We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in September for the weekend on a trip to Thorpe park and the hotel wasn't far from there. The hotel was immaculate, everywhere was so clean. The room was lovely with a tv with most free view channels and wi-if throughout it, spot on! The hotel has a lovely view of the river and it was really nice to sit outside on a night next to it. Buffet breakfast the next morning was so delicious, hands down the best breakfast I've ever had at an hotel. Was in a good location, close to shops, bars and restaurants. Would recommended anyone to stay here and would definitely come back here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear S Caitlin,

I am delighted to read that you had a fabulous time with us and you took full advantage of the location. I am glad that you had a relaxing time at our terrace and the breakfast team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback.
I look forward to welcoming you back this summer!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    248
    141
    78
    37
See reviews for
116
238
31
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most of the hotels I looked at in Staines were too far out of town or actually at Heathrow airport! The Mercure is just along from the high street, 5 mins from the train station and a little bit more to the office I was working at.

Staff were great, gave me directions to a whole load of places! The room was perfect for what we were paying, decent sized comfortable bed, TV with most FreeView channels, also the ability to connect my iPod to it and listen to music. Also, free WiFi throughout the hotel.

Stayed during the flooding, unlike other establishments I saw, Mercure had it all under control, pumping water out, sandbags etc meant that my stay was not impacted at all.

Will be happily going back shortly.

Room Tip: I slept on the roadside and the back, equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Graham C

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for new year good room view of thamesnew year food excellent evening ruined by awful disco. Champagne should be served at midnight although disco had midnight some minute affer every one else. Stayed for 2 nightson lazt day cleaner wanted to do room at 8.30 surly supervisor said this Was company policy. But otherwise very good. BUT WHY NO DECAF TEA..other staff very good especially reception.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure London Staines.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the cleaner which we have since addressed.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn garden city
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a trip to thorpe park theme park it was a Saturday and sunday we arrived at the hotel and were shown to a very average double room it was a quite dark green decor and felt very un welcoming after ringing down to the very helpful staff I was given a good deal on an upgrade to a riverside room, WOW stunning room very well decorated with a large ensuite and beautiful view of the river, luxury room service, the breakfast was lovely and delivered on silver trays to the bed! The evening meal menu wasn't greatly to our taste or very flamboyant so we went out for dinner, I would recommend and defo rebook if in the area at all.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here on a surprise stay, room very high standard, overlooking river but chilly,until heater warmed it up! Popped down to bar for drink with very attentive friendly staff, and upon return to room it was lovely and warm and cosy. Ate in hotel, dinner and breakfast. Dinner 5* standard, excellent presentation and good value. Breakfast, vast selection hot and cold, 3 hour's time slot, 7-10, and at 9am hot breakfast buffet was stiil fresh and hot. Tea/coffee facilities, great selection.
Only minus was no bottled water in room, but reception brought some up on request.
Hotel not in a greatest looking area, but behind the facade it was excellent! Convenient for Heathrow Airport, Windsor and 5 min walk from station to London (40 mins)

Room Tip: Room 33 with river view and small balcony, tho towpath directly outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave050261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure London Staines.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I hadn't been or stayed In Staines for 35 years and remembered the Mercure as the Packhorse Pub. Therefore it was no surprise that for nostalgia reasons I chose to stay at the Mercure on a recent business trip for 2 nights.

Upon arrival it looked as I had remembered it from the outside. Inside the reception and staff were courteous welcoming back old clients as they checked in and as a new guest a VIP tour to my room No 1 which faced the river.

The room was basic, clean and tidy not over lavish but adequate and reasonable for the price. The bed was extremely comfortable. A mini bar, tea/coffee and good size bathroom all clean and adequate. The room included a flat screen TV that actually worked without needing to refer to the manual or request assistance to operate.

I dined in the restaurant both nights and found the food better than expected and reasonably priced. The bar remnant of the pubs earlier days was a great area to sit, talk and relax. I personally found the breakfast very good and quite relaxing overlooking the river.

Overall an enjoyable stay - just like an old pair of comfy slippers :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure London Staines.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was very quiet so we were upgraded to a Prestige Room with a river view (No 3) which was a lovely surprise and not expected as we had booked a standard double through Mercure's winter offer. Room was perfectly fine, clean and had everything you need. Water and a couple of complimentary soft drinks were supplied in the fridge. Beds and linen were very comfortable and we both slept well. Nice and quiet too, just the sounds of the river. The room had french doors which opened onto the river, people were walking by along the tow path but not intrusive at all. The only thing I would mention is that the door is only secured by two small bolts top and bottom, and the bottom bolt was broken. The door could very easily have been pushed open from outside without too much force. This security issue needs fixing.

The bar area was pleasant although we were the only people in there. Nice friendly bar staff and also welcoming staff on reception when we arrived. There is an outside terrace too overlooking the river for sunnier days.

Breakfast was fine. There was no hot buffet as hotel was so quiet, but we had cooked breakfasts freshly prepared from the kitchen. The cold buffet wasn't very inspiring though, probably due to the lack of guests. Restaurant was nice enough overlooking the river. No real complaints at all. Service was good. Tip - breakfast is £15.50 if you purchase it on the day but only £10 if you pay the night before. I think £10 is a more realistic price for what you get, although when the hotel is full the experience might be improved.

Hotel is only a very short walk from the main town so very convenient in this respect.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and if we ever needed to stay in the area again we would definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaChella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jogchum Slof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#5 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
87.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Property: Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing