We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rene's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rene's Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 77 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very high quality. Previously owned Rene's Mountain View Restaurant (see http://www.menumart.com/renes/Index.htm). See facebook - menus.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

very small, intimate, quiet and well prepared and great tasting food. suggest reservations and its BYOB

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Artfully made food in an intimate restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were even more pleasantly surprised than we had hoped to be, expecting an intimate evening out eating high-quality food in a small and quiet location in the beautiful city of Glens Falls.

This is an small spot, with just several tables, so I was glad I took other reviewers' suggestions to make a reservation. Two things really stood out at Rene's: the intimacy, and the feeling that the chef is truly gifted.

It was nice to see, on entering, that each table had a placard with a surname written on it. It made us feel like our table was a special spot waiting just for us. The room and ambience were comfortable and we felt like we could have been as casual or formal as we wanted our evening to be. Our server made us feel like we were eating at a friend's house and should be at ease in asking for anything.

We had appetizers, entrees (full sized, which were big plates of food!), and desserts - each plate convinced us further that Rene is an incredibly potent chef. The combinations of ingredients/flavors in each dish were richly flavorful, very complementary, and unexpected (to us). Everything we ate was terrific but I want to mention in particular that the risotto and the bread pudding were the best examples I've ever had (anywhere!), and we were astounded at the intense flavor and smoothness of the hazelnut ice cream.

At the end of the night, I couldn't believe we had eaten so much delicious food for only about $30 each.

It was a really GOOD experience all around!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food, well prepared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Rene is an outstanding chef!! Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious and well presented. Although the place is small, you receive a lot of attention from his wait staff who was very pleasant and friendly. We will definitely be back!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant - great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We happened on this because of the trip advisor reviews. It was not a dissapointment. It is a small restaurant, very quaint, but great food. Our waitress Dawn was wonderful. We got the small size meal and it was plenty of food. We would go again. Give it a try..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queesnbury, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in a Little City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you are seeking a big city taste experience in a little town, Rene's is for you. When you step inside this tiny brick house on Elm Street in Glens Falls, NY, you will be instantly transported to another world of big city class and tasteful elegance. Speaking of taste, once the imaginative flavors hit your palate your taste buds will do a dance on your tongue. I can hardly believe that we have such a gem in our small town. Don't miss it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rene's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing