We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service. Limited menu.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Om Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Om Bistro
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: middle neck rd
Transit: LIRR STATION GREAT NECK STOP N20 AND N21 BUS STOP
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Limited menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Went to Om a couple of weeks ago with friends. The atmosphere was nice and the service was attentive. The foccaia bread was a bit dense, but with the hummus, a nice treat. The complimentary lamb over potenta "bite" was delicious. Started with the spaghetti with cauliflower pesto. That was very good. Everyone else had the carrot ginger soup and liked it. We all ordered the lamb shank. The shank itself was cooked well, and tasty, however, the sauce was way too sweet, as was the root veggy that came with it. I did not like that, but my husband did. Different tastes I guess. All in all, while the food was good, and the presentation was first class, it would not be a place that we would "run back" to week after week. The menu is somewhat limited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

One of the worst experiences we have had with dining in great neck. food was terrible - had to order two different entrees and still hated the second one. the service was inept and overall it was a very negative experience. i would never return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmavenNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“NY Times review spot on, awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Just got back from a night out at OM Bistro with the whole family. Thumbs up from all 5 of us.

Complementary filet mignon spring rolls and hot freshly baked foccacia were a big hit.

Lamb dumplings, potato soup and brisket were all great. Brisket fell apart in your fork and had a really good sweet sauce that was carmelized, yet very juicy and just awesome, highly recommend the brisket.

Wife got the filet mignon and we could literally break it apart with the fork when we were making some for our little one. All of their desserts were also freshly made in house and you can tell. Cheesecake was light and airy, not too heavy and really made you want to order another one right after eating the first. Red velvet cake also had like a tirami su layer. The chocolate tart was ridiculously chocolaty. I mean all 5 of us had a piece and there was still some left. Fudgy and like a rice krispie consistency layer on top that we all fought over.

Can't miss with this place....we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rs11942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Good Service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I am a big foodie..love to explore new places, this new plan opened up in Great Neck called OM Bistro..quiet an amazing place..I had the Lamb Shank..god juicy and fall off the bone..delicious..we ordered the dessert it was fantastic and huge..for a single order. Price was super reasonable for great neck standard..I will go again for sure...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMcberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Om Bistro also viewed

Great Neck, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing