We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rotonda Ristorante

La Rotonda Ristorante
Ranked #22 of 108 Restaurants in Great Neck
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were a group of 7 on a Thursday night. Heavy rain was predicted. La Rotanda was not crowed.

Dinner was very pleasant. The service was attentive; the good very good; and, I thought, the prices very reasonable. Everyone was satisfied with their dishes and the bill worked out to $40 per person -- this included a bottle of wine for the table, 3 cocktails, appetizers, main course, taxes and tip (20% as we were a "large" party -- not complaining, just reporting) -- no coffee/dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IgFlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amagansett, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We went there for a family dinner last weekend. There was one waiter for the room and he was overwhelmed. Everything we ordered took forever to be served and at best, was mediocre. Only bright spot was the pizza

It's so hard to find a family friendly restaurant but this doesn't cut it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Qwickrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geo P, Owner at La Rotonda Ristorante, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
Hi, thanks for giving La Rotonda a review and thank you for the visit. We Just Re - Opened again in June 2015 with same chef from 2002 - 2014. Sometimes restaurants run into staff problems like late or missing employees for whatever reason. I'm sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience due to an obvious short on staff problem on that particular day or evening. I hope you decide to try us again if and when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We've lived in Great Neck for quite a few years now, and La Rotonda is our "go to" place for "eating out." Their thin crust pizza, fired on an open hearth, is very tasty ... and we've been pleased with the entrees we've tried there, too. (I recommend the farfalle with sausage and broccoli rabe and my husband likes the eggplant parm.) The meal starts out with a nice basket of chewy bread ... and there's a good assortment of wines, including by-the-glass options. Service is prompt and courteous ... and they've added a pretty party room, in case you'd like to have an "affair" there. Reasonable prices (for Great Neck). And just a block away from the Great Neck LIRR station ... convenient for non-driving, out-of-town guests! Only caveat: they don't accept reservations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rotonda Ristorante also viewed

 
Great Neck, Long Island
 
Great Neck, Long Island
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Been to La Rotonda Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing