We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always The Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fordham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fordham House
Ranked #1 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Marion, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always The Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We reviewed the Fordham House a little over a year ago when it first opened, and since then we’ve been lucky enough to be guests not once, but twice, with each stay as pleasant as the next. On our first stay we chose the cozy room located in the back of the house. I chose it because I loved the light streaming in, lighting up the orange pillows propped up on the perfectly made bed and for the bathroom’s original pull chain loo. Though it’s the smallest room in the house it was the perfect, quiet, cozy pad to escape to after a long day scouting about the North Fork. The morning greeted us with a French pressed pot of coffee, homemade yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, croissants and muffins all presented on a long chef’s table, making it easy to help yourself to as much or to as little as you would like. That morning it was Strata on the breakfast menu, a towering helping of eggs, cheese and sausage. It was like a breakfast lasagna. Amazing. Our next stay put us in the larger room located in the front of the house with my favorite color palette of black, white and eggplant. With its sophisticated furnishings and palette throughout, this home is the perfect choice for anyone who’s turned off by fussy, over-laced, over-ruffled B&B’s. The innkeeper, Halina, we love her for her quirky charm. She’ll make you feel welcomed and at home before you even put your bags down and Humphrey, the Bouvier des Flandres who is the Fordham House’s mascot, is eager to please and friendly but just as happy to take a back seat if you prefer. In no time you’ll know why people leave with a smile on their face saying they’ll be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northfrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
147
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I just spent a weekend at the Fordham House and it did not disappoint! I am relatively picky about hotels and wouldn’t consider myself a B&B person but Helena (the owner) has completely changed my mind. We stayed in one of the two medium sized rooms and it was beautiful, serene and very clean. The bed, pillows, linens and towels were top notch and very comfortable and there were C.O. Bigelow products for use in the bathroom. In the morning we were greeted with an AMAZING breakfast of homemade yogurt, granola, coffee and pastries followed by a separate entrée that was equally delicious. It was decadent but wonderfully homemade with the best local ingredients. Helena and her dog Humphrey make you feel comfortable and wonderfully taken care of from the second you walk in the door and have great suggestions of vineyards to visit as well as other activities. The inn is a short walk from the center of Greenport (less than 5 minutes), which we enjoyed exploring as well. If you are planning a weekend on the North Fork the Fordham House is not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 lovely nights at the Fordham House B&B for Labor Day weekend. Helena is a warm and gracious innkeeper who makes you feel so welcome. The house is beautiful and meticulously well-maintained. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Helena's breakfasts are amazing - the best I've had at any B&B! Helena helped us plan our day with great suggestions of the area - from bike rentals to beaches and restaurants. The location is great - just a short walk to the center of Greenport. We had such a great time that we're planning to visit again in October!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rc6124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Fordham house is a place that makes you feel like a queen. My sister and I stayed here for a few days and were totally overwhelmed with Helina's hospitality and fabulous breakfasts. The decor and comfort of each room makes you want to return and never want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katcrow55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just spent 2 days in greenport at a wonderful B&B. The Fordham was everthing we expected and more. Helana the owner was wonderful and gracious, she offered many good tips on the area and we enjoyed talking with her. Her breakfast was more than delish. The house was beautiful and in a great location to walk to town. The porch was awesome to sit on at night and enjoy a glass of wine before heading into town for dinner. I would highly recommend this property if you are looking to stay in Greenport. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksantos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had the privilege to spend the weekend at Fordham house. Halina is the inn keeper in this meticulous home, with beautiful details that make your stay a perfect experience! The rooms are clean and so comfortable. The breakfast is top notch. Halina makes you feel so welcome, and just like family. I am so glad we have found Fordham house and will sure to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Thank you Halina!

We were fortunate to find such a wonderful place filled with the lovely innkeepers sense of style and wonderful hospitality.

Cant wait to visit next year again!

A true gem. Looking forward to stay here next summer



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolusXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.6 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.9 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordham House

Property: Fordham House
Address: 817 Main St, Greenport, NY 11944-1209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fordham House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fordham House offers an unparalleled luxury with spacious bedchambers in this historic property. Both public and private rooms have the atmosphere of an effortless style and real elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fordham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fordham House Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing