We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I came to Sunset with My Family for a week. Therese was lovely! She was very accommodating, and great to chat to. Our room was clean, and our kitchenette was amazing to have for the week. We used it for nearly every meal the whole week!
I love the screened in patios! I spent so much time relaxing out there due to the rainy weather. They overlook a spacious lawn area that leads to the beach.
I am so happy we stayed at Sunset Motel. It was very close to Greenport Village, and still felt secluded from the traffic. It was the perfect calmness I needed to refresh from the busy city life. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I recommend staying in a corner room, a little bigger view of the beach scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you are looking for the real Northfork with a gorgeous view of the sunset, private beach, rustic charm, and a peaceful atmosphere where you can unplug and get away from the hectic world, come out and stop over to see Therese! She will treat you like family and make you feel at home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrynepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This vacation, for us, was outstanding thanks to the warm welcome and help from Therese. What a pleasure to have stayed here. Our views were beautiful even though the weather was "iffy" for a good part of the stay.
Can't say enough about Therese - her graciousness and help in locating the best restaurants and jaunts.
It's not about the facility. It's about the people. Tops the list!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbums516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Sunset Motel is a charming motel that is reasonably priced and has killer views.

My husband and I stayed there this weekend for a little getaway. We chose it for the value and the close proximity to the village of Greenport. Since it is not tourist season on the North Fork yet, there were quite a few vacancies at the motel. That suited us just fine. Our room was more than adequate. Our room contained a queen bed, a typical bathroom with a stand-up shower, a pull-out loveseat couch, a small tv, a kitchenette, and a screened in porch that overlooked the huge yard.

The selling point of this motel is it's location. It is right on the Sound. A very short walk through a beautiful and HUGE yard leads to a small area for cook-outs. There are two picnic tables and two grills. At the picnic area, there are stairs that lead down to the beach. After a long day of activities, watching the sun set over the Sound while sitting on the beach was a perfect ending to the day.

The motel is a very short drive into the heart of Greenport Village.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamagenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Once again when traveling to see family in Long Island this past week, we stayed at the Sunset. We find it to be so comfortable and accommodating in every regard. Therese welcomed us upon our arrival, and we now feel she is like part of our family! She is always so warm, and her knowledge of the area and events is exceptional. Even though they have just opened for the new season, everything was wonderfully comfortable as always. After spending time with our family, it is so nice to return to the room, relax a bit, and unwind from the day. The bed was super-comfortable, and the entire room was clean and cozy. It was great having the extra blanket, as the nights were still on the cool side. We are already looking forward to seeing Therese and being at the Sunset again in June, and would not consider staying anywhere else when this beautiful lodging experience is available. Our thanks to all for making our stay such a positive one!
Gwen & Jim
Freeport, Maine

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenjim_sartoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

we have been staying in the cottage of Sunset Motel for over 15 years and find it a wonderful respite from the city - the location couldn't be more perfect, the staff is most gracious and helpful and warm, the amenities, while not modern in the cottage, are sufficient for our purposes. The only reservations we have are that the cottage itself is not being adequately maintained - the outside needs painting and wood needs to be restored if this little jewel is to survive. Additionally, the upkeep of the property is not up to snuff - the wonderful view from the porch is now partially blocked by trees that need pruning before the view is totally blocked and the sunset no longer visible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We've been going to the Greenport area for years, and the Sunset has been a yearly--sometimes twice yearly--destination. We particularly love the beautiful location on the Sound and the expansive lawn leading down to the beach where we have spent delightful hours wandering and daydreaming. Though the facilities are modest, they are comfortable and dependable, and no one could be more accommodating than the wonderful office manager, Therese. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, Therese will do anything and everything to be sure that you have everything you need, from providing extra hangers to finding just the right pot in which to cook that special meal away from home. Discussing the latest happenings in the area with her, as well as the newest places to eat or to find diversion is just another daily treat in the office. She makes you feel like family, and she quickly becomes part of your own. It's because of people like her that the Sunset has become part of my yearly ritual, and I hope it to continue.

Room Tip: Stay in the newest building rather than the older one. The views are better, the facilities newer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tlizzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.6 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 62005 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2230
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £76 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Greenport
Sunset Motel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing