We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for an event”

Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Goshen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a Tudor-style building that was once William Cane's Good Time Stable, this museum honors the sport of harness racing through its history, its heroes and its story today.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went for an event”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Would def go back for the exhibits. Seemed well organized. And the staff was extremely accommodating. Beautiful building with lots to explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debxpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Neat way to spend some time”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I know next to nothing about harness racing. So I decided to go to the trotter museum with a friend. We ended up spending about an hour there. Two floors of very interesting reading, items from decades ago, and really cool images and mannequins. There are a few movies you can watch, too, and the hall of fame pieces are amazingly detailed. I wouldn't do it often, but I could see taking people there when they're in from out of town. Something interesting to do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gbbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small museum that we used as a reception area”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our company used the medium-sized reception area as a site for our holiday party, which took place in an adequate, but undistinguished space which could just have easily been in a small hotel or office building, ore even a Charley Brown's restaurant. The catering was brought in from the outside. The exhibits between the entrance and the room we used have various harness-racing-associated paraphernalia - harnesses, period pictures, etc. This may be very interesting to someone already interested in harness racing as a sport, to us, it was wallpaper.

Helpful?
Thank looksatsmallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I work in the Museum field and this Museum is one of the hidden Gems in Orange County. I highly recommend it to all my friends and guests who visit. We love the IMAX movie and the live events in July!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank History-Lover-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This musem is lots of fun, very educational, this is history right where it happened. Orange County is the cradle of the trotting horse.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing