We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price, great location”
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Sunset Motel is a charming motel that is reasonably priced and has killer views.

My husband and I stayed there this weekend for a little getaway. We chose it for the value and the close proximity to the village of Greenport. Since it is not tourist season on the North Fork yet, there were quite a few vacancies at the motel. That suited us just fine. Our room was more than adequate. Our room contained a queen bed, a typical bathroom with a stand-up shower, a pull-out loveseat couch, a small tv, a kitchenette, and a screened in porch that overlooked the huge yard.

The selling point of this motel is it's location. It is right on the Sound. A very short walk through a beautiful and HUGE yard leads to a small area for cook-outs. There are two picnic tables and two grills. At the picnic area, there are stairs that lead down to the beach. After a long day of activities, watching the sun set over the Sound while sitting on the beach was a perfect ending to the day.

The motel is a very short drive into the heart of Greenport Village.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamagenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Once again when traveling to see family in Long Island this past week, we stayed at the Sunset. We find it to be so comfortable and accommodating in every regard. Therese welcomed us upon our arrival, and we now feel she is like part of our family! She is always so warm, and her knowledge of the area and events is exceptional. Even though they have just opened for the new season, everything was wonderfully comfortable as always. After spending time with our family, it is so nice to return to the room, relax a bit, and unwind from the day. The bed was super-comfortable, and the entire room was clean and cozy. It was great having the extra blanket, as the nights were still on the cool side. We are already looking forward to seeing Therese and being at the Sunset again in June, and would not consider staying anywhere else when this beautiful lodging experience is available. Our thanks to all for making our stay such a positive one!
Gwen & Jim
Freeport, Maine

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenjim_sartoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

we have been staying in the cottage of Sunset Motel for over 15 years and find it a wonderful respite from the city - the location couldn't be more perfect, the staff is most gracious and helpful and warm, the amenities, while not modern in the cottage, are sufficient for our purposes. The only reservations we have are that the cottage itself is not being adequately maintained - the outside needs painting and wood needs to be restored if this little jewel is to survive. Additionally, the upkeep of the property is not up to snuff - the wonderful view from the porch is now partially blocked by trees that need pruning before the view is totally blocked and the sunset no longer visible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We've been going to the Greenport area for years, and the Sunset has been a yearly--sometimes twice yearly--destination. We particularly love the beautiful location on the Sound and the expansive lawn leading down to the beach where we have spent delightful hours wandering and daydreaming. Though the facilities are modest, they are comfortable and dependable, and no one could be more accommodating than the wonderful office manager, Therese. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, Therese will do anything and everything to be sure that you have everything you need, from providing extra hangers to finding just the right pot in which to cook that special meal away from home. Discussing the latest happenings in the area with her, as well as the newest places to eat or to find diversion is just another daily treat in the office. She makes you feel like family, and she quickly becomes part of your own. It's because of people like her that the Sunset has become part of my yearly ritual, and I hope it to continue.

Room Tip: Stay in the newest building rather than the older one. The views are better, the facilities newer a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tlizzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After my son's wedding in mid September, my sister and I decided we needed a little R&R, away from the hubbub of metropolitan NY. So we headed to the North Fork for our first visit. We wanted a quiet location, a view of the water, proximity to some wineries, and a reasonable price. The Sunset Motel fit the bill in every respect. In addition, the room was clean, the bathroom was updated, and the kitchenette was well stocked with everything you would need to cook. We loved walking the private beach, collecting sea glass. This was a great find, and we will be back!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank PatriciaJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The awesome location of the Sunset Motel, on a green bluff overlooking the Long Island Sound, is perfectly enhanced by the welcoming manager, Therese. As soon as you arrive, she makes you feel as if your worries have vanished and that you have arrived home! The place is a wonderful throw back, but could not be without the warm and friendly help of the staff!

Room Tip: Facing the Sound
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atshemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We visit Long Island 3-4 times a year from Freeport, Maine, and there is no place else we would rather stay than at the Sunset. Therese always greets us so warmly, and we feel like she is now family to us. She has consistently gone out of her way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable, and shows such a sincere interest in our well being. Her graciousness makes the visit complete for Gwen and I, and we always look forward to seeing her during our time away. Our room has always been very clean, attractive, and so nice to return to after our family visit each day in nearby Mattituck. The views are spectacular, the beds comfy, and we really have no suggestions for improving our stay in this quaint and charming Long Island motel.
Our ongoing thanks to Therese in particular, as well as all of the staff at the Sunset, for such warm and truly comfortable visits, and we are already looking forward to our trips there this Fall!!
Gwen & Jim Sartoris

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the water - you will not be disappointed!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwenjim_sartoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.5 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
595 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
5.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.1 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southold Beach Motel
Southold Beach Motel
#3 of 3 in Southold
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 62005 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2230
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £74 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Greenport
Sunset Motel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing