We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Loud Late at Night”

Whispering Pines Campsites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenfield Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campsites
Reviewed 31 July 2012

In over 40 years of camping, this was by far the loudest campsite I have ever encountered. We were woken up by drunken partying campers at 3 AM on the Friday night. They were asked to keep it down by other campers more than once but did not.
On the Saturday night, it was even worse. There were loud drunken campers at almost every site, including the RV park.
Unable to sleep, we had to leave and check into a $300 hotel room in Saratoga at 1 AM.
Not to mention that the office was closed during supposed opening hours on two occasions when we wanted to buy the only firewood that the campground allows.
If you're into all night drinking and partying without repercussions or if you are camping on a weeknight, this is an excellent campsite with beautiful surroundings.
Otherwise, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TB_HAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
612kaf, Owner at Whispering Pines Campsites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We at Whispering Pines are sorry you were inconvenienced during your stay. We have been in business for 19 seasons and take pride in keeping a quiet and safe atmosphere in our campground. We respond to all complaints of noise, etc. when we are made aware of these kinds of situations. Unfortunately, we cannot take care of the problem if we are not informed about them. We have after-hour emergency phone numbers posted outside the office and at all restroom facilities. These numbers call directly to our security staff and owner.We also have an emergency 911 phone located at the pool. All of these locations are clearly marked on our campground map. Had you called us at, we could have taken care of the problem immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

The campsites themselves were nice and spacious - ours backed to a trout stream next to a pond, the amenities were nice.

However, within a half-hour of checking in - the manager/owner or whoever it was was making his rounds and threatened to kick us out for bringing in our own firewood because of the emerald ash borer problem. For starters - we ended up at Whispering Pines because of a last minute change of plans - and the wood was good to go as it was well seasoned for a couple of years in my garage and lumber scraps from a rehab project at home but he didn't want to hear it. However, we could have bought wood for $8.00 for a small bundle at the office instead... right... we found a local firewood guy who sold us crappy pine that was still moist instead.

Rates are based on 2 adult campers - anyone else, pay up.

The bathrooms by the office were tiny and not maintained with broken fixtures. The showers were locked - and we had to hike or drive up to new bathhouse where you had to PAY to take a shower by pumping quarters in - fifty cents for 4 minutes.

Cell phone service where the campsite is located is very spotty at best. But they'll be happy to let you use their wireless internet for $2.00/day.

Our last night there, one of our party's car was repaired and the rental returned... at 11:00 PM the owner/manager or whoever it was stopped and made an issue out of it. Some advice, how about making rounds and asking us if our stay there is going well and if there's anything they can do rather than nit-picking at every little thing?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Nessman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Not 1 person ever smiled behing the front desk. Seemed like the business we gave was not appreciated. These people are just in it for money not customer appreciation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rayanag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Pines Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campsites

Address: 550 Sandhill Rd, Greenfield Center, NY 12833-1123
Region: United States > New York > Greenfield Center
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Greenfield Center
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 112 site campground situated on 75 acres of towering pine trees. RV sites have water/electric or water/electric/sewer. Cable TV & 50 amp service on some sites. Tent sites available. Rec Hall, special events and planned activities. WiFi hotspots. Newly renovated rest rooms. Potluck suppers. Fireside Cracker barrels. New in 2015 - The Pine Cone Cafe ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing