We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not share the secret spot?”
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Such a lovely beachfront motel on the sound! We stayed in room #12, facing the back lawn and the sound. There are bunnies, birds and other cute little wildlife wandering around on the premises. We had a simple one bedroom with a clean kitchen and a screened veranda in back. We grocery shopped at IGA in Southold, picked up produce along the road at farm stands and bottles of wine at the vineyard (s). It's lovely to be able to cook and watch the sunset in the backyard. There's also a little beach and picnic / grill area past the lawn in back, on the site.

The beaches here are mostly rocks, but the water is clean and swimmable. We go down the road to Southold to a public beach with a car park.

Room Tip: Get the one bedroom efficiency rooms or the little cottage facing the ocean with the veranda. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 舟 周
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Sunset Motel is a great place to go and get away from it all! The rooms are nicely-furnished and are stocked with everything (i.e., utensils, pots and pans, etc.) you could need. In addition, the grounds, especially the main lawn, are very well maintained.

Our hosts, Therese and Denise, are very welcoming, and they always go out of their way to help with whatever we need. (They are definitely like family to us.) Also, the cleaning crew does a top-notch job in a quiet, unobtrusive way.

We have already stayed there in May and July, and we can't wait to get back to our cozy little porch in August! We honestly couldn't think of any place we'd rather be than at the Sunset Motel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are looking for the simple pleasure, not easily found, of a spectacular view of the Long Island Sound, a private beach access, an uncluttered expansive lawn, your own screened-in porch, an immaculately clean and comfortable room, and a most welcoming Therese, book your room at the Sunset Motel. Just minutes from the local charm of Greenport and world-class North Fork wineries... we are eager to return to our new favorite NoFo address! Merci bien, Therese, et a la prochaine!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Therese on the phone... You can already feel the country charm of this motel by the sound, the Long Island sound that is. Large room with water views, green lawn where rabbits and birds play, you, in a chair watching the Sunset with a glass of Peconic chardonnay... The room is cozy, the TV convenient, (only if it rains), and the kitchenette very useful to keep your wine & cheese chilled.
Therese, thank you for the warm welcome, the beach towels and the nice room. A weekend to remember.
We will be back...

Room Tip: Ask to be on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The sunset, the beautiful lawn, and the friendly care from Therese (the most lovely receptionist, concierge, and local authority), are the reasons we have returned to the Sunset Motel for the past three years. Every year we are greeted by a wonderful staff who genuinely cares that our stay is just perfect. The rooms are clean. We go just before the season opens for the lower rates.

That said, the whole place would be well served by a little care. A coat of paint, a little update here and there. When you go back to the same place, the same time, every year you would like to see that the place you love is loved and that the owners are making an effort to maintain what is a charming and ideal place to spend a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Sunset Motel is a gem on the Long Island Sound. The sweet little motel overlooks the Sound from your room via a screened-in porch. The motel is close to the vineyards, and shopping/eating in Greenport. This was my second summer to stay at the Sunset, and I'll definitely go back. The private beach is secluded and wonderful. Therese is a great hostess and had a packet of information for me about area attractions when I arrived. She is so warm and personable; you would think she's the owner. If you want to feel at home, while away from all the hassles at home, the Sunset Motel is the place to go.

Room Tip: Rooms are available with small kitchen or just a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As most reviewers state, this property could use some TLC. Having said that, I found my room to be very clean. It just needs some simple things like painting, furniture upgrades, etc. The locations is beyond perfect. Quiet, big, tranquil. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. Town, beach, vineyards, anything you want to do in NoFo is very close to the motel.

Room Tip: The bedrooms and bedrooms suites are in a newer, separate building. Great views of lawn, beach and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monochromes2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.6 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
0.1 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 62005 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2230
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £72 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Greenport
Sunset Motel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing