We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs maintenance and renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Grand Island
Reviewed 28 August 2013

On the plus side, the motel is in a convenient location for driving to Niagara Falls. The area surrounding the motel has a park like setting, including a small fish pond. The owner was very nice to us during check in and was helpful when we had questions. There was also a nice TV with lots of stations available.

On the negative side, there were many items needing repair/replacement in the motel room. The alarm clock did not work, a handle was broken off in the shower, the room air conditioning filter was dirty, the toilet seat was loose, the refrigerator was noisy, the hem in the drapes had come undone, and the sheets were too small for the mattress. The exterior and the room was in need of repainting and carpet needed cleaned.

Overall it was an adequate motel for our needs, but could be much nicer with some maintenance and renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Room layout was great, lots of space and defined areas. Furniture was a bit worn, but for the price and our needs, it was a fine value. HUGE bathroom was nice, but bathroom had no counter space. Tub was stained awfully bad. Nice TV. The staff was outstanding, friendly! Location with food 1 minute away was great, also. Would return. Quaint and comfy.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms with bathrooms with counters and newer or reglazed tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZR900MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

For 1 night I didn't want to spend the money the downtown Niagara Falls hotels wanted. However I think the motel room was still over priced. It had a nice window air conditioner that worked well, a refrigerator and new sinks and faucets in an otherwise outdated bathroom. The flat-screen TV looked new but no list of channels or programs were provided. The room was clean. The Wi-fi was spotty - had to be right by the window to connect. There was no ice bucket but that didn't matter since there was no ice! The bed and furnishings were rather shabby, mattress was hard and pillows were pancakes. Lighting was dim. The carpet was very worn. The bathroom curtains were hung backwards. Interesting bathtub/shower stall - it was only a 42 inch tub. No hair dryer, no phone, no 24 hour desk, no coffee, no breakfast. The soap was wafer thin and the hand cream and shampoo were in little packets. It's an old independent motel but I think they're trying to make it better. Brighter paint on the walls and updated brighter lighting would help the dullness. It was OK for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Only stay if you are not looking for a fancy place with all the whistles it is just a basic motel with clean rooms ,flat lcd tv's with plenty of channels.Rooms were pretty cozy and had a refriegerator .No telephone in the room ,no free coffee but free wi fi but no 24 hr desk.It is close to fast food places and minutes away from niagara falls.I believe in the more sugar you put more sweeter it gets so i was pretty content with the room for the amount i paid for the room.Will come back .

Room Tip: Call the motel direct on there phone to get the best price and discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preeti b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Decided at the last minute to spend New Year's Eve in Niagara Falls. Hotels there were extremely expensive so we chose to stay a few minutes away and picked the Chateau Motor Lodge based on good reviews on Tripadvisor. Next time, we'll pay the premium for a better place. Our room was in ill repair with part of the drop ceiling slumping and a significant portion of the shower tile loose over wet, swollen walls. The bathroom was not particularly clean, and included a mass of spider webs in a corner by the toilet and and a shower curtain covered in mildew. On the bed, the bottom sheet left several inches of the bare mattress exposed. Neither light over the beds worked and the central ceiling light had only a single functioning bulb. Few people were staying in the motel, yet we were placed in what appeared to be the only other occupied room. We enjoyed their television at 2 AM.

I did not bother trying to get anything taken care of by the motel staff since we were staying for only one night and even at check in it felt like I was horribly inconveniencing the person checking us in. My only other interaction with anyone from the motel was upon checkout where it again felt as if I was inconveniencing them. Finally, I booked the room through Priceline. The motel refused to honor the price and dismissed it as Priceline's fault.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omanskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Chateau motor lodge great location only 10 minutes from Niagara Falls . I spent 2 nights in December the weather was great. The rates are really reasonable.I can only imagine you should book ahead in the summer because of the location is close to the Niagara Falls I'm sure the rates must go up.very close to McDonald's Burger King Wendys Tim Hortons great places to eat.the rooms were clean cozy in a quiet location. Guy at the front desk very helpful. Great flat screen TVs with variety of channels. Older independent Motel not a franchise.seems like this Motel has been updating time to time. almost forgot to mention came with a full size refrigerator which is very helpful. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockyman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We have stayed here for about 15-20 years in a row now. The owners are very nice. The rooms are clean and fairly priced. We travel into town annually for a boat show and it is the closest and cleanest motel. There is either a diner for breakfast or a Tim Hortons for breakfast on the fly right across the street. One of the nicest things about staying here is that the owners grow a huge amount of flowers on the grounds and it is quite breathtaking. The rooms are set deep into the lot and very quiet. Nice neighbors and very little to no road noise.

Room Tip: Smaller complex. Make a reservation as far in advance as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebSne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Island
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
6.0 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#8 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Swiss Cottage Inns
Swiss Cottage Inns
#27 of 52 in Niagara Falls
196 reviews
5.9 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#28 of 52 in Niagara Falls
154 reviews
4.5 mi away
CenterWay Hotel
CenterWay Hotel
#1 of 13 in Tonawanda
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Motor Lodge

Address: 1810 Grand Island Blvd., Grand Island, NY 14072
Region: United States > New York > Grand Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range: £40 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 32" Flat Screen TV's and over 150 satellite channels including HBO's, ESPN, NFL network. There is free WIFI all over the property. Free parking, refrigerator and microwave on demand. We are only 5 miles south of Niagara Falls, NY. Perfect stop when visiting Niagara Falls or Buffalo. No Coffee or breakfast offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Motor Hotel Grand Island
Chateau Hotel Grand Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing