the food was divine. If you are looking for a great escape and an experience of the african bush and be one with nature, this is for you. I would not hesitate to go back and can't wait for my next chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masvingo
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our family spent Xmas at Gache Gache Lodge which was a very special break for all our family from 63years old to 4years old. The management and staff did everything in their power to make our stay special. Xmas Dinner was as good as anything we have had before. The relaxed atmoshere was appreciated by us as we were able to eat meals at eny time and as fishermen that matters!!
Thanks to Wray and Pat Townsend and their team.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Fantastic place to stay! The food was superb, the rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, the staff were always willing to go above and beyond your expectations and the location in unrivalled. I don't have a flaw to say about this resort, add it to your itinerary if your looking for a true Zimbabwean holiday! And don't forget to sit at the bar and listen to the stories the staff and owners will tell you about the resort and it's history, it's an afternoon well spent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

It is so worth the logistics to get to this amazing piece of heaven. The story, the landscape, the owners, the food (best lamb ever!) etc etc all come together to make this place magical. We spent too little time there - we will definitely go back with our family. Highly recommend you go if you have a sense of adventure and a urge to be a part of something incredible. There needs to be a book written about this story.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

At first sight Gache Gache's owner Ray Townsend is Mick Dundee meets Sylvester Stallone. He is every bit the bushman and years of African sun, run-ins with dangerous game and bloodthirsty poachers shows on his face. Beneath this tough outward appearance is a man passionate about his wildlife, it preservation and the conservation of the beautiful Lake Kariba wilderness. His knowledge is incredible and it was a real treat to hear his stories around the fire after dinner. The lodge is a rustic collection of very comfortable twin en suite rooms with a pool, main dining and social area at the center. Lake Kariba was very full while we were there so the hippos ate grass outside our doors all night !. The staff are fantastic, in particular Elliot who always had a smile and for whom nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Between Ray and his assistant guide David, we were treated to rare bird sightings, intimate close ups with large crocs and hippos and a unique few minutes in a nursery herd of elephant who are resident in the lodges immediate vicinity. The bar was well stocked and the three daily meals traditional and generous in proportion. Fish lovers will like Gache's take on fresh lake bream snacks and main courses and the little known but delicious fresh water prawns. The lodge has an area for camping, with convenient adjacent ablutions. Apart from a few boats fishing with the lodges permission, there is no other water traffic in Gache Gache, meaning you have a sense of really having the place to yourself. Game drives by boat and four wheel drive are possible in the mornings and evenings. Getting to Gache Gache by road requires a high clearance four wheel drive. Take an axe and two spare tyres as the elephants like uprooting roadside trees !. Go left at the Charara turn off on the Makuti - Kariba road, follow the power line road left and then drive approx. 32 miles following the white Gache Gache signs. It will take at least two hours at a sensible speed and in the rainy season there will be perilous gullies with narrow concrete bridges to negotiate. Alternatively you can arrange a transfer with Marine Land in Kariba (US$ 60 per person one way) or even fly in. Some people flew out a few days before us in a very large aircraft without any problems at all. Gache Gache have aircraft and can arrange this.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children or scared of hippos request a room near the main lodge & poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coleman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
20.6 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
18.0 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
19.9 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gache Gache Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gache Gache Lodge

Property: Gache Gache Lodge
Address: Across Lake Kariba | Easern Basin, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gache Gache Lodge is situated across Lake Kariba only 30minutes by speedboat. You can also drive around in a 4x4 vehicle or you can charter a flight in to our own airstrip. We can arrange transfers. We have 10 rustic chalets, one with air-con. All with own verandah overlooking the lake. We offer game drives and our area now has great game-viewing and excellent fishing (Tiger & Bream) as we have our very own Environment Protection Unit on hand to combat any poaching in the Gache Gache Wilderness Area (GGWA. Gache Gache Lodge has a splash pool to keep you cool in those extremely hot months! Our evening game drives by boat/booze cruises allow you to take amazing pictures of stunning sunsets and birdlife too. September through April are the best fishing months! We look forward to hosting YOU soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gache Gache Lodge Zimbabwe/Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing