We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terriffic weekend, all started at Ruby's Cove” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terriffic weekend, all started at Ruby's Cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Donna is a fantastic innkeeper, lots of good advice, can get you that hard to get reservation, and makes a killer breakfast as well. Nice porch for coffee in the morning or a drink later in the day. Walking distance to downtown and many restaurants, not to mention the brewery next door. We had a great time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: only 3 rooms, two have a bathroom in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikec2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
163
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Proprietor was a blast.Amazing food,and she offered a perfect combination of warmth and respect of privacy.The bedding was wonderful,rooms were spotless!It felt like we stepped back to another era.Beautiful furnishings from wall to floor,soft music played while we ate an awesome breakfast in plush robes that she supplied.We felt like we really made a friend in Greenport,will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Very quiet,great night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen143Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Donna takes the two Bs very seriously! The beds are amazingly comfortable so sleeping late is a must! Also, these "breakfasts" are definitely more like "brunches" or "feasts." She uses fresh ingredients to create dishes like eggs with spinach and ham, a spring vegetable medley of asparagus, corn & sweet potatoes and caramelized french toast. Unbelievable. The best part is that Ruby's Cove is super-convenient. Easy walk to town or the Shelter Island Ferry and right next door to the brewery. Yay!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room in the round turret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKOFfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our stay at Ruby's Cove was a gift , and what a wonderful choice it was. Donna made us feel at home the minute we walked in, and by the time we left we felt like best friends. She is an outstanding cook. Breakfast was different, and delicious every morning. We stayed in the "Madeline Room", so we had a very comfortable bed in the turret. Donna has bikes for her guest's use, so we took advantage of them. We have, and would recommend Ruby's Cove for a great get-away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ruby's Cove for an extended weekend while we were on Long Island for a wedding. We had stayed at a B&B before in Greenpoint and had a nice time. However, staying at Ruby's Cove really felt like staying at a friends house. Donna was there to meet us when we arrived and made an extensive effort to make us feel at home. She was full of helpful information about things to do in the area, and even suprised us with a little something to eat when we accidentally slept through dinner one evening. Her home has a really warm feeling and we both felt comfortable curling up downstairs with a book, which we certainly hadn't felt at the previous place we had stayed in. Overall, we really enjoyed it and will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at Ruby's Cove. The Inn is beautiful and what can I say about Donna??? She's the best, made us feel right at home and gave us good tips of places to go and restaurants to try. She's extremely hospitable and truly makes you feel like your in a "home away from home". Her breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. I especially enjoyed her Rumrunner Ruby's Cove French Toast and her Hawaiian Bread topped with delicious ambrosia jam. The town of Greenport is very laidback and you can walk all over. Donna has bikes available too if you want to ferry over to Shelter Island and bike around it. This is a place you will go back to again and again and Donna will be just like an old friend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

When we first arrived at Ruby's, Donna, the Keeper of the Cove, laid it all out for us - this weekend was about us, no tv in the room, no cells at the table, and the walk to the room - You have GOT to see the hallway! She was so right. It was just what we needed to unload from the stress of everyday life. And, since we didn't have a TC in the room, well, our Son was Born Feb 3rd - 8lbs 2 oz. We will definately be going back to see Donna! And to visit the Gnomes. One of the rooms has a door just for Gnomes. And right next door - The Greenport Harbor Brewery. I actually got to spend time with the brewmaster. Nice break from all the wineries.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omis2WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.1 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 127 Steps to Main Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruby's Cove Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing