We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, standard pub food”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, standard pub food”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed Sunday lunch here as a large group to celebrate a birthday, and had an enjoyable afternoon. The meals were as you would expect form a pub menu, but were served, hot and presented well. The pub and general atmosphere of the pub was good, but not memorable, but again, it is a pub environment. The staff seemed a little busy and overstretched which did show itself to the customer, by them being a little less attentive that we would like, or expect. Little things like a food check after being served, and an offer to get further drinks etc were missed and we eventually went to the bar to avoid delay. However, it was a lovely afternoon, and as they were so busy that day, we believe a second visit would probably give a more positive outcome. Food was good, affordable and the Sunday roast worth another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawnranger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    135
    68
    33
    30
See reviews for
84
159
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I think that this hotel scores highly because it does get top marks for location- beautiful setting on the river Thames, the hotel rooms are beautifully decorated and it is always as clean as you would expect. It also does a great breakfast. HOWEVER.... Be warned, the young team are rude and uncaring. They are arrogant and have poor knowledge of the product and are ill equipped for dealing with things when they go wrong - as they inevitably do here. DO NOT eat dinner here! The menu is pretty bad to begin with - I actually think the bar menu is better but when (well if you ever - because it generally takes so long....) get your good it is likely to be bland, cold, burnt and generally poor. Don't waste your money eating here, there are enough places in Staines that you don't have to. In summary, ok for a drink by the river on a lazy afternoon, rooms ok if you can tolerate the team, but don't waste your money on the food - and don't expect a good outcome if you complain!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMKS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before our return flight to Hong Kong. We had been there for lunch previously and decided to try it instead of the usual airport hotels. The room was perfect. There were lots of extra little touches that you do not get with the large chain hotels. Breakfast cooked to order was really nice. I would definitely stay here again but maybe for longer next time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for few nights on a business trip. Awesome room overlooking river Thames. The service was good and prompt. Good connections and conveniently located near Heathrow. Nice restaurant to sit few meters from the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely hotel, we had a balcony overlooking the river, which was quite charming. Unfortunately the serving staff appear to have been trained at a fast food burger chain. The bar was lovely, with an excellent range, but being called 'buddy' by a barman younger than my children does not inspire me. A pity, because it is nearly very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin110157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abercarn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

You will not go wrong by booking into The Swan.

My husband and his work colleagues booked to stay in a Superior Double room from 16th - 18th August. Their rooms were beautiful, light and clean, with a wide range of teas and coffees in the room.

The staff at The Swan were extremely attentive too, as the men were leaving before breakfast, the staff brought a choice of breakfasts to their room prior to them leaving.

Brilliant service, attentive staff, excellent hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayleighWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had dinner at The Swan whilst working in Staines. If you are looking for traditional pub grub it will not let you down. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is on the river so the setting is excellent, especially during summer. To sum up it is a good traditional pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
0.0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing