We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really pleasant stay and great service”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A really pleasant stay and great service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was met with one of the warmest welcomes ever. I had quite a few bags (was going to Ascot) and had loads of volunteers helping me to our room with them. All friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful. I was early and my room wasn't ready but they were happy for me to dump my bags in my room and get quickly changed.
We were in room #1. Slightly snug, but room enough and made lovely with the balcony overlooking the river. breakfast was very good, and lots to choose from. I had some food sent up one evening and that was nice also.
Will definitely go back. I'll be booking for next year ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    123
    58
    31
    30
See reviews for
65
140
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely evening to sit by the river Thames. Nice outside but the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. Food expensive. Ordered a steak and couldn't believe no vegetables or potatoes included. All for the price of £16.50. Rip off. Served with one tomato and some green lettuce. Large glass of wine priced at £7.25, which whilst it was good quality wine, was still a rip off. Charging top London prices without the service to back it up. Food was slow to be delivered by the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lots of old world charm. Fairly spacious room - we were in #10 - it had a fantastic view of the Thames! Bathroom was adequate size. Service was fine except for the somewhat surly bartender who denied us a nightcap because we'd come in from London just as the bell rang. There are no lifts but the staircases are wide enough for you to maneuver your bags. We had lunch in the garden overlooking the Thames while waiting for our room to be ready. (We arrived a bit early but they were quite accommodating.) We wanted to stay here again before heading back to Heathrow but they were all booked up. We'll definitely try to get room 10 the next time we fly in or out of Heathrow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stopped here for a quick lunch and were very impressed with the friendly attentive staff but were very disappointed with the food. There was a good selection of food to choose from but being in a rush we went for sandwiches. I went for the roasted peppers on ciabatta bread. Unfortunately I don't think the peppers had been anywhere near the oven as what arrived was literally sliced raw peppers with salad in a ciabatta roll costing £6.50! I didn't complain as the staff were so polite and helpful and we were in a rush. Lovely riverside location made up for the disappointing lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAN27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel has an old fashioned feel about it .the rooms are very clean to a high standard and the food is sevond to none all freshly cooked .Thehotel has a small garden out back overlooking the thames so we spent 2 days watching the boats go bye whilst having a beer .If your in the area and looking for a short stay then this hotel would be great

Room Tip: A room out the back that overlooks the thames is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for two nights recently whilst going to Ascot racing.

This place is really all about the location, I imagine in the summer (if we get one) that it would be very pleasant sitting outside enjoying the views, sadly we didn't get the weather during our visit.

One of the guy's on the front desk (if you can call it that) needs to pop a couple of happy pills, clearly doesn't seem cut out for this work, but most other staff that we encountered seemed ok.

We had breakfast in our deal, and although it is a lovely view, and peaceful and spacious, the sausages that were allegedly Cumberland were extremely undercooked, and had a strange sweet taste, inedible really, we didn't chance them the second morning, also tea would arrive without milk, toast without butter, just little things, but fairly basic, we did eat there one evening, again, nice place to eat, but overpriced for what you get, and nothing special.

The room was average, no view, but think you had to upgrade for a river view, that I imagine would be nice, but we were advised that an upgrade would be £130, seeing that we paid £170 for two nights it didn't really appeal. Our room wasn't made up for some reason, we did leave at midday to go racing, but surely it could have been made up after that?

Bar area was a little loud, especially on the first night, voices and laughter seemed to bounce off the low ceiling, but again, if you could sit outside it wouldn't matter.

For the money we paid, we cannot complain, it was pleasant enough, could be better, and certainly wouldn't want to put anyone off of staying, we would probably stay again, for the same price but not more.

Room Tip: Beware the Sausages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Due to train delays me and my boyfriend arrived later than expected at the hotel, it was meant to close at 12pm but the kind gentleman on duty hung around until we got there at 12:45pm, with no hassle we were checked in and sent to our room which was beautiful! Think country, think cottage, think class and sophistication. The balcony view was amazing we couldn't have asked for more. We then went down for breakfast which was superb! The lovely hostess couldn't do enough for us and the food was delicious! The setting was perfect and the atmosphere was so relaxed. The Swan Hotel was the icing on the cake and made our trip to London so enjoyable. We will definantly be back again! Thank you so much! Great Hotel, Great staff, Great Location all for a great price! 5*

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayner J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanmanagment, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the Swan, I hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staines hotels
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albany House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Colne Valley Guest House
Colne Valley Guest House
#1 of 6 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Bluebell Cottage
#1 of 2 in Staines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel is a early 20th-century inn with 9 individual bedrooms and 2 executive rooms. We are located just 15 minutes drive from Heathrow Airport and conveniently close to Staines Upon Thames, Runnymede, Historic Windsor, the JFK Memorial and based right on the river Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing