We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most relaxing weekend ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most relaxing weekend ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The most peaceful weekend ever. Donna is the most hospitable host ever! We loved the house, the room, the breakfast, and the town. The Scrimshaw restaurant and Noah's were delicious.
I will be going right back this weekend so I think that is the best recommendation I can give. Very romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyFairgate999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
163
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We just returned from our second weekend get away at Ruby's Cove. We found Ruby's when the B&B we went to regularly for years, closed. We were hesitant to go someplace new, but Ruby's turned out to be even better than the previous B& B. The house is beautiful, warm and inviting. Donna is an amazing person, hostess and cook! We feel like we are at home when we stay with her!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This charming and comfortable B&B is located in the heart of Greenport in a lovely neighborhood. We were privileged to be there when the cherry blossoms bloomed. A first for us. This was our best B&B experience and Donna the owner was delightful and made us feel at home. She makes a really awesome breakfast too. And gave great tips on where to go and what to see. This home is circa 1837 and the decor runs a little late Victorian. The bed was so comfortable we now need to buy a new one at home. And really clean too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Ruby's Cove is a beautiful, peaceful retreat in the middle of lovely Greenport, Long Island. The decor is charming and a bit decadent and Donna is a warm and welcoming host. We really enjoyed our weekend at Ruby's Cove and will be sure to return on our next trip out to the North Fork.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racheleveginsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have been to several B&B's over the years and Ruby's is NOT your typical B&B. We left on Monday and I have yet to stop talking about it.

Its current keeper, Donna, asked me to describe Ruby's in one word ...ENCHANTING !!! Ruby's makes you feel at home. I told Donna its as if the house is alive and knows just what you need. I left feeling like I had spent a weekend at a spa. I have never been so relaxed, so in love, so happy. I can hardly wait to return.

Rubys is centrally located to town and everything (other than the amazing wineries) are within walking distance. This was our first weekend away from our kids and we were VERY nervous about leaving them. We found it hard to have a date night without talking about them, looking at their pictures and rushing to pay the bill so we could return home. It was as if Donna and Ruby's knew, and with the help of some wine tastings at Wineries suggested by Donna and some fantastic cheese purchased on Love Lane (another Donna suggestion!) we found a way to wind down, breathe and enjoy.

Im not a B&B person. The ones I have stayed in have been out of conveneince or the lack of other accomodations. Rubys makes me want to love B&B's but I cant... because Im head over heels for Rubys! The decor is so warm and inviting. When you walk in you feel at home (but without the chores and stress!) . Its so inviting. There are spots to sit and enjoy morning coffee, evening wine and the most comfortable chairs where you can curl up and read a book.

Donna's breakfast was AMAZING. People said they couldnt stop eating and I found that as well. When you are at Ruby's, you dont feel like you are a customer, you feel like a guest in Donna's home. Words cant describe how welcoming and accomodating she is. She is just one of those people who is completely and utterly genuine and has a heart of gold. We could want for nothing.

The rooms were beautiful, each one nicer than the other. We stayed in the Madeline. The toiletries Donna offers are so amazing I spent hours in Whole Foods trying to find them. The bed was the MOST comfortable I have ever been in my life. (I really returned home and wished I was still in that bed!!!) The most signifigant of all .... (drumroll please!) my husband never complained about the lack of a TV. In fact, I think this might be the ONLY trip where he didnt complain ONCE! WOW! 11 years of at least HUNDREDS of vacations and not a bad word to say!

The pictures cant do it justice. Words could never describe how special this place is. You HAVE TO GO!!!!! If you need more information or have any questions, please email me at ASTChick@aol.com. I'll always be happy to talk about Rubys! (sigh) Wish I was there right now!

Liz

Room Tip: Madeline is en suite at the end of the hall. The bed was AMAZING.... It was quiet, the perfect tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Ruby's Cove, and didn't want to leave! Donna immediately made us feel right at home, and shared some history about her and the house. Donna gave us great recommendations, from dining to wineries, to the little shops in town that are fun to look in. She even offered to make reservations for us. The room was cozy and beautiful. The house was full of comfortable furniture and really let us unwind and relax. Donna presented us with a nice snack platter of cheese and wine, as well as growlers of Greenport beer. The morning was the real treat. Donna is a great cook!!!! She made us a delicious breakfast, and it was a fun time to sit and chat with the other guests in the house. Everything at Ruby's Cove was amazing. We cannot wait to venture back there and be at our favorite home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were visiting from Texas and enjoyed the hospitality, great food and beautiful rooms. When Donna, the owner,said make yourself at home, she meant it. All of her recommendations were wonderful and she was so helpful from when I called to book the rooms, to arranging transportation from the train station, making dinner reservation and finally driving us to the train station at the end of our stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.1 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 127 Steps to Main Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruby's Cove Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing