We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We've stayed here two years in a row for fall weekend getaways to the North Fork wineries - 5 couples sharing 2 condos. It works well for us in terms of location, the views are awesome and and the prices are reasonable for the area. I have to agree with other reviewers though about the paper thin walls, awful beds(ours caved in the middle) and terrible bedspreads. Even the blanket on our bed was dirty, which I'm assuming means those are not washed between guests (gross!). Also, they leave coffeemakers in the kitchen, but ours was dirty and needed to be cleaned inside and out in order to be used, which is just a pain. Bathrooms are nice, but they need some ATD at this place - it could be a lot better than it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyP808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    34
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

can't wait to go back to Greenport for the Octoberfest and pumpkin picking and stay at my favorite hotel the Cliffside Resort..and stay in the best room B205...right on the water beauiful ..
it is so relaxing there. .also I love to go to all the outlets...We have the best time ever....
The hotel is like us coming home again...they are so freindly...it is like a dream cam true....

Room Tip: I stay at B205 each time I go to greenport its my favorite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford,CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Overall the condos are beautiful. The staff that we encountered were very helpful and pleasant. The twin beds were VERY uncomfortable, and the bedding felt like sandpaper. The walls are also super thin, so much that you can hear conversations being had in the next condo over. The beach is beautiful and the scenery is nice. We did a few wine tours, and I have nothing nice to say about the people we interacted with. This town is full of snobby people who look down at you and think that they are better than you. I can say that I will not return to Long Island any time soon...I think next time I will head back out to Rockport, Ma. Wonderful people there...must be a New York thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our family booked 10 rooms for friends and family for a recent wedding. At $400-plus a night, you’d expect a certain degree of comfort and elegance. Not so.

The condos, which include two bedrooms, two baths, a living room and balcony, feel more like cheap – and unloved – motel rooms. In every unit we saw cheap carpet that was stained and torn. In ours, the bedspreads were soiled, the mattresses old, the sheets stiff, the rooms dark, and the TV literally falling off the wall bracket. Even when the TV maintenance man arrived (after calling twice over several hours) to evaluate, he said “I need some light!” We couldn’t comply so he returned to slap some duct tape on it to hold it somewhat in place. And for the winner, we had to ask for toilet paper.

Management seemingly could care less. When we requested a couple of hours of extension on the 10 am check-out time, we were informed Cliffside’s policy is to charge an extra $75 if you want to stay until 4, but that under no circumstances would they consider even an hour or two without remuneration, about $30, no negotiating. Given that this is a place that caters to weddings (we were aware of at least four), this seems like a deliberate rip-off. How many people are ready to leave their room at 10 am after a night of wedding revelry? You can be confident that they strictly enforce this lunacy, as their staff was inspecting promptly at 10 as we left – lest they be “cheated” out of the additional revenue.

While the location of the Cliffside is lovely, it doesn’t make up for the sparse, depressing, and grossly overpriced rooms. Go elsewhere and encourage your friends and family to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peacenik88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were so impressed with the rooms and view the sunset from the balcony was something out of a movie the water view unbelievable and the staff cannot do enough great vacation spot centrally located in greenport cannot wait to return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desperateli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here with a group of 18 friends. I had wanted to stay at a place in town so we could park the car and walk everywhere. Although I had not chosen this place, I was very happy with it. The distance to town is close, not walking distance, but it is also a close drive to everything else you want to see out east. We went to wineries, Greenport town, rented a boat at Port Egypt and ate lunch at Alure.
The place had no vacancy, every parking spot seemed filled all day, yet we rarely saw many people. It had a very quiet feel to it.
We paid extra for a view of the Sound and were happy we did. It's stunning. It also places your building towards the back of the property, on the lawn leading to the cliff, which gives you an area right outside your deck. Other building are on the parking lot. Its worth asking about this (building B we stayed in) when booking. There was another building to our east that had the same view/lawn.
The rooms were spacious enough and well stocked and updated. There was a mini fridge, dishwasher, wine fridge (yes both) coffee pot and toaster. For extra counter space there was a rolling butcher block cart. It also had all you need in terms of plates, silverware, barware, etc. I only brought coffee filters and my own coffee as I am picky. It did come with one packet of coffee.
We had a corner room (102) which gave us a larger deck. This was a great feature. It meant sliding doors from the bedroom and living area. However, the queen/full bed was not the room with the twin beds. I am just saying this because if we had brought the kids, and put them in this room, it might be loud at night if hanging out on the deck.
If going with another family, ask to have room that have decks that connect. Our room and our friend's room were connected by a outside staircase to the lawn. We opened the doors from our decks to the staircase to allow us to go back and forth between the rooms. Its a nice option.

My only complaint are that there is housekeeping only every third day. We stayed two nights and I admit I like someone coming in and making my bed and freshening things up each day.

Bring your own towels for the pool.
There were two bathrooms, and had enough towels.
Our bed had three pillows. Three? Odd. But we didn't bother asking for more, so I am not sure how they handle this.

I also wish the website was more helpful. I like to find information on a website. Having to call to ask things that could easily be listed on a site is a little annoying. In 2013 a place like this should have all information about room layouts, housekeeping, what to find in the rooms, checkout policies, etc. This does not take away from how nice the place is (and clean!) but it would make planning easier.

Room Tip: Room with a Sound view close to cliff. Corner room has a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyplayercarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye brook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Cliffside Resort was a perfect quick getaway spot to the beach for a family. The suite style accomodations with kitchen made breakfasts and snacks easy- although you have to bring alot of equipment to pull off a full family dinner. The bedrooms are small but adequate, and the bathrooms are nicely modern. Our ocean front unit had a blacony with deck big enough for table and chairs overlooking the spectacular ocean, and a smaller balcony off the master bedroom overlooking the parking lot.

On property access to a beach and pool and large lawn for running around is great as well.

Resort is minutes from cute Greenport town and marina, where shops and restaurants are plentiful.

The beach is more rocks than sand, but that is true of most North Fork beaches. There is a steep staircase to the beach, and chairs and umbrellas are not provided by the resort, so you will be lugging those items up and down the stairs each day.

Overall, hotel gets high marks for ease and comfort. The resort has all you need for a family with kids, and the unit was clean, well equipped, spacious and modern.

The other beach front options in the area mostly looked like outdated strip motels. I would definitely stay at the Cliffside again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have great view. Pool front rooms are no doubt noisy. Note to those with bad knees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffsideGreenport, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffside Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad Cliffside was the perfect location for your quick getaway to the beach! We thank you for the warm comments and hope to see you back at Cliffside.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Resort Condominiums

Property: Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Address: 61475 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Resort Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private resort beach, sweeping lawns and heated pool in a relaxed 7+ acre setting. Privately owned condominiums overlooking Long Island Sound, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and Living Room convertible couch, sleeps 6. Each unit offers private terrace and self catering kitchenette, including refrigerator, wine cooler, microwave, dishwasher, stove top. LCD TVs, unlimited Wifi, and easy access from public transportation. Close to area attractions. Village of Greenport, golfing, boating, bikes, hikes, fine dining and wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliffside Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Resort Condominiums Hotel Greenport
Cliffside Resort Condominiums Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing