We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorhome Camping in a Rustic Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenfield Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campsites
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Motorhome Camping in a Rustic Setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very quiet campground a little ways off the highway but only 10 minutes from the Saratoga Racetrack and beautiful downtown Saratoga. We camped in a 40 foot Class A Motorhome for 3 nights and it was extremely quiet probably due to the absence of the majority of seasonal residents. The staff was friendly and helpful. No wifi at our site which was not an issue because we wanted to relax for the short time we actually were at our camper. Cable reception & water pressure was terrific! It is unfortunate that the majority of people who leave reviews do so only to post negative feedback. However, as previous KOA campground owners we know how important it is to leave feedback especially if our stay was enjoyable. We cant wait to go back next year for the 146th Traverse!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We first looked at this campground about 7 yrs. ago and decided to rent a seasonal site here. We have been completely satisfied with the experience. Campground is well maintained, staff that cleans the bathrooms are excellent, my grandchildren have enjoyed both the hayride and firetruck rides plus the pool,which is kept very clean. If you're looking for a safe , convenient place to stay try this campground.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

High prices, very low satisfaction. Showers require quarters to work. Internet is an additional fee. Pool is padlocked closed. Bathrooms are dirty. Not worth the 10 mile drive from I-87. We have stayed up and down the East Coast, as a veteran this is one of the worst campgrounds I have encountered.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acepickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
612kaf, Owner at Whispering Pines Campsites, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We at Whispering Pines are sorry your time with us was not to your satisfaction. After we reviewed your reservation, we noticed that you were here for approximately 13 hours. Our pool is closed at 7:00 PM every night as per NYSDOH regulations and guidelines. Unfortunately, you arrived after it had closed for the evening. Our restrooms are thoroughly cleaned twice daily and are also spot checked throughout the day/evening. If you had alerted the office, a staff member would have attended to the issue immediately. Pay showers are also not unusual in the campground industry. It is a money-saving tactic for both the customer and the campground. By charging a nominal fee, we are able to control the cost of both hot water & electric usage, which in turn keeps camping fees from rising. Many campgrounds also charge for a nominal fee for wireless internet. Those that offer "free wifi" usually limit usage to 15 minutes every 24 hours. We prefer to charge $2.00 per 24 hours and give unlimited access in that time frame. As owners, we have also camped up and down the east coast of the US and have paid for showers and wifi at numerous campgrounds. Much research and planning go into our fee schedules each year. Again, we feel badly that you were not happy but we fail to see why you being a veteran has anything to do with why we are one of the worst campgrounds that you have ever encountered. Thankfully, we encounter hundreds of happy campers each season which have kept us one of the most popular campgrounds in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield Center, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is my first year camping here. We have chosen to stay the entire camping season. We are located on a beautiful site, right along what is known as "Buck Pond." The owner and staff run an excellent campground. Though there are rules in place - but there are none that are exceptionally difficult to follow. For those of us living here all summer, the rules help ensure that we live in a quiet, respected park. As many people do come stay here with families, large groups of people or otherwise to enjoy themselves a little noise is expected. However, during quiet times, a level of respect from ALL parties helps ensure a lovely environment. We will be returning for many years to come! Keep up the great work!

- VERY happy camper

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schuyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I rented an RV space for 3 nights. On day two, three guests arrived with a planned two night stay. They were forced to pay for three nights because the main reservation was for three days.
The owner was extremely rude to myself and guests and did all he could to nickle and dime us to death.
Communication before our stay was exceptionally horrid.

The owner was even nice enough to drive a fire truck around the park while blowing a siren and air horn. Do not expect to get any rest here...

Cell service is nearly impossible to obtain but the owner will be glad to sell you wifi at $2 per day per device.

Bottom line, there are far better campgrounds in the Saratoga area. I STRONGLY suggest you visit one of them instead of this joke.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drum8202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
612kaf, Owner at Whispering Pines Campsites, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Our records show that your reservation was for a holiday/special events weekend. Our website clearly states that there are special ground rules in place for these types of weekends, including that all registered overnight visitors on your site will be charged for the full stay regardless of the actual number of nights they stay. We have very strict security measures in place when our park is at capacity and this is one of them. Nearly 500 people camped with us that weekend and no one else complained about the additional charges because they fully understood the reasons why. We do not make it a practice to be rude to customers; it only when customers are argumentative that we have to be firm.

We apologize for the less than perfect communication prior to your stay. With the enormous volume of calls, emails and reservations we were dealing with at that time, we admit we may have been remiss and missed a few here and there. We assure you it was not intentional.

Charging for WiFi is not uncommon in campgrounds that offer it. Advertising "free" WiFi can often be misleading since the amount of free time you're given is usually 15 minutes per day. We would rather charge a nominal fee and not risk customers being upset at such limited internet access. All of our rates & fees, including WiFi, are clearly listed on our website. The campground is not responsible for your poor cell service as most carriers have coverage in our area. The only one that expresses difficulty is Verizon, so you may wish to change carriers if this is a continuing problem in more rural areas.

The firetruck rides are given only once on Saturday afternoon and are very popular with our campers. Children and adults alike enjoy it and the ride lasts for less than 10 minutes. Quiet hours are strictly enforced from 10:00 PM to 8:00 AM. A full campground is bound to be somewhat noisy during the day hours and unless someone makes staff aware that it is an issue, we cannot take care of the situation. If the firetruck disturbed you, you would have been in your perfect right to let the office staff know.

In the future, we at Whispering Pines strongly suggest you read the rules & regulations, website and confirmations of any campground you visit. A fully informed camper is a happy camper and we have had thousands of happy campers stay with us for 19 seasons...and that's no joke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We showed up at 7:15pm and the check in ends at 7 ( we were stuck at the canadian border for four hours) so in retaliation, the desk worker decided to place us in the thebmiddle of no where furthest from anyone, water spigots, or the restrooms.Severe rain and flood watches were predicted for the entire day and yet they placed us in the worst spot possible. When i asked about the location the worker blatantly lied to me about the several questions i had, including the location of the water spigot which did not exist and he attempted to lie to me and say that every site had one. I would not suggest this campground to anyone including those who are used to rustic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
612kaf, Owner at Whispering Pines Campsites, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We at Whispering Pines are sorry you had an unfavorable experience at our park. I can assure you that our staff is willing to do anything to accommodate an unhappy customer. Contrary to what you indicate, none of our staff would "retaliate" against any camper who arrived late. We have a late check-in procedure that takes the worry out of late arrivals for customers and staff alike. Had you called to let us know that you were delayed at the Canadian border, a late check-in would have been arranged for you. If a customer is unhappy with the site they are assigned, all they need to do is simply tell us and another site will be given to you. The weather report has no bearing on where we assign campers; only the type of camping unit and a customer's request will determine the best place for them There are 3 restroom facilities in the campground, all easily accessible from any site in the park. The majority of our 112 sites have water & electric hook-ups or water/electric/sewer hook-ups, leaving only tent sites without those amenities. There is a water spigot located in the center of the tenting area, which is clearly marked on our campground map. Each of our staff is well versed in the park, its sites and individual amenities and are always willing to work with friendly, reasonable requests of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I spent a lot of time researching and comparing camp sites prior to my making a final choice for my 2 month long stay. After I finally made the choice every camp grounds were booked solid. I had to further my research and site after site was full. So I extended my search and the only site that was able to take me in was Whispering Pines. I reviewed the campgrounds and quickly noticed a lot of empty sites which should have brought a red flag to my attention but I over looked it and decided I had no other choice and booked the site for a month. The site was secluded and set up for complete amenities which my camper was set up for however when I entered the facility to check in I had to explain to the woman behind the counter that the original vehicle that would have been registered is out of commission due to a blown transmission and could not be registered at that moment, and that not all the people I planned on having with us was there. I was instructed that would not be an issue that once I had another vehicle that I could register it and add the other person at a later date. When it came time to advise them of the other occupant and vehicle it was DENIED!.After three attempts to get this done and was refused I finally went into the office myself in an attempt to resolve this. I was confronted by the owner/manager whom obviously had no customer service skills and was called names and then kicked out after paying for a full month to be there. Instead of simply allowing us to have the 2 adults/2 children/2 cars as stated on their website we were removed from the camp site and forced to go back at a later date with police escort to retrieve our camper and personal items.

In addition to the horrible experience from the owner/manager no one in the office was ever friendly or asked us how our stay was going. The bathrooms near the front of the camp site were poorly maintained and the showers were locked which forced campers to hike to the other end of the camp grounds to enter a facility that forced you to pay for the shower time at a rate of $1.00 for 4 minutes. The swimming pool was small in comparison to other near by sites, and the pond was just a very small body of water that you could not utilize for fishing or boating of any kind. The site does not allow you to bring in any outside burning wood and forced you to purchase their bags of wood at a rate of $8.00 a small bundle (once again a way to nickel and dime you)

I would not recommend this campsite to anyone looking to camp and enjoying their vacation without being harassed by the owner/manager. The owner is a bully and will kick you out of his camp site if he is not pleased with anything you do or say. BUYERS BEWARE!!!! If you are looking for a great camping experience spend the extra money and go to ALPINE LAKE CAMP GROUNDS, it's well worth it and you would never have to deal with a mean angry owner/manager.

It's peak season right now and camp sites should be full to capacity as they all are except at Whispering Pines and now I realize why half his sites are vacant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCphotojournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
612kaf, Owner at Whispering Pines Campsites, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Our records clearly indicate that the reason for eviction was for refusing to register and pay for your guests, even after several warnings. When management approached the visitors on your site, they flatly refused to register or pay. Management then asked that they leave the property. When a guest is unregistered, they are considered a trespasser. It is the responsibility of the registered camper to follow the rules of the campground and make sure their guests do the same. You told management to call the police because you and your guests had no intention of leaving, therefore the Sheriff was summoned to escort you off the property.

As for the other issues, the restrooms you are referring to are older than the other facilities in the park. It is maintained just as the others but may appear in disrepair because of its age, which is one of the reasons we chose to close the showers in the building. All restrooms are cleaned twice daily and spot checked throughout the day. The new facility is only a 5 minute walk away and even shorter if you choose to drive. The showers in the new facility are 50 cents for 4 minutes, not $1.00 as you stated. We have two ponds on the property, not one. The one located in the back of the park is used both for fishing and paddleboat rentals. We do allow any loose, non-kiln dried wood to be brought into the park. It poses a potential threat to our trees, especially if the source of the wood is unknown. We do not force anyone to purchase our wood. Everyone is welcome to purchase packaged kiln-dried wood from other places if they wish. The wood we have for sale is merely a convenience to our campers. We have the right to protect our property, whether it be from invasive wood pests or customers who have a blatant disregard for our rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Pines Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campsites

Property: Whispering Pines Campsites
Address: 550 Sandhill Rd, Greenfield Center, NY 12833-1123
Region: United States > New York > Greenfield Center
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Greenfield Center
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 112 site campground situated on 75 acres of towering pine trees. RV sites have water/electric or water/electric/sewer. Cable TV & 50 amp service on some sites. Tent sites available. Rec Hall, special events and planned activities. WiFi hotspots. Newly renovated rest rooms. Potluck suppers. Fireside Cracker barrels. New in 2015 - The Pine Cone Cafe ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing