We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Persian Kosher - Like a diner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chatanooga

Chatanooga
Reserve with OpenTable
Chatanooga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 109 Restaurants in Great Neck
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Long Island
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Persian Kosher - Like a diner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The place is decorated OK, and is located right off a main strip in Great Neck. The food was bland and very reminiscent of a Greek diner. Was at a catered affair which was run nicely but there really wasn't much to eat that wasn't some weird exotic stuff. The waitress that worked the party was excellent. The bartender a total loser with an attitude who was never behind the cash bar during the party, with 8 dollar cocktails as an added treat. Overall would never pay to actually eat there. There are thousands of places I'd eat at before going there again. I guess if you have to eat Kosher, you are limited, but I don't and really, when has anyone ever heard of a great Kosher food place? Except for maybe Ratner's in the big Apple.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADNYC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Kosher Persian Food All Will Like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have been here several times with business groups. Chatanooga was chosen to accomodate kosher attendees, but the only thing a non-observant eater will notice is the absence of milk and shellfish (and of course pork). The food is full on Persian, with no resemblance to typical eastern European Jewish cuisine. Shish-kebabs were grilled juicy, the rice dishes were outstanding, as were the salads and the many varied appetizers. Go with a group large enough to sample a variety family style and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealDoctorLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Went for a Birthday Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Food is Kosher as is the restaurant from what I gather. we were guests to a 1 year old birthday party.

Food - is very good for Kosher, i am not Jewish or kosher of the sort So did I miss the seafood? sure! was I happy with the Shish Kebabs and grilled meats along with potatoes, Jewish salads such as Babaganoush, Hummus, Some Red eggplant stuff and pickled veggies. Food was excellent and served buffet style. I would most likely come back for a meal depending on prices

Atmosphere - Large space, carpet and wood floors, plenty of room for dinner guests and if you want to host a large party.

Service - Top notch, excellent wait staff that were courteous and prompt.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Kosher Persian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I dined at Chatanooga on Thanksgiving Day with my wife, and two others. We were rather late for lunch (1:30) and were the only diners present in a rather large space. The restaurant was doing a brisk take out business.

Service was very attentive,and the prices surprisingly reasonable. We had a wide variety of appetizers and main dishes, and everything was good. My uncle ordered the traditional Thanksgiving meal - complete with cranberry sauce and was very pleased with his choice. The rest of us have various skewered meats with Persian rice, and were delighted with both the flavor and presentation. We all shared a dessert of pistachio baklava which was unique and wonderful. The appetizers were the real stars of the menu. I especially recommend the Moroccan Cigars and Grape Leaves.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naphhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatanooga also viewed

Great Neck, Long Island
Great Neck, Long Island
 
Great Neck, Long Island
 
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Been to Chatanooga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing