We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laleham Camping Club
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely family campsite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had out first experience of family camping this week so was very unsure how the children would be. All our fears were put at ease with a lovely big safe area for the children to run about (there were 11 children from 4 families in our group). We had two sets of french school trips stay during the week and they were very messy in the showers/toilets but the cleaner was amazing and at 12 noon everyday would clean them very well.Yes there are spiders but not any that you wouldn't expect from facilities that are open 24/7!
We made friends with campers and members alike we didn't have any trouble with noise (yes the planes overhead first thing in morning and last ones at 11pm were loud but you would only notice two or three at night and morning.
The river is a lovely walk great for feeding ducks and watching boats go by.

Our children loved the park and sandpit and being able to be free. They even had a disco on Saturday and a movie night on Wednesday with popcorn!

Pleanty of water points around the site and washing facilities for clothes and washing up and plugs in the washrooms for chargers etc.

we really did have a great week and can't wait to return next year. Well done Laleham campsite!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are new to the world of camping and so needed a gentle introduction, Laleham campsite gave us just such an experience. We got into camping as our son goes to a scouts group and has been on a trip with them. Since then we have organised a family camping trip with the scouts group and felt as though we needed to practice. We bought a secondhand tent and phoned round the local camp sites to ask if we could practice setting up the tent. At Laleham camp site they allowed us to do this free of charge!!. The two ladies we spoke with were very polite and very good with the kids, something my wife and I find very important as we have a seven year old boy and a twenty month old baby girl. That was about three weeks ago and as a result we decided to go back to Laleham and stay for two night as a practice run for the family scouts trip coming up. All I can say is that we intend to go back to Laleham because it was such a positive experience!!!!!!! We have made new friends, everyone was polite and chatty and when we asked for advice it was readily and willingly given without making us feel unwelcome or out of place. I would recommend staying there and on reflection only wish we had taken the plunge and booked to stay longer. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesnrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Not normally one to write a review but was looking at going camping soon and remembered staying at this campsite last year. It was not a great experience and will definitely NOT be returning here! Camping with the kids was supposed to be a nice relaxing break.Yes the location was great for us, loved being right by the river and the kids enjoyed the little park but the people staying in the permanent tents were very ignorant, they seemed to think they were the only ones on the campsite. Friday night there was a big group of rowdy drunks singing at the top of their voice's. No one being considerate our children were sleeping. We could not believe the noise level at 10pm on Sat, could not get our children to sleep as they were having a disco and we had to listen to it until the early hours. There was a big group of very drunk loud people which for a family friendly campsite I think is very unacceptable, they had no thought for anyone else asleep in the field in a tent. After sleeping on an air bed that went down and listening to the noise all night everyone was so tired the next day it was hard to stay awake to enjoy our day. There was no one to complain to about the noise after 8pm and could not go into the building to complain as the people were rude and unapproachable. Totally ruined our weekend!! If you want to go camping to chill out and have some peace I would not stay here which is a shame as it is not far to travel for us. We got home needing a break!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Staines hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I and my family stayed here for a week in a motorhome.

On the way to the site we were held up by a big crash on the motorway, we were to have arrived there for 5pm however we arrived at 10.02pm exactly.

We went to the main entrance only to find it locked.

After trying (in vein) to wake the elderly lady that we could see asleep in an armchair in the so called reception caravan we decided to sleep in the carpark in the rear.

This resulted in a very rude lady ordering us off the carpark and refusing to open the main gate to let us in (even though we had paid in advance) stating I do not want any commitee members being woken up else she would loose her job, then another warden came up and said "I will let you in this time but don't do it again".

Next morning I aired my views on this policy very politely with absolutely no response other than "the rules are there so that you do not disturb other campers", I found this laughable as the campsite is directly under the flight path to Heathrow and there were constant LOUD aircraft overhead.

The next day we went to Thorpe Park but had to leave early due to my young 4 year old being injured in the park.. I called the campsite to let them know we were in the hospital with him and were unsure on what time we would be back.. i was informed calmly.. "if your back after 10pm i will lock the gate as i need my sleep, you people make me mad", I said "if it were your child/grandchild or a committee members child, I bet you'd let THEM in", I was met with a hurl of abuse with expletives!

You guessed it we didn't get there until 10.30pm!!

These are the facts about this place:
The site in general is clean.
It has some nice climbing frames etc for the children.
The toilets are NOT clean and are absolutely infested with spiders.
There is one bin area (infested with wasps).
There are no hard standings.
The shop was a joke! Never open unless a committee official ran out of something.
Rules for the park are located in the toilet cubicles and are ridiculou, one of which states "no balls other than sponge balls as they damage members tents".. as I said they are laughable.
If you have a caravan then you have to leave your car in the carpark at the far rear of the site.

I have one sentence to explain this site:
Rude, unsympathetic, Them & us mentality.

My advice to motorhome owners.. forget it. Find somewhere else!

I would rate this site 1 star out of 5, a rules gone mad place as well as a REAL them vs us attitude.

Ask yourself this, who refuses access to a pre paid booking to a 4 year old child coming out of hospital who could have almost lost his eye... They have NO feelings not even for a child!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pccheaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We've been coming here for about 6 yrs, we camp here as a base when we visit thorpe park, chessington world of adventures and legoland.
We also drive down to London at night ( to avoid the congestion charge) which is about 25 ish miles away.
The campsite itself is quite small, nice clean toilets/ shower block. Kids play area, bin area, and lots of water taps. Cars are NOT allowed on site except for arriving and departing but there's a free car park next. There is also a council run car park the other side and a public park.the Thames runs along side the campsite and there are always things going on, rowers, barges etc.
Yes it's directly under the flight path of heathrow, but it doesn't bother us, the kids try to guess what company the planes are lol !
All in all good place to camp for a short break :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonifcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Location is nice right next to the river. Reception was a little confusing as it was in an awning connected to a static caravan. You have to park your car in the car park once finished unloading which was nice for the safety of the little ones. We stayed in our tent on the small end of the field next to the car park so was a little easier for us. There are no bins located near the tenting area only near the toilet/shower block. Which was horrid infested with maggots and flies. There were numerous spiders and webs in the shower block. But other than that the block was reasonably clean. Under the flight path of planes but you soon get used to it, I quite enjoyed looking at them as they passed by. Other than that was ok for an overnight stay. Wouldn't holiday here as not a lot to do other than fish!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at this Campsite on many occasions and have always found it to be great value for money, very clean and the people there are very welcoming.

On certain weekends they even hold events, the weekend we were there they had a Children's weekend on. This was at no extra charge and was run by it's clubs members.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viney002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
2.0 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
2.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#5 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
2.7 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laleham Camping Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laleham Camping Club

Property: Laleham Camping Club
Address: Laleham Park | Thameside, Staines TW18 1SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Staines
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180 pitch campsite is just 5 minuets drive off the M25 at junction 11. Situated in the lovely Green Belt area of Laleham and adjoining the banks of the River Thames. Laleham village is only a ten minute stroll and the main town of Staines is just a couple of miles away. The site is in an ideal location for visiting all of London’s attractions as the city centre is only 30 min's away. Thorpe Adventure Park and Twickenham Stadium are only a short bus or car ride away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing