We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wells House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I just spent the weekend at The Wells House and we had a great time! We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and only had time for a quick getaway. We decided to go to Greenport. Knowing that it was our first time visiting, Vince was very helpful in giving us suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The location is excellent as we could walk into town and be in the middle of everything within minutes. The decor of the house is beautiful and we loved our room (we stayed in the Captain's room). This is our first time staying at a b&b and we were pleasantly surprised how much we liked it. The breakfast was delicious and we really felt attended to. I would highly recommend The Wells House and hope that we make it out there again. Thank you again for a lovely experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thewellshousebnb, Owner at The Wells House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Wells House Bed and Breakfast to celebrate your ten year anniversary in Greenport! I enjoyed sharing with you my recommendations on what to do in Greenport, as well as making your first time at a B&B a memorable experience. I certainly hope you are able to make it out to Greenport and Wells House again.

Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beautifully restored home. Vincent is a terrific host. All of the personal touches from turndown to nightcap selections upon returning from dinner. Very thoughtful host. A block from the action, but a great distance from the noise and crowds.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadlyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thewellshousebnb, Owner at The Wells House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Wells House for your peaceful retreat in Greenport, NY. It was a pleasure creating a personalized experience for you. I hope you choose Wells House again for your next relaxing getaway.

Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This past weekend my husband surprised me with a night away for our ninth wedding anniversary. This weekend undoubtedly has been the best get away we have taken together in quite some time. The Wells House is just amazing. From the moment you enter the gates till the time you say see you next time’ do you feel transformed back in time, completely tranquil, and just at peace. Vince is by far the most intriguing person and host we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. His attention to detail is highlighted throughout the home, and is expressed in every aspect of the B&B experience. The home is immaculate; a true gem in every sense. To anyone interested in culture, history and the simplistic beauty of art the Wells House is for you! Oh, and breakfast was delicious! We’ll be back, and if you went, you’d be too.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful, and the town is just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thewellshousebnb, Owner at The Wells House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you to you and your husband for choosing Wells House to celebrate your ninth wedding anniversary. It was a pleasure to have you for the weekend and to help you escape the modern day to unwind for a bit. Looking forward to having you back again!

Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just returned from our second weekend visit to the Wells House and are so happy that we’ve discovered this gem. This charming B&B is a refreshing escape from our overly connected world. The attention to detail at this historic Victorian home is second to none. The collection of antiques and artifacts that adorn the walls and furnishings provide an endless assortment of conversation pieces with the witty and worldly owner, Vince. Whenever you return to the inn, you will likely be surprised by something simple, yet special, that reminds you that you are the focus of attention during your stay. Each delicious multiple course breakfast is a combination of savory and sweet and will make you realize how boring your everyday breakfast is. The house is in walking distance to the town, which makes exploring the stores, restaurants and waterfront very convenient. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thewellshousebnb, Owner at The Wells House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for joining us at The Wells House for a second visit. It means so much to me that you were so pleased with your first visit that you returned for a second. I hope that you join us for a third, a fourth, and many more visits. It is a delight to share with you the many treasures of Wells House and look forward to sharing with you many more on the next visit.

Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon The Well's House by accident. One Saturday we decided to hand the kids over to their grandmother and take a drive out to the east end of Long Island. We had zero plans and zero expectations. Little did we know we would end up having the most amazing and relaxing time of our lives and it would completely take place within a bed and breakfast in Greenport. The exterior is even more quaint and lovely in person but the inside is where the magic can be found. Every inch of the home is beautifully decorated and rich with history. The rooms are the perfect setting to feel pampered in. We tossed out any plans to dine in one of the local restaurants to spend time in this wonderful house and learn its history from the owners Vince and Fran. The house is amazing but the service is even more so. This is due to the warmth and friendliness of the owners. We left the Well's House relaxed, rejuvenated and looking forward to returning as soon as we can. Ah, but I almost forgot to mention the amazing breakfast. The breakfast which was prepared by both Vince and Fran was fantastically made and beautifully presented. What a treat!

If you are debating on where to stay on the North Fork of Long Island (yes I know the North Fork is more than Greenport but that does not matter) pick the Well's House. You will walk away with good memories and new friends

Room Tip: If you can, request the Captain's Quarters. All rooms are equally beautiful but occupants of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbenaStLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thewellshousebnb, Owner at The Wells House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
The Wells House was so pleased to be a part of your perfect accidental weekend away. Your kind words about Wells House are so touching. Hope to be a part of your next weekend away in the North Fork, accidental or not.

Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you don't like well appointed beautiful rooms, plush robes and towels DON'T GO! If you don't like a gourmet 3 course breakfast served on vintage china and crystal, DON'T GO!! If being welcomed and pampered by a charming inn keeper is not for you, DON'T GO!!! The Wells House provides a lovely setting for any visit to Greenport. We have enjoyed several stays at various times of the year. Each season offers something different to see and do. Vince is an amazing inn keeper, opening his door with pride. as it should be!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I discovered the Wells House B&B Easter weekend of 2012 for a 2 night getaway. Vince is a very entertaining host and his breakfast is to die for. We ate so much every morning we even skipped lunch both days. We returned in 2013 for another weekend getaway that was even better than our first. I highly recommend a trip to Greenport with a stay at this fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.3 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wells House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wells House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Wells House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 530 Main St, Greenport, NY 11944-1430
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Captain Wells in 1859, Wells House has been a fixture in the North Fork community for over 150 years. In 2008, owner Vince Albert Icolari renovated Wells House to be an elegant and luxurious bed and breakfast. Filling the Tuscan-styled home with antiques and antiquities he has collected over the years, Vince has created the ultimate experience in style and sophistication, while maintaining a sense of comfort. Wells House remains the only L-Shapes Italianate in Greenport. Located in the heart of the village of Greenport, Wells House Bed & Breakfast offers close proximity to the top restaurants, shopping and activities of the picturesque port town. Taking a stroll right down Main Street finds the most delicious fine dining experiences, shopping in charming boutiques, or an evening drink at one of the quaint bars. While the location of Wells House Bed & Breakfast offers the best of Greenport just steps from its front door, the property is surrounded by carefully chosen landscaping, offering the utmost privacy. The back lanai allows for private dining alfresco or an evening cocktail. Wells House Bed & Breakfast offers the best of both worlds, privacy and proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wells House Bed & Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing