We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied Scots”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Satisfied Scots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Our family room was huge and well appointed. Really close to Thorpe Park and town centre. Took about an hour to get into central London -via train and underground-which was fine. Food was good but a kids menu would have been nice.

Room Tip: Family room 89 was huge and had a lovely large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Nichola,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do serve kids menu and I am sorry if staff didn't offer you the menu.

I hope you had a good time at Thorpe park and enjoyed Saw and Angry birds.

Hope to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    251
    145
    79
    37
See reviews for
116
239
31
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Location is lovely, but this does not make up for the appalling attitude from the restaurant. We were meeting friends who had travelled up from Devon (4 hours). They had booked a table in the restaurant weeks before. On arrival we were informed that there was a function, the restaurant was empty and not being used but would we like to sit outside on the terrace overlooking the river? The setting was lovely, we ordered a drink, were given menus and were then informed that the chef would not be able to take our food order until 9pm (this was a 7.30pm booking!!). That was too late, our friends were travelling early the next morning. The waitress then said, the chef could not provide food AT ALL!! WHAAAAT! Was there anywhere close by we could go near by? - No! No offer of a complimentary drink, just basically dumped with a lame apology! Shocking! No excuse for such poor lack of service and what an appalling attitude from the chef! Shame on him! We were only four people and it was not our unwitting fault. It was apparently an error by reception for booking us a table on that night! Paleeeeeese :-(

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Anita K,

I am really sorry to hear that your visit was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person.
Please could you contact me on h6620-fb@accor.com.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Staines hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely hotel, clean and location perfect for what we wanted. On arrival we were informed that our room had been moved and what a lovely surprise, overlooking the river was just perfect.
It is a short walk into the town with many shops and restaurants to enjoy. Overall a lovely stay would definitely go back, and very close to Thorpe park.

Room Tip: If your going to Thorpe park perfect hotel to stop over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath3089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Cath3089,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am glad you enjoyed the view of Thames and location of the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rattenberg, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked our stay via Thorpe Breaks. After a long ride we were really tired but the earliest check-in time was stated with 2 pm. We asked at the reception and they were able to find us a room at 10 am. Although it was in the old part of the Hotel and an old fashioned room that could use a bit of refurbishment we were very happy. Free parking and good english breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Monika S,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad you had a good stay.

Hope to see you again in near future!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#5 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.4 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Property: Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing