We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub on the River”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Pub on the River”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Swan has an unbeatable location, on the edge of town right alongside the river Thames. (A little closer than usual at the time of writing!). It is very pleasant to sit eating your meal in the Conservatory/dining room, watching the wildlife drift by. Also the Swan serves Fullers ESB rarely less than in tip top condition.

Room Tip: I have never stayed at the Swan Hotel, as I live just down the river. However a riverside view would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CliveH588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    135
    68
    33
    30
See reviews for
84
159
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington VTf.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very friendly staff. If u like British pubs u will have a great time! The food is very good - think "gastro pub". Rooms maybe a tad "used" but this is a pub! Some real characters seem to be regulars so there is alway an interesting conversation to be had. Nice to be on the river with easy access to the town.

Room Tip: no elevator - so be ready to move ur cases up one flight of rather narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RItaBurlingtonVTf_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Visited the Swan Hotel Feb 14th for a Valentines meal.Staff were very helpful as the Special menu was not to our liking,The regular menu was excellent and our choices were well cooked and presented,could not fault either course.Cosy after dinner coffee and drink in the snug bar.Real log fire very welcome on a stormy night.
Will reccommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank toffee7Staines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This ancient building is a delight, located as it is, in a conservatioin area of great import. The Swan Hotel is a lovely old hospitality venue with many attractive features, not least of which is a marvellous old brickwork fireplace complete with inglenook for the wood stock.

Recent floods have made the hotel bar/s a brilliant spot for water-watching. There is a jolly good restaurant supported by good quality bar food. The ales on offer are well-kept and the barman makes a zingy Bloody Mary.

I have taken a very good lunch there and many drinks. I look forward to many more.

Room Tip: Check the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went back for the second time last month. Can't say enough good things. Clean, friendly, very old-world atmosphere in the rooms. Yes, the rooms are tilty and old, with wood floors and low doorways and the like. I don't go to the UK for sleek and modern. I go for history, atmosphere and warmth. Here you can have it all. Great food, cozy bar(s), fireplaces, river views, etc. Will return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Visiting from Yorkshire so we pre-booked a table for a Christmas family meal of four adults plus a high chair. No room in the restaurant and shown to the bar area. Told we had not pre-booked the Christmas menu and had to order a bar meal! No effort to provide a Christmas meal. No party hats or trimmings for us! Typical bar food. Had to order and pay in advance at the bar. Deserts got a casual mention from a server and we were not offered coffee. If you are planning a family Christmas meal here double check your arrangements as there was no Christmas spirit in the way we were treated. Most disappointing.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank billo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanmanagment, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Swan. I did not realise when you booked that you had hoped to have a festive meal. However I am sure that we could have fulfilled your expectations, we do ask that festive meals are pre ordered during this busy time, but we could have made an exception. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked at the last minute and that can lead to problems but definitely not the case here. A warm welcome followed by helpful staff showing us a lovely room overlooking the Thames. The beer was top-notch and all this before we had dashed off to watch the Barbarians and Fiji. On our return, the bars were beautifully warm with two open fires, just the thing after an afternoon of Rugby Union watching.

The evening meal was superb, we both had the Chilli and Lime Salmon and frankly I've never tasted better. The waiting staff were friendly and happy to engage in conversation. Personally I like the staff to show their personality and you get that here at the Swan. The food quality was reproduced at breakfast and again the staff were helpful and efficient.

I may regret telling you all this but if you can leave room for me and my husband to go back there, I would be really grateful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanmanagment, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks for your great review Jo, were so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
0.0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing