We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Time At Ruby's Cove”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Forget that it's centrally located -- but it should be noted that within seconds you can walk to all the restaurants and shops in the heart of Greenport.

Forget that the rooms are more comfortable and relaxing than any other dwelling you've ever experienced -- but it should be noted that you feel instantly at home.

Forget that the breakfasts are better than anything else you will eat for the rest of the year -- though it should be noted that the food is both original and familiar and you will not be able to stop eating what you're served, even if you're not hungry. (And as an aside, for those of you who come here and need many hours of recovery from eating and wine tasting and other gluttinous pursuits, Donna is not strict about the time breakfast is served. Hey, this is a B&B, not a weekend in army boot camp, okay? And while Donna is the most generous soul, you had better respect her and the time and effort she puts in to making you happy! Or else you'll hear from me! ;) )

I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH: the greatest thing about this beautifully stunning old Victorian home is its keeper, Donna. The second you meet her, you'll think you ran into one if your best friends from way back! Her sweetness and generosity and ebullience and tremendous sense of humor are all showered upon you and the only thing you'll regret is that you have to leave. But you will tell everyone you know about this place and right after you leave, you'll be thinking about coming back.

Anyway, I'm writing this on the last night of our three-night Labor Day stay and while I am looking forward to eating nothing salads and celery sticks for the next week, I am sad to leave this house, which already feels like a second home. Thank you, Donna, thank you a million times!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkaplan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

Donna's breakfasts are REALLY good and so is the zucchini bread she leaves out. I also liked the fridge stocked with water, beer, wine, etc for guests to take.

We stayed in the Madeline Room which was very nice - we liked how the bed was in the turret. This room has a small bathroom (which is to be expected with an old Victorian turned into a modern B&B). It wasn't an issue for us and it works because the vanity is outside the bathroom, but it's definitely something to think about if you are someone that needs a little bit more elbow room in the shower. Donna mentioned that one of the other rooms has a larger bathroom. She also said that she's in the process of renovating a fourth room in the house which will have a larger bathroom.

The location is great because you can walk to restaurants and shops and not worry about driving after dinner.

We ate dinner at Noah's and The Farmhouse and we liked the Farmhouse better. We also had lunch and a glass of wine at Vine where they offer a very long list of wines by the glass.

Don't leave without taking Donna's bicycles out for a ride - there are bike lanes on roads and Donna will map out a route for you to take (which includes a couple gorgeous beaches). It was my favorite part of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarissaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

For truly elegant and relaxing accommodations, nothing comes close to the new Ruby's Cove Inn in Greenport, NY. Owner Donna Gruber has attended to every detail in this warm and romantic "Victorian Lady" (ca. 1893). Super full-breakfast and buffet snacks all day. Free use of bikes to tool around Greenport, the nicest town in Eastern Long Island. The in has just three antique-filled rooms, each tastefully decked out in period furniture and new controllable air cushion beds for great comfort! Very quiet ,and located steps off Main St., in the heart of town. Free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We came to Ruby's Cove to relax and celebrate our 1 year anniversary and were overwhelmed with the hospitality, ambiance and charm that is Ruby's Cove. Donna -- the "Keeper of the Cover" -- is a truly unique soul who immediately made us feel like we were visiting an old friend. She is a wealth of local knowledge and recommended some fantastic restaurants and vineyards. Best of all, breakfast each morning was beyond excellent. She is an incredible cook, making big breakfasts that we couldn't stop eating.

Ruby's Cove is a very special place. The decor is very eclectic and reminiscent of a time gone by, but with a decidedly new age mindset. The evenings were quiet and breezy. We returned from our day to find wine, coffee and assorted snacks and desserts laid out in the kitchen. Every detail was met to make us feel at home.

Our room was also wonderful. We were in the back corner of the house and every morning the room would flood with light. The toilet and shower are in a small, but not cramped, room by themselves. The shower has the most amazing tea tree oil shampoo that lit up the entire room whenever someone took a shower. And finally, the beds are incredible. They are comfortaire adjustable beds, so you set your own firmness. The sheets and bedding were clean and soft.

Altogether, we had a wonderful stay and will certainly be going back. What's more, I would not hesitate to recommend Ruby's Cove to anyone looking for a refreshing break from the monotony of real life.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_B81509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

If you want to sleep well, eat well, and get away from life go see Donna at Ruby's Cove. Borrow the bikes and explore. Leisurely read the paper in a leather armchair listening to some 20's Jazz in the amazing sitting room. Sit on the jetty at the end of the road and watch the stars with a bottle of wine. Eat Rubys Rum Runner french toast for breakfast to nurse your hangover. Spend a day exploring Shelter Island and come back for afternoon tea and home-made Zuchini bread on the Colonial porch.

This place is special as is Donna.

We will definitely be back.

Dom and Jools

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We felt at home at once, welcomed by Donna as if we were old friends. So , of course, that's exactly what we became...The only thing not being homey was that we did not have to do the cooking and cleaning and dishwashing ourselves, even with my problematic requirements of vegan food in mind. Consequently we had lots of energy left for exploring the area pedaling or jogging or hiking around! And that made our 3 days stay feel like a week at least. After the breakfast - which was more like a real Norwegian dinner - we burnt calories on the bicycles on our discovery trips to the "jewelry-stone-beach" (my name; originally it's called "the 67-steps-beach" or something) on the north-west side, the beaches of Shelter Island and the preserve on the north-east side of that island, where we also spent time hiking through the shadowy woods.
Our "home" really proved to be situated in the center of an area with rich possibilities for having a relaxing and active pause from our everyday life and still feel we belonged there! Thanks to Donna, thanks to the house and thanks to the surroundings!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnar_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Ruby's Cove is a charming B&B one block off Main Street in Greenport, Long Island. Donna, the owner and hostess, made our stay here very special. Her suggestions on dinning and things to do were perfect and made our 30th anniversary special.

Our bedroom was quite comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast at Ruby's Cove is a cut above other B&Bs, I would describe it as "gourmet"!

Thank you Donna for making our special celebration extrodinary.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRR6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
632 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 127 Steps to Main Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: £152 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruby's Cove Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruby's Cove Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing