We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak...”

Peter Luger Steak House
Ranked #1 of 112 Restaurants in Great Neck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best steak...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My brothers & I decided to take our Dad for his 55th birthday. Boy, was he happy with everything! The steak for 3 was cooked to perfection. Bacon was amazing. Tomato with onion & Peter Luger sauce was great! i put the s*** on everything!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    103
    69
    15
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I prefer this location as it is less crowded than the Brooklyn location, but just as good and you may have a wait. The staff are impeccable, service is great and the steaks and chops are to die for. The appetizers are excellent, as are the deserts. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak Was Perfection..... BUT”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The place really does make an excellent steak. My husband and I both had the rib steak and it really was ONE of the best steaks we've ever had. Like top 3.Our waiter may not have been very charming, however he was an obvious pro and didn't miss a beat. This restaurant is recommended by all as THE place to go in NY for steak. We were a little disappointed by the up keep of the place. The lantern covers on the outside of the building are falling off, broken seat in the men's room, waiters name tags covered with tape, and as we looked around we got the overall feeling of a great place feeling a little neglected. I'm not saying update it, the old German feel of the place is awesome. Just maybe replace what's broken and keep the romance alive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happydancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top of the List”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went to PL 5/18. Had the usual.....Tomato and Onions(warm.. ,must have been left out for a while). steak for 2, German Potatoes and creamed spinach. Finished off with apple strudel with shlag. As usual, food was excellent. Crowded and the noise level was very high. Still.. the go to place when you want a good steak.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddles115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A uniquely new york experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Peter luger is known for its truly great steaks. Sure they have a few other entrées but don't bother. Other restaurants have great steaks too but they don't have the atmosphere of Peter luger. It's sort of like being in a special club and this club can only exist in new york. The great neck Peter luger is actually in the suburbs the other one is in brooklyn. I highly recommend that visitors to new york make the effort to get to either one but bring lots of cash. They don't take credit cards and it's an expensive evening . If you have any cholesterol issues at least you'll die happy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CookyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter Luger Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peter Luger Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing