We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice refurbished rooms, woeful wifi”
Review of The Boleyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boleyn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I recently stayed here overnight on a business trip to the area. The hotel is really handy for Staines, with friendly staff and a nice bar across the road. My room was recently renovated, clean and comfortable. The wifi however was not up to scratch for a business visit and although free you need a code for each device that you use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that was recently refurbished
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deefromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for The Boleyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed one night at this hotel (7th September) due to visiting Lego land and Thorpe park for the weekend, the hotel was close to all amenities, 10minutes to the local train station which is very regular we even popped into London on the Saturday evening. The hotel itself was excellent, we had breakfast included and this was a nice cooked buffet breakfast aswell as the choice of pastries, cereal etc, the waiting staff were very friendly. Wi-if was included at this hotel which is a nice touch when staying this was a fast connection. The reception staff were also excellent, the lady offered us the opportunity to upgrade to a refurbished room, we took this opportunity up, and can't fault anything for the price we paid. She also went out of her way to help direct us to the local amenities. We will definitely return to the Boleyn hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holmes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Watch out with this hotel. They are in the middle of refurbishing the hotel rooms and whilst the rooms in the main part of the hotel building have been completed, if you are unlucky enough to have booked a standard room and are not prepared to pay an additional amount to upgrade your room to one of the refurbished rooms, your stay will not be very pleasant. The basic rooms are very basic to say the least and whilst the beds are new and the bathroom clean, the rooms are very tired and are down a corridor that is what I can only describe as "sinister". We spent one night in the basic and then negotiated a reasonable upgrade for the remaining three nights.

A couple of points for the hotel owners (1) Make sure your housekeeping are cleaning your rooms property. The newly refurbished room I stayed in desperately needed its carpet vacuuming - from the large layer of dust on the carpet I would say that the room had never been vacuumed since it was refurbished! (2) Your bar area is dreadful, souless and does not welcome your guests. You need comfortable furniture in there together with a carpet and ambient lighting - also, get rid of the TV and play some back ground music! Sort this out and your might find your guests stay in your hotel bar area in the evening rather than going across the road to the Swan!

Room Tip: Book a standard room at the peril! Executive rooms are lovely - top floor is quiet although there is...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Visiting friends in Egham for a 25th Wedding Anniversary party, so wanted a hotel B&B package close by. Of the 16 Hotels on offer we thought the Boleyn was competitively priced and looked nice from the photos. The rooms were very modern with comfortable beds, flat screen TVs with a refurbished bathroom and comfortable sitting area. The room was excellent.The receptionist was very friendly and efficient and dealt with our payment, breakfast and evening meal times information, plus provided the wifi codes. She also organised Taxis there and back to our friends house and these were on time. The breakfast buffet the following morning was a bit haphazard. Everything was there , from what you expected,but it just wasn't well organised enough. Unfortunately too many of the guests came down at the same time and there were just not enough clear tables. Don't have a problem with buffet service but prefer a buffet service when the tea/coffee and toast are at least waiter served. Nice touch having a big TV with the news on, but would be better if the tables were side on so the both people could see the TV rather than 1 facing it and one with their back to it.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have better views of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U411483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed for three nights whilst on business. The rooms are very modern and cosy; they appear to have spent some money on them recently. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom specious and modern. The room had a homely feel to it, less clinical than some modern hotels can be. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel which I found to be fast and reliable. There is an Indian restaurant attached but it is only open from 17:30 onwards, so you are a bit stuck food wise or if you are not a fan of Indian cuisine. However there is a traditional pub over the road and it is 5mins walk in to the town centre where there are a number of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was buffet style and the same as most other hotels, serving traditional English breakfast or cereals etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after a day at thorpe park. The hotel was lovely and clean. Our room was very nice modern and clean. You can tell they've spent some money on the rooms. The bar could could be abit more welcoming but the reception staff were helpful. The location was good the town centre is only across the bridge. Breakfast was buffet style full English. Cereals fruit pastries juices and coffee and teas. I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlyb789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location of this hotel is walking distance from the Thames and Staines town centre. My room was beautifully decorated was good in size and the bed was very comfortable. The high-speed internet was very good. The only thing that disturbed me was the unfriendliness and the human hair particles left the shower. Which was a sign that the shower was a surface cleaning job only. The breakfast was okay, but I have had better breakfast in other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
455 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boleyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boleyn Hotel

Address: 29 The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boleyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Boleyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Boleyn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing