We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Boleyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boleyn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after a day at thorpe park. The hotel was lovely and clean. Our room was very nice modern and clean. You can tell they've spent some money on the rooms. The bar could could be abit more welcoming but the reception staff were helpful. The location was good the town centre is only across the bridge. Breakfast was buffet style full English. Cereals fruit pastries juices and coffee and teas. I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlyb789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    79
    52
    16
    32
See reviews for
33
83
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location of this hotel is walking distance from the Thames and Staines town centre. My room was beautifully decorated was good in size and the bed was very comfortable. The high-speed internet was very good. The only thing that disturbed me was the unfriendliness and the human hair particles left the shower. Which was a sign that the shower was a surface cleaning job only. The breakfast was okay, but I have had better breakfast in other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Staines hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed for one night on business. A very drab and unwelcoming reception area - a vase of dying flowers on the desk. I stayed in room 502 on the ground floor. The corridor from reception to the room was dirty and poorly decorated - there were two ironing boards, that had clearly seen better days, just propped up against a wall. The room was one of the smallest that I have ever stayed in and the furniture looked like something out of the 70s. Everything in the room looked cheap and nasty. There was no air conditioning, just a desk fan, and the room was particularly hot and stuffy. I opened the window, which was facing the car park and had bars bolted to the outside, but had to close it again due to the noise of aircraft. I cannot comment on the restaurant as I did not take dinner or breakfast. The only saving grace was the free wifi access. Most certainly not worth the room-only rate of £100 that I paid through Bookings.com.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was a last minute booking, and were we glad we went.

We spent just 1 night and had a lovely modern room, breakfast and evening meal there. It was a fine day and we sat in their small courtyard with some wine and ordered some Indian starters as an afternoon 'nibble' to go with the wine which were superb.

Staines is quite a small town on the river Thames but very nice with 2 pubs on the river for just relaxing at, although we did ours at the hotel. Good on-site (free) parking and a short walk to the town. The receptionists were lovely and welcoming which usually sets the tone for the rest of the stay.

The evening meal was the only disappointment as it was not very well presented and looked like an 'inclusive' meal, which was much different to the food served up to the 'paying' guests. A shame to do that as the difference in cost would have been minimal - but the effect was not.

An interesting evening as there was a film crew who had taken over one of the small rooms fronting the hotel, turned it into a seaside 'shell' shop, and then spent all afternoon and evening shooting scenes with Harry Hill and Julie Walters and a mysterious 'shell man'. I guess we will see the end product sometime in the future!

Will look forward to returning and making this yet another of our regular 'haunts', but probably without the evening meal.

Good tip: We found out that we could leave the car at the hotel on our check-out day and get the train to london (which we had planned to have a quirky afternoon tea at the 'Champgne et Fromage rooms at Covent Garden followed by a theatre), in the end we drove but would consider doing this next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Boleyn is a sweet, nice Pub Hotel quietly located on a small street with little traffic.

The room was great! Comfortable bed, nice bathroom and spacious enough! The staff was superhelpful, friendly and attentive. Breakfast was identical to every similar hotel in England I have ever stayed at. It's very standard but that is absolutely ok!

There are pub hotels that are "more genuine" than this place but for a business trip it absolutely fills it's purpose and it also feels more genuine than staying at one of the big "chain" hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 109Stina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst i was working in Egham, the main grumble i would have about it is the fact i was told all they had was an 'executive room' for 110 pound that to be frank had nothing executive about it. But to be honest the bed was comfy, the location is great, near to shops, bars, resturants etc. Another small problem is the hotel resturant only does Indian food. Although the breakfast is very good.

Positives - Private car park, location, comfort, noise levels outside are fine.

All in all, if it was a bit cheaper, it would be a winner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieCUK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Room was spotless and in good condition with all the normal facilities, which all worked. Our original room looked out over the restaurant roof and its rather immense air con units, which were a bit noisy.
When I mentioned this to the female receptionist, she offered a room change without any prompting and apologised. She also remembered to switch the wake up call from the old room to the new room...so brownie points for a professional service. The replacement room was at the back of the hotel and was again spotless but this time, quiet. Bed was comfortable and bathroom / shower very good. had a very good night's sleep
Breakfast was good. The English breakfast was cooked to order, came out piping hot and was good quality.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxB844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boleyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boleyn Hotel

Property: The Boleyn Hotel
Address: 29 The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boleyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boleyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Boleyn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing