We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harper's Birthday”

Adirondack Animal Land
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Gorge, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harper's Birthday”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a good time with our granddaughter and we enjoyed it also.Clean neat fair prices,animals well taking care of.nice day nice place,nice people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hgockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    6
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you can find it, well worth a drive from Albany and beyond”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a great time feeding the animals. If you have a long reach, some of the monkeys will take treats out of your hands. How cool is that. Place is very clean and animals appear well cared for. Only problem is that some of the brochures in the hotels have the wrong street address. Bing and google map said it would be 45 minutes from Albany. Android GPS said it was going to be a 90 minute drive. We got there in about 25 minutes. Lucky we saw the signs and didn't miss it. Staff said the problem was that we inputted State Route instead of just Route in the address. Not sure that was the problem but if you can find it you will enjoy it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield Center, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not so exciting if you aren't a little kid”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great place to visit if you are a little kid or have small children. There are a great many friendly animals that you can touch and feed such as goats, llamas, monkeys, deer etc.. The place is very clean and the animals appear healthy. I can't say the enclosures are adequate or stimulating however. Animals are in groups, so they have each other but there is very little in the way of enrichment activities for them. Just cages. The monkeys have some ropes but little else. For what you get, I find this place to be overpriced. The safari ride is the best part, however they only have it once an hour so the line is very long. I think having it run more often would be better. We went to go on it and we had just missed it and would of had to wait an hour after we already saw everything in the zoo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank geocachelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend a Morning/Afternoon”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We took our two year old, and we all had a great time. There is a great variety of animals, and they all seem healthy and happy. I highly recommend the Safari ride that comes with regular admission - camels and emus come right up to the trailer. You can buy animal feed when you buy your tickets, and there is a station by the petting zoo at the other end of the park. There are also quarter fed food machines throughout the park. The park layout is a little tricky in that the animals are along a long path rather than loop so to see all the animals you have to walk all the way to the end of the park. No shortcuts to quickly get back to the entrance if needed. There is only one bathroom at the beginning of the park, with porta-potties along the way. There are hand sanitizer stations throughout the park, but if you want to wash your hand with soap and running water, the bathroom at the beginning is the only option. Also beware of the steep hill you have to walk down to get from the beginning of the park to the rest of the animal exhibits. Might be tricky for people who have difficulty walking. There is a cute little wooden town for kids to play in, and several areas of playground equipment throughout. There are also picnic tables if you wanted to pack a lunch. There is a snack bar and gift shop. Overall, we definitely recommend this park as a great 'little' zoo for kids of all ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Misleading”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After reading their website boasting " Enjoy the 45 Acre African Safari Ride with 35 Acres
of Walk Through!!!" this is not true at all. 3 hrs drive and motel stay. Very rude staff!! Older woman in gift shop swore and said we were lying, pulled up website, she doesn't believe her own website! If you live near I guess it is okay, if not do not go. all cash is okay .Keep in mind if it says 14.75 admission it is not plus tax is added on. waste of our time......

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank travler558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adirondack Animal Land also viewed

 

Been to Adirondack Animal Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing