We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mercure, London Staines-upon-Thames”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed 4 September 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Richard Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend as part of a Thorpe park short breaks deal. Firstly, the hotel is in a great location for access to Thorpe Park as the bus station is a couple minutes walk down the road and you can catch the 950 for £3.70 return. Departures are very regular.

Back to the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly Roberta at the reception after we asked if it would be okay to leave our car in the car park until we checked in later in the day. With regards to the car park there are very limited spaces but we found there were plenty left when we arrived at about 10am, at 7pm the spaces were all occupied however.

We were quickly checked in to the hotel and off up a short but steep flight of stairs with our case, wouldn't recommend this for disabled access.

We arrived at our room and I was pleasantly surprised for the small price we had paid. The decor was simple but modern, the bathroom was spotless and the bed was very spacious and comfy. Coffee and tea making facilities were in the drawer with a nice choice of teas, coffees and biscuits. Free wifi available for 24 hours in the rooms.

However, there were some bad points in the room. The cream chair facing the mirror was all stained and dirty and in the corner of the room near the heater the paint had bubbled a lot and looked awful. Our room was facing onto the busy main road and the noise from the cars was loud. Also be aware that you are under a flight path and will hear planes.

Can't complain about the breakfast in the morning it's a buffet style with both hot English and cold Continental breakfast available. Good quality and hot. Tea and coffee brought to the table and a variety of jams and honey also at the table. The view from the restaurant is a lovely one of the Thames. The waiting staff were very friendly and one waitress went out of her way to help some American guests with recognizing the different coins in our currency.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, especially for Thorpe Park visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out onto the river, may be quieter with less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Bronwyn1994,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at Mercure London Staines.

We do often pride ourselves for our location which is within 2 mins walk to town center, next to Thorpe Park and transport links. I am glad you enjoyed the location.

Roberta, our Front Office Manager has recently joined us and she will be delighted with such positive words. She is a great asset to the hotel and works very hard to ensure all our guests are treated with care.

I am happy that you liked the room and amenities, please be assure that we inspect all our rooms on daily basis and your concerns will be rectified.

I do hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here last year, we booked it as part of the thorpe park trip, we arrived late my partner finished work so just wanted to get to bed but when we arrived the manager said there was a double booking at apparently happens often!! We were stuck in the lobby and then he got us a taxi to a premier in at 3am in the morning he said that we wouldn't have to pay but we had to hand over £100 most of our money which as you can imagine was the last thing we wanted to do!
The next morning he didn't refund us but did change us to a premier room which was lovely right next to the river thames and the luggage man was lovely!! So was the lady receptionist she couldn't apologise enough! We didn't get our money back till the following day
We didnt let this totally ruin the trip but because it was for my 20th it was disappointing! Breakfast wasn't brilliant either
Have to say i would NOT recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckyamyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Beckyamyrose,

Thank you for your feedback!!

I am sorry about the inconvenience you had during your stay last year.

We tried our best to resolve the situation and even we offered complimentary upgrade which was duly accepted.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my 9 year old daughter when visiting Thorpe park.
Hotel is a 10minute walk from Staines station so not to bad.
Hotel is on the Thames and right on the edge of the town centre so well within walking distance of shops, eateries etc.
Check in was quick and staff were very pleasant.
Room was clean and very spacious and faced onto the river. On ground floor and quite noisy as we seemed to have a herd of buffalo staying in the room above us (but not the hotels fault).
Breakfast was good with variety of hot and cold food but breakfast room itself is only small so filled up quickly around 9.00 to 9.30 so may find yourself waiting around.
Ideal location if visiting Thorpe park as the express bus to the park stops over the road at the bus station and returns there.

Room Tip: Up stairs room as to avoid noisy folk stomping around and facing onto the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chadders5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear chadders5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Mercure London Staines.

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed you stay and took full benefit of the location. We do often pride ourselves on our location with easy transport links to Thorpe Park, Windsor, Heathrow and into London.

I do hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my son for a 2 day Thorpe park break,it's ideal as its just a 10 minute drive to the park,we had room 73,a twin room with balcony over looking the Thames,super view..breakfast was great,hot & tasty,(full English) continental,cereals,fruit etc available also,reasonable bar prices,comfy beds,mini fridge in room,tea & coffee facilities etc. Yes it is looking a bit tired in places,our balcony door lock was an Allen key,balcony did need a clean but the room & bathroom were very clean & tidy,overall very good,I would stay again no problem.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank daleburroughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear daleburroughs,

Thank you fore your kind words.

I am glad you had a good stay and enjoyed our services.
We are well located near to Thorpe Park and Windsor. I am really sorry that the balcony outside your room was not clean and the key was not working.

Hope to see you again in near future!!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We arrived late at night with 5 pieces of luggage. Room was on the 3rd floor of main building - no elevator - very narrow stairs! Receptionist offered to help but was so young and small, she cpuld just carry a piece hand luggage!

Room was old, with old wooden windows andrusty metal window fixtures that would not close (looked like it had been this way for years). Allowed insects and mosquitos into the room.

The adjacent building is newer and looks better but I did not get to see rooms here.

Location is geat right on the Thames. Close to Staines center and train station. Breakfast is very good as is atmosphere in Pub and outside gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Gary S,

Thank you for posting a review of your time with us on this website.

Whilst I was of course pleased to read that there was several aspects of your stay that were indeed enjoyable, I was sorry to learn that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations on all levels.

I would like to assure you that we are working hard to improve the appearance and facilities at our hotel and as noticed we also have new state of art bedrooms. I will be delighted to offer you one of those rooms upon your next visit.

Please contact me directly on h6620-fb@accor.com when making the booking.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a 2 day thorpe park trip. Booked it as it was local to thorpe park and looked a nice setting. First major issue on arriving for check in was parking. Arrived at around 5.30pm and the car park was full up. Had to pay to park next door for a few hours then run back out later. Still no spaces so had to pay again to keep our car there overnight. Next morning we had to jump out of bed early to go put more money in the meter. Shouldn't advertise free parking as there was not one space at all!! Really frustrating.

Second issue was our room. We were given a room which had a lovely view onto the river but right above the patio area so was really noisy! Couldn't have our windows open at all of a night as could constantly hear peoples every word.
Also the room was quite dirty, all cobwebs hanging above shower and needed a good hoover, the carpet had all sorts of crumbs over it.
The best thing about this place is location, lovely view and small walk to some nice restaurants. Think hotel needs to bring itself up to date a little bit more though, sort their parking issue out and find a Hoover!
Staff was fine, breakfast was ok but had to sit outside as no seats inside at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummyof2essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion, however I do hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you and your family back to Mercure London Staines , and restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
471 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: £79 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing