We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of The Boleyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boleyn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed for one night when going to Twickenham to watch rugby. Lovely quiet location, extremely polite staff. Our room was superb and we enjoyed a great full english breakfast in the morning. I thoroughly recommend this pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Myself and my 15 yr old lad stayed at this Hotel on the 8th March 2014, we had booked a twin room with breakfast for one night. Firstly I booked the hotel and was given the price of £79 with breakfast for the room ( remembering its a twin and I put on the booking form 2 people). When I showed it to my son as we had travelled from Jersey I noticed on the booking form it said for one person, so I changed it to 2 and the price went up by £10. You would have thought when you pay for a room that you would not be charged extra for two people in a twin. Anyway arrived, received by reception, excellent, friendly staff, beautiful twin room 203, could not have asked for more . Great hotel, location second to none beside the Thames and 2 mins from centre of town over the bridge. After a couple of hours in town we arrived back to the room to a noise that we thought was a wagon outside the hotel picking something up, until we realised it wasn't leaving. I went to report the noise to reception and he explained I should never have been given that room as the noise was the air conditioning and is always there, they offered us another twin on the ground floor which we accepted. So cons: check your room price before you book, and if you are given a key to Room 203 say no....Pros: fantastic location, beautiful rooms, great breakfast, superb staff they just need to sort out the little logistics. Will I stay again Definetly.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 292Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Me my wife and 2 young children stayed there on the 18th of January , what a warm welcome we got when we arrived the room was very nice and clean the bathroom was big and done to a very high standard , i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and many thanks to the staff and manager for making us all very welcome

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for 10 days on a business visit. The hotel is centrally located right across the road from Thames river, 5 mins walk to the town center and exactly opposite Sainsbury's superstore. The location was very convenient to commute to the British Gas, BUPA, IBM & Samsung offices as well. The rooms and beds are comfortable with an in room television, coffee machine. A nicely fitted bathroom with a hot surface, shower and a bathtub and 24 hour hot water supply. The breakfast is good with continental and full English options and all the food is served in the in-house Indian restaurant Saffron which was just what the doctor ordered for an Indian traveler like me so all in all very good.
Things that can be improved - I will definitely say noise insulation. It doesn't exist. People can hear what you are watching on TV or talking on your phone just by passing from the corridor. People switching on their buttons in other rooms feel like its being done in your own room. Something must be done to get this straight.
Secondly view..there might be good view of Thames from the upper floor rooms but from the ground floor where my room was, there is no view to speak of. The Swan which is next door or Mercure London The Thames Lodge is better option for a Thames view.
Also I feel its slightly overpriced at 95 pounds a day for the services they offer but thats UK.
All in all a nice hotel and a first choice for many high ranking officials of MNC's for its location and food.

Room Tip: Insist on a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Hotel looked to have been recently refurbished and all of the fixture and fittings were in good order.
The room was very comfortable and quiet.
I decided to eat out as the Restaurant only offered Indian food and I wasn't in the mood for it.
Breakfast was good albeit the room smelt of curry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Staines is an unusual place; a lot of activity and people busying around considering there is not a lot there! Anyway, I decided to stay here as my destination (Feltham) is not a pleasant place.

I was greeted by a very welcoming reception who gave me the impression she was happy to have me there: I could not fault the service and I happily upgraded my room in the process. I was given all the information I needed rather than just left to reading a pamphlet in my room.

The room was excellent, although I did upgrade to a newly refurbished one. The upgrade was was worth it (although I did not stay in other rooms in the hotel) as this boasted quite possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I needed a good night sleep and I got one. The hotel also sits off the main road so there was no street noise either. The bathroom was well fitted, although lacked a bath. Only complaint is the standard (and poor) tea making facilities, but who's complaining when the most excellent Swan pub was directly opposite?

Now the negative... the breakfast service is the worst I have ever encountered other than the Travel Lodge and hotels without dining facilities. I was not asked what I wanted as hot food was supposed to be to order and the selection from the buffet was restricted to 1 slice of bread, a selection of cereal without milk and a coffee pot with no coffee. There was slices of melon on offer, but these were wrapped up so tight, I do believe I was not meant to open this. To add to this I also had to clean my own table before I sat down. I did complain about this in and was assured this is not normally the case: I'll give them the benefit of doubt, as the rest of the stay was excellent... I also thought that at £130.00 for the night was a little expensive and would have thought £90 - £100 was a better representation of what was on offer.

In terms of location, be aware that you are about minutes walk away from the town centre which is on the opposite side of the river (Thames). Also the train station is a good 10 minute taxi drive (make that 30 in rush hour), so make sure you plan. Also Staines is about 45 - 50 minutes away from Waterloo on the train, so don't be fooled it's close to London, just because you're inside the M25. The hotel is well situated for the A30 / M25 if you're driving as the junction for these roads is about 5 minutes.

I will be going back, and I'll make sure the breakfast improves.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a newly refreshed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We found the hotel was lovely, very clean and well looked after. Only improvement we'd suggest is perhaps more communication between staff and the public. Also slightly overpriced. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahrosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
502 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boleyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boleyn Hotel

Address: 29 The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boleyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boleyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Boleyn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing