We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stanwell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Room was very small but comfortable, nice touch that my room which was near the lift had an annexe before you reached the room door, so I wasn't troubled by opening and closing lift doors. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast in good and freshly cooked and delivered to your table. Dinner woudl advise the steak sent one back as over cooked, the next was not particularly good quality but edible. I would stay here again if I was in the area

Room Tip: don't chose room 13 unless you are a single traveller and very adept at dealing with limited spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firsttimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments regarding the overcooked steak to the kitchen for their attention as our food is of an extremely high standard normally.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. If I can be of any further assistance to you in the future, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    150
    51
    11
    13
See reviews for
67
131
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here because our friends had a function here and we were impressed with the room,we stayed in 'The Stable Block' which was a smallish modern room with a nice bathroom,although small it was ideal for an overnight stay etc.There were some more expensive rooms with balconies which would be nice in the summer.
The staff were very friendly and polite,the continental breakfast was ok although you could order a full english for an extra £12 or smoked salmon on toast with scrambled egg on top which my wife had and said was delicious.

Room Tip: only choose a balcony room if you're staying more than a couple of nights or like to smoke and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed last week for 2 nights. The hotel was quite small and very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Especially pleased with the bathroom,fluffy thick white towels and good disabled access for the shower. The food in the restaurant was so nice we returned from our day out to eat there rather than anywhere else. We would definately stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetPortlanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found the service and staff friendly. The hotel has started a rolling programme of soft refurbishment in the bedrooms and this will continue throughout 2012.
Thank you again for your review and we look forard to seeing you again at The Stanwell Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Stanwell is off the beaten path near Heathrow Airport. This is more or less a nice little Hotel for an overnight stay while waiting for your flight.
Tiny rooms, exceptionally clean and looks to be recently remodeled. Staff is nice. Comfortable, clean beds, newer bathroom with nice shower.
I did not try the restaurant, but it looks quite nice from the outside. I didn’t see anything close by in the line of food or entertainment. In room coffee, and free internet. The coffee maker is inside the wardrobe cabinet, and not much room on the work desk. You’ll just have to move things around. My chargers and electronics ended up on the floor to keep room on the desk to work. Small flat screen TV with a dozen or so channels.
No other furniture in the room. Your suitcase has to go on the floor. Good for a quick layover, but not recommended for a long stay.
No shuttle to the airport. Taxi transportation only.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is an efficient and good value stop-over if you have an early morning flight and you can leave your car for around £10 per day.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and very quiet, considering how close the Stanwell is to Heathrow.

They will also organise transfers to and from the airport (included) with a local taxi firm.

The food is tasty but pricey and vegetarian options are limited.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJ_and_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have stayed at many hotels nearby Heathrow in the last few months. The Stanwell is easily my recommendation.
Pros: The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are friendly and attentive. I was surprised at how little I noticed the noise from aircraft, considering it is a stone's throw from the airport. The food in particular is a highlight. I have stayed there enough times now to have visited the entire menu, and it is all top quality. Breakfast should not be missed. Unlike other hotels, it is all fresh, and anything ordered from the menu arrives very quickly. I also found the beds & pillows to be very comfortable.
Cons: Some rooms are definitely better than others. No two appear to be the same, so if you don't like the one you have, ask for a change. Wifi has been very poor, but they are promising to change this soon. Just ask reception to reboot the wifi router which usually clears up any problems (for a while).

Room Tip: Rooms in the "stables" (out the back) have more noise from aircraft, but still not annoyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff_Hodgkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I was very pleased with what we saw when we booked in,our room was clean and staff was friendly, but our room was above the kitchen as some sort of fans that kicked in every half hour,we thought thats ok as the kitchen must shut at night,well it went on all night. The other guests were very noisy doors slamming all night,then at 3am our neighbours decided to drag the door keys along the radiator outside our room twice after shouting at the man she was with,by this time i had had enough i got out of bed to ask them to keep the noise down but they had gone.So got back into bed then downstairs tables were being dragged around the floor.then at 7am the neighbours started making noises and screeching in the room,i thought ive had enough,so got dressed and went to check out and told the receptionist that i would have had more sleep if i had stayed at an etap hotel,she didnt no how to deal with my complaint

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
1.3 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.8 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2.3 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Property: The Stanwell Hotel
Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing