We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked a table for four to celebrate a friends 50th, on booking I informed the receptionist that it was our friends 50th and thought no more about it. On arrival we where taken to our table and to our delight they had decorated the table with confetti and balloons. Our friends face was a picture as he is not happy about the big 50. I cannot thank them enough and they even brought him a birthday card. A lovely evening, lovely food and staff that go out of there way to make the evening very enjoyable indeed. Thank you we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janelovestotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanmanagment, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad that your friend enjoyed his birthday. I do hope to see you back at the Swan soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great pub food near heathrow airport. Really recommend the Chicken Cesar Salad and the bar has a great atmosphere. Would definitely come hear again and the rooms look really good too.

The staff are extremely welcoming and the special grill menu looks excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanmanagment, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words Steven - I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to the Swan. Please hurry back and let us know what you think of our new Autumn menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Found the Swan Hotel by accident and stopped by for some food. The food was excellent both in portion sizes and taste. Service excellent. Location very nice, right on the river with nice views and atmosphere. Reasonable prices. Great place to eat... Will be back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed Sunday lunch here as a large group to celebrate a birthday, and had an enjoyable afternoon. The meals were as you would expect form a pub menu, but were served, hot and presented well. The pub and general atmosphere of the pub was good, but not memorable, but again, it is a pub environment. The staff seemed a little busy and overstretched which did show itself to the customer, by them being a little less attentive that we would like, or expect. Little things like a food check after being served, and an offer to get further drinks etc were missed and we eventually went to the bar to avoid delay. However, it was a lovely afternoon, and as they were so busy that day, we believe a second visit would probably give a more positive outcome. Food was good, affordable and the Sunday roast worth another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lawnranger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I think that this hotel scores highly because it does get top marks for location- beautiful setting on the river Thames, the hotel rooms are beautifully decorated and it is always as clean as you would expect. It also does a great breakfast. HOWEVER.... Be warned, the young team are rude and uncaring. They are arrogant and have poor knowledge of the product and are ill equipped for dealing with things when they go wrong - as they inevitably do here. DO NOT eat dinner here! The menu is pretty bad to begin with - I actually think the bar menu is better but when (well if you ever - because it generally takes so long....) get your good it is likely to be bland, cold, burnt and generally poor. Don't waste your money eating here, there are enough places in Staines that you don't have to. In summary, ok for a drink by the river on a lazy afternoon, rooms ok if you can tolerate the team, but don't waste your money on the food - and don't expect a good outcome if you complain!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMKS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for one night before our return flight to Hong Kong. We had been there for lunch previously and decided to try it instead of the usual airport hotels. The room was perfect. There were lots of extra little touches that you do not get with the large chain hotels. Breakfast cooked to order was really nice. I would definitely stay here again but maybe for longer next time.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for few nights on a business trip. Awesome room overlooking river Thames. The service was good and prompt. Good connections and conveniently located near Heathrow. Nice restaurant to sit few meters from the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
278 reviews
1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing