We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rail Yard - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rail Yard
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Mayfield, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very small quaint restaurant. Our dinner was delicious from start to finish, the wait staff was very attentive without being over bearing. Will definitely become a regular dinner spot for us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“November Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

A friend treated me to dinner on a Tuesday night in early Nov. We were the only two eating. We both had the special which was Dijon crusted baked Haddock. It was very good but very expensive. Everything on the menu was very expensive. Would have expected this in Lake George but not here. The waitress was friendly. The place was a bit dimly lit and the lights flickered often. I ordered a Coke which was flat and watered down. Believe our two meals with a soda for me and coffee for her came to over $50.00. Would I come back - not at these prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A night with a bad start but a great finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife & I returned to my hometown for dinner on our 19th anniversary. The 1st restaurant we stopped at is closed on Tuesdays. It was a Tuesday. The 2nd we stopped at was permanently closed. The 3rd was permanently closed. The 4th was the Rail Yard. It was open! And now we know why. The food is excellent (a grilled prime rib special that equaled the best anywhere). The drinks are excellent (a Southern Comfort Manhattan for my wife without a blink). The service is excellent. The prices are reasonable. The décor is pleasant. These people know how to run a classy restaurant with high quality food at reasonable prices & apparently proved it by running their competition out of town. We'll be back & it won't be long!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grant18m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

On a Thurs. night ate here for the first time and had a delicious meal from start to finish.The tuna on fried won-ton with wasabi was an excellent appetizer. Drinks were all good. There's a nice covered patio, which we would have tried except we were having 90 degree temps. at the time, so opted for a/c. The waitress was fantastic! The only delay we had was when we first walked in & the bartender & waitress were both in the back at the same time with no one up front for a few minutes. The desserts were also very tasty. Our only complaint was the cloth napkins should be bigger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good ingredients and preparation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

When we went the Rail Yard had located to Pine Brook Golf Course, but we understand that it has returned to the West Fulton location, which is really much better suited for this kind of restaurant.
The food offerings are excellent. Ingredients appear to be fresh and are handled with care. While there were no unusual entrees, the choices we selected (there were four of us) were all excellent. The fish dishes were especially good: simple, tasty and appealing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rail Yard also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing