We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Greenport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Weekend in Greenport”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a wonderful weekend I had at Ruby's Cove in Greenport this past weekend. Myself and 3 friends stayed Sat through Monday. It is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on the main street of town. Donna, who runs Ruby's Cove, has a fleet of bicycles that you can go exploring on. Donna knows where everything is, from newly opened restaurants, to really cool hidden beaches, and she'll mark up a map for you. So wonderful to come back to a glass of wine on the gorgeous porch, complete with a porch swing. Did i mention the breakfast??? Just when i fell in love with the french toast, out came "green eggs and ham"... i didn't need to eat again until dinner! The atmosphere is enchanting, an eclectic mix of antiques and background music of Billie Holiday... just try not to relax. Again... did i mention the french toast?? Will definitely be back! Thank you Donna!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
170
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ruby's Cove is in a great location, walking distance to all the restaurants and shops in Greenport. Very nice place to stay, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and a nice quaint home. Donna was great, gave us wonderful dinner recommendations, and went out of her way to get us coupons to an attraction we were visiting. Wonderful B&B!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyt295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived to a surprisingly unsuspecting host Donna -
For $300.00 (including tax) per night, I expect more than (2) choices for Breakfast. (Waffles, and eggs). Coffee was sadly weak - no fresh fuit, yogurt or fresh pastries. Room was too warm, a/c lacked power enough to cool - Shower stall was cramped and tiny with no bathroom amenitites (Lotion was provided). Bed was very comfortable. I never found 'food' and 'snacks' awating for me during the day- Just Ice water and tea bags. Breakfast begins far too late - (one's morning is nearly expired by end of meal). Host/Owner seems preoccupied with 'spreading' the word and 'selling' her B&B gig to anyone who will listen. Owner is very familiar with the town and that is a plus.

Cozy and cramped for the steep price, will not return..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cashewmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyscovebnb, Manager at Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2017
Mmmmmm...just seeing this now. Unusual review. Doesn't sound like Ruby's Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I spent the night in Greenport for a brief Anniversary getaway. Ruby's Cove had everything you could want in a B&B: Beautiful house and decor, very quiet and convenient location, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast... But the best part of the experience is the fun, friendly, and inviting owner, Donna. Her energetic and easygoing personality really set the tone from the minute we arrived. It felt like we were reconnecting with an old friend and this was our first time staying there. It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHCB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staying in Ruby's cove is like staying in a home. It is walking distance from the restaurants and nightlife of greenport and right next to an amazing craft brewery. We stayed for a graduation party weekend and it was amazing, we really felt at home. We felt extremely welcomed upon arrival and throughout our stay, and will definitely be coming back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrlapoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It's hard to point out what's best about Ruby's Cove... the free bikes? The amazing home cooked breakfast? The very thoughtfully decorated rooms? The delicious snacks, strawberry lemon water and local beer always readily available in the eating area any time of the day for you to take? The amazing location right in the heart of Greenport just minutes away from the Jitney/LIRR? The wonderful music selection always playing at the B&B transferring you to a French village (and I am a European saying this!)? Or simply the very enthusiastic, knowledgeable, warm host Donna who put it all together?

We came out for two days to Greenport without knowing much of the area and had a fabulous stay. It's a great village, in a gorgeous surroundings. The aforementioned bikes made it possible for us to really explore the area in and out and were a great perk. Donna had so many great tips for us, with Shelter Island, the nearby vineyards and lavender fields and a restaurant called First and South ranking amongst our personal highlights. If you want to feel welcome at the place you are staying at and really immerse yourself in your vacation spot, Ruby's Cove is definitely your go-to place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaAna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It was our first time in a B&B and were not disappointed. First, the location is perfect. Walking distance from many restaurants and bars in downtown Greenport. It is nice to just stroll around, check out the view of the water, and enjoy some great food.

The place itself was also comfortable and inviting. Donna, the owner, is very outgoing. She cares very much about her guests, and wants to make sure they have a good time. She is happy to give recommendations for restaurants, activities, etc. She even gave us some coupons for the wineries and saved us some $$

The rooms themselves are nothing too extravagant, but perfectly fine. Big bed, private bathroom, and clean. If you want to just hang out, there are various couches and chairs on the main level too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 127 Steps to Main Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruby's Cove Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing