We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a museum”

Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Goshen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a Tudor-style building that was once William Cane's Good Time Stable, this museum honors the sport of harness racing through its history, its heroes and its story today.
Versailles
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This museum offers great insight into what was the most popular sport in the nation at one time. A true look at real Americana. If you have a short attention span like me, this is a perfect spot. You can see everything in less than an hour but come away with some knowledge of an important part of America's past. If you are in the area this is a must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ABZ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming way to spend an hour or a day - and it's free”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been the Museum many times. There is no charge, so bring the kids or as many friends and family as you'd like. I suggest a trip in the morning, Monday through Saturday so you can look out the balcony on the second floor and see the horses training at adjacent Historic Track. The Museum is built around a historic old stable, with cobblestone floors and very thick oak stall doors. They even have a faint recording with faint clip clops of hooves to transport you back in time about 100 years. There is a 3D movie and many dynamic exhibits, including dress ups for the kids and a talking horse. On weekends in June and over 4th of July, there is racing at Historic Track right next door.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllenHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Harness Racing Museum and Hall of Fame is a wonderful, hidden gem in Goshen, NY. We have been there for the Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies (usually held around July 4th) a few times and the staff does a great job planning this event. The whole little town of Goshen goes all out on Fourth of July weekend - they decorate their homes and business in tons of fresh flowers and yards and yards of red, white and blue bunting. The racetrack (behind the museum) is literally right in the center of town and the quality of racing is first-rate. The Museum is a must-see for both racing and non-racing fans alike. SOOO much history - very well presented with lots of hands-on exhibits. Oh, and don't forget the gift shop... We'll be going back this summer!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ejanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went for an event”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Would def go back for the exhibits. Seemed well organized. And the staff was extremely accommodating. Beautiful building with lots to explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debxpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Neat way to spend some time”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I know next to nothing about harness racing. So I decided to go to the trotter museum with a friend. We ended up spending about an hour there. Two floors of very interesting reading, items from decades ago, and really cool images and mannequins. There are a few movies you can watch, too, and the hall of fame pieces are amazingly detailed. I wouldn't do it often, but I could see taking people there when they're in from out of town. Something interesting to do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gbbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing