We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A great one night stay. Hotel room nice size, bathroom clean. Great view over the Thames . Friendly staff. Nice terrace with seating and great view. Breakfast expensive at £ 15. . To end a nice place to stay , we would stay here again .

Room Tip: Ask for a river view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear sazzaEssex,

Thank you vew much for your review.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoy the view from terrace.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at the Mercure Stained upon Thames on Saturday night before flying out of Heathrow on Sunday morning. The location is fantastic, very close to the centre of Staines and with free parking. There was a wedding at the hotel so my partner had to do a bit of creative space making in the car park, but I'm pleased to say the hotel take a common sense view to this as long as you don't block other cars in.

We paid an extra £20 for a room with a river view and were in room 104. The decor was nice, the view was beautiful, but if there was one thing I would change it was the doors leading out to the river. They we're fairly rickety and it didn't feel 100% secure.

There was a wedding in the hotel so we went elsewhere to eat and had a pleasant time. It took about 20 mins to get to Heathrow Terminal 3 the next day.

All in all it was a pleasant stay, not mind blowing, but for a location that close to Staine and Heathrow we were happy with it for less than a £100.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLibbyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear MsLibbyW,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed the stay especially the view.

We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's such a shame this hotel is not being cared for. Situated in a prime position for many attractions, and transport, both business and pleasure, the hotel is becoming tired. Inside and out it would like very smart with the Mecure chain taking responsibility for its condition.
Having stayed at this hotel on many occassions making suggestions of repair, I feel that no-one is really bothered. Bedrooms need decoration, and only in some cases a small repair. In my experience the hotel needs someone to sort out the showers, which do not work properly. Linen very clean and bathroom too.
That said: The dining room over looks the River Thames, and Staines upon Thames Bridge, lovely view for breakfast and romantic dinner.
Staff not too welcoming, and no offer of a helping hand with baggage. Check-in/out sometimes there is a queue.

Room Tip: We were given a room which was immediately not what we liked, the hotel changed it, no problem. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Carol W,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter.

Please feel free to contact me on h6620-fo@accor.com to discuss it further.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked this as a package for Thorpe Park and me and my partner stayed here on a Saturday night. It's an excellent location to stay if your going to Thorpe Park as it's literally a 7-8 minute drive and very easy to find. We arrived at 7pm so fairly late and of course the car park was full which we knew it would be any way. Was advised their was a public paying car park next door which from 7pm-12pm was £1.00 then it's starts charging again at 8.00am and we had to go down at that time and put £7 in for 5 hours which is a bit of hassle but nothing major! Hotel was really nice and room was lovely! Town center is a 5 minute walk and has Nando's, Frankie & Benny's and some other nice restaurants. We would definitely come and stay again, the only negative was that for some strange reason a hotel worker decided to let himself into our room at 10.00am when we was both asleep, no idea why and he just said sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasmineJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear JasmineJessica,

Many thanks for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the location, it is very near to the Thorpe Park and opposite town centre.

Car park is complimentary and it does get filled very quickly especially when we are busy. I am sorry if it caused you any hassle.

Hope to see you soon!!!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the mercure Staines,

Plus points
Lovely view
Free upgrade to a river view-with a balcony which is always a good thing to have in a hotel
Free parking
Close to shops
Bad points
Menu was the same for the whole 4 nights with limited variety
Rooms were tired and the carpet in high traffic areas had been eroded
No plugs by the bedside (when asking to borrow a extension lead I had to drive to the local supermarket as the hotel would only except a cash deposit)
£5 tray charge
No seats on the balconies

Room Tip: No fitness centre,take cash with you if you want to borrow a extension lead,get a river room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvalvona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear gvalvona,

Many thanks for your review. Please accept my apologies that on this occassion your stay was not up to the expectations.

Regarding the menu, upon your next stay we will be happy to offer you more dishes other than menu. For the extension or adaptors, its quite a common procedure to take the deposit and I am sorry that if it may caused you any inconvenience.

We do have a leisure centre near to our hotel and we provide entry passes to all our guests free of charge. Please do use the facility upon your next visit.

I am happy that you also discussed your issues with the duty manager who offered a discount on your drinks which was duly accepted.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on h6220-fb@accor.com if you wish to discuss it further.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

visited this hotel about 18 months ago for coffee. loved it and have just got round to staying the night in middle of may. did book a room last nov but had to cancel at last minute due to an accident and my husband could not drive. phoned to explain this and was told no refund was allowed. i was disappointed at this but thought i would book again as the hotel looked so nice.
i was not disappointed. book a river view, to be fair could not see alot of river as we were right over in corner but a lovely room. lovely comfy bed, nice clean bathroom. quirky corridor to get to room. loved it. the staff were great. an asset to the hotel. breakfast was in a lovely bright big room over looking the river. food was very good. lots of choice. shopping five mins walk away. close car parking. will stay here again and upgrade to a room with better river view. lovely hotel and staff. lovely surroundings. never heard train in night bed too comfy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ally2666,

Many thanks for your kind words.

I am really happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and liked the location.

I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a river view room upon your next booking with us. Please contact me directly on h6620-fb@accor.com when making the booking.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed so we were near Twickenham for the Saints game. Overall pretty good staff super friendly. Rooms OK a little tired but clean and well stocked. For the proximity to Twickenham and London would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHellsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear MrsHellsBells,

Thank you very much for your feedback especially staff!!
Congratulations on Saints win..it wasn't easy.

See you again in near future!!

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
488 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing