We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Old English Pub”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Traditional Old English Pub”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Multi room, fireplaces, a couple of bars, cozy pub and restaurant right on the Thames. Worth a trip, pub food was more than decent as well. Service was very good and friendly, Local customers added to the English flavor. Did not stay over so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    135
    68
    33
    31
See reviews for
85
161
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We attended a family wedding here last year - never visited before. Whata lovely site right on the Thames, they even arranged sunshine for us!
Food was average - but often find that at weddings, service was ok , but they were streched at times. Everyone enjoyed the day. Have not been back but would like to try out the menu for real.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Had been to meeting at Heathrow and needed somewhere for a business lunch - as we used to have a flat in Staines took my colleagues to the Wheatsheaf and Pigeon - which used to be a gastro pub - we took one look and walked out. I also knew the Swan on the opposite side of the river so we went there and had a very nice lunch overlooking the Thames. Service was friendly and prompt, food was good and view was an extra bonus. Expect to pay around £15 per head for one course and a drink. It's a big pub with two separate bars and a veranda - but parking is on street and limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I recently had the pleasure of visiting the Swan Hotel in Staines.
It is in a lovely position, right on the River Thames.
Upon arrival, I was warmly greeted by the manager, who was extremely pleasent and helpful throughout. First-class hospitality.
The bar area has a great atmosphere and was really busy at the week-end.
Excellent ales and excellent food added to an extremely enjoyable visit.
Very close to Heathrow, much better to stay here than in one of those huge impersonal chains.
I will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I have visited this pub/restaurant on numerous occasions and have been reasonably satisfied by the food and service having previously ordered roast dinners. The food has been of average pub quality but priced slightly higher due to the location next to the Thames. During my visit today i ordered a starter of Calamari, this resulted in a small jar containing six small battered squid rings with sauce served on a slate (please see the attached photo). The price for this starter was £5.95. This was a ridiculous starter for £5.95 so I returned it giving feedback. The initial staff member I spoke to informed that it was 'only a starter'. Please see the included photo and judge for yourself if this starter is anywhere worth the price. Following this we waited for the main course, we continued to wait over an hour until I queried it's arrival. The staff informed that it was currently being plated. A further fifteen minutes later it had still not arrived. At this point we decided to leave and requested the bill and the manager for feedback. The manager listened to our feedback and offered to remove the cost of the unreceived food from the bill, also the calamari (which had been returned immediately). He was useless as this had already been removed from the bill due to it being not received (or the calamari returned). He offered no excuses but only exaggerated the worst customer service I have received in years. There are numerous pubs in the area offering very good quality home cooked food, there is also The Swan serving ridiculous meals as shown in the photo. It seems as if they are far more concerned with presentation than the quality of what they are serving, this said six small squid rings on a slate is hardly impressive presentation. I cannot see anybody being served this and having positive thoughts. The Swan is a nice pub if you would like a drink next to the river, if would like anything more than you should try somewhere else. If you are after quality food you will certanly not find it here. I was embarassed having brought my in-laws here. Never again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My fiance and I went for a meal at the swan hotel tonight, and we both had the best 3 coarse meal ever!! The food was 100%. It was hot and very well presented. The staff were very helpful.
My fiance and I will definitely come back again. We recommend anyone to try it for themselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I reviewed this hotel in 2011, very critical of the fact that they would not sell Prosecco by the glass, even though it was on the menu.
I returned recently and was very pleased to see that has changed, and I had a few glasses, just to make sure!!
Friendly staff, good food - and fantastic open fires on chilly December nights. Very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
0.0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing