We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rubys is a gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brightwaters
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rubys is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two days this fall to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The owner Donna is an amazing personality who knows everyone in town and gave us great tips (for instance she told us to have lunch in the food truck at the North Fork Table where we had the best lobster rolls EVER) The place is total eye candy, with cool antiques everywhere. The beds have elegant linens and she lays out amazing treats, like fresh beer from the brewery next door. Also, you will beg her for her breakfast recipes because that girl can cook. The area is so walkable and you can get bikes from her and take the ferry to shelter island and bike around. With three rooms, I want to book the whole place for a group of my girlfriends or two other couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
165
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

my wife and i were in greenport for our nephews wedding when disaster struck......after the storm, with clean-up under way, the cliffside condos inadvertantly cancelled our reservation!!!!!!!!!!! after traveling some 8 hours from vermont, one can easily understand our-my frustration. With all the hotels booked we were rushed to find a suitable place to stay for the extended week-end.. the condos were forced into finding us a place to, although they did NOTHING to compensate us for this terrible inconvenience.........donna at ruby's cove came to the rescue!!!!!!!!! thank you for the bottom of our hearts, making a miserable situation turn into such a great week-end.....mr grumpy pants knows hospitality and you, my dear lady epitomise that!!!!!situated next to a brewery, what else can i say, you are footsteps from the village. the laid back,quirky,spunky and very charming innkeeper makes even the worse situation, a more pleasurable one......the rooms are warm and cozy as donna makes everything as easy as possible......if in fact, donna, it wasn't for you i probably would have a bad week-end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!you, my lady, have gained two more friends in you long list!! please come and visit us in vermont...........you are always welcome.....robin and bob foster

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband I spent a weekend at Ruby’s Cove to celebrate his birthday. We had a fantastic time with Donna who really is Ruby’s Cove “hostess with the mostess.” First off we were thinking of driving out Saturday morning since we were only able to stay for one night with our last minute plans, however after hearing there was a room available and about the great bar and restaurant scene in downtown Greenport we thought it would be great to wake-up refreshed and not have to deal with Saturday traffic. We are so glad we did because not only did we have a fun night bar hopping, two nights in the super comfy beds, and two mornings of AMAZING breakfast. I should of known from the spread of treats waiting for us when we checked-in that breakfast was going to be delicious, but the food surpassed our expectations. Normally you have a good but average home-style breakfast at B&Bs, however there was nothing average about the Ruby’s Cove breakfast. Thanks to Donna, staying at Ruby’s cove is like having a best friend who knows the best places to go and has a house in an ideal location downtown so you can walk to everything. From the moment you arrive you feel at home and are welcomed to enjoy the house as if it were your own but without having to worry about cooking or dishes. We lucked out with weather so we spent Saturday at wineries and Sunday using our FREE bike’s from Donna on Shelter Island – which is a little hilly for beach cruisers – but a lot of fun! However, if there was bad weather I would of loved sitting on the front porch or inside the cozy living room with a good book and a glass of local wine or beer from brewery next door and the local cheese and fresh baked goods that just appear exactly at the moment you want a snack.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Ruby's is an experience! Located 1 block from the center of town, you can't beat it for convenience. The place is decorated to the hilt with a 1940's French bordello kind of vibe complete with Edith Piaf music playing in the background. Donna, the owner, is on center stage at all times. She is well traveled and has non-stop, rapid fire stories to share with great enthusiasm...be prepared to listen. We all enjoyed her company, but if you're looking for peace and quiet, or alone time, choose another place. Breakfasts were tasty, plentiful and highly caloric. You won't find anything like this anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditdoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The primary strength of Ruby's is in its owner, Donna. Donna is quirky, spunky, energetic, enthusiastic, and perhaps a bit eccentric, in a Bohemian sort of way. However, these qualities are what make the stay very pleasant.

The Inn is a fairly-well maintained Victorian perfectly located foot-steps from the heart of Greenport. The common rooms are comfortable and with a touch of quirk. Our room was very clean and decorated with some great antiques but also with a touch of Donna's sass - a "nude beach" sign was above the bed. My only complaint about the room was the shower. I am a very average-sized guy and the shower stall was ridiculously small and very uncomfortable.

Generally speaking, it was a good stay. But be prepared that this is not really your traditional bed and breakfast - and that's a good thing. Donna's informality and quirk is great - I just wish that her prices were a bit more reflective of the Bohemian lifestyle. For almost $400 a night, I want to feel like I'm staying on the Upper East Side, not the Lower.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The basics first as noted in many other reviews here: A beautiful old Victorian house, right in the center of Greenport, within walking distance to town and everything Greenport has to offer.
My adult daughter and I spent a long weekend here and it was perfect for what we were looking for. Donna, who owns and operates the house, finds a pretty good balance between making sure you know all of the possibilities and options to fill your day (and then doing everything she can to help you arrange it) and leaving you alone to enjoy your time and the house.
Our rooms were spacious and clean. If you're looking for the always new, always the same experience you get at a large chain, this is not the place for you. It's an old house and like every old house it has its quirks and charms.
But any minor annoyance the picky might find with the house itself (we had none whatsoever) is more than made up for by Donna's energy and encyclopedic knowledge of the town - I suspect she knows everyone in Greenport, by the artistic, slightly bohemian charm of the house, by Donna's wonderful hosting (wine and snacks when we arrived albeit inescapably late, delicious appetizers and wine/beer in the evening, and fabulous breakfasts), and by the location.
We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGMoore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Ruby's Cove. The location was perfect with a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants. Donna was a great host and breakfast was delicious!! Our room was very comfortable. We felt right at home. The house has so much to offer. We shared Ruby's with other guests and everyone had privacy. We cant wait to go back with friends and family. Make Ruby's a must on your next visit to Greenport!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 127 Steps to Main Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruby's Cove Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing