We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special here, average tourist bar/restaurant”
Review of Crabby Jerry's

Crabby Jerry's
Ranked #25 of 67 Restaurants in Greenport
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Description: Self-serve, family-friendly, waterfront dining. Specializing in lobster in the rough and other fresh seafood.
Restaurant details
Description: Self-serve, family-friendly, waterfront dining. Specializing in lobster in the rough and other fresh seafood.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special here, average tourist bar/restaurant”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after getting off the ferry from Shelter Is. Not real busy since it easy after the lunch hour but service was sloppy. My lunch was served but without knife and fork! I had to ask. One of us ordered C herrystone clams and got LittleNecks. Waitress was puzzled. They're not that hard to distinguish.

Beer selection was limited with very few local choices. They did have a Hawaiian brand. What is the point folks? How about supporting the local brewers?

In summary it has a good location. Too bad it's not well managed.

Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west babylon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great View - Fried Food”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is at the end of the Claudio's dock and is owned and operated by Claudio's, so the food is always delicious. The view is awesome as it's located at the end of the dock over looking the bay. It's a self serve place - you place your order, pay and then wait for your number to be called. All very casual. There's a bar right in the eating area as well. The only downfall is that almost everything they offer is fried. There are a few salads on the menu, but as far as I could tell, everything else is a fried dish. Again, it's delicious - but if your counting calories, your limited on your choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suz3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Fried Shrimp”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I come here every time I am in town. There is something about waterside eating and fried shrimp that just screams summer to me. The fried shrimp is cooked perfectly so that it isn't rubbery and it is made with large shrimps cooked to crunchy perfection. I try to get there close to noon so the lines to order aren't too crazy and you can get a table. Recently, I have been sitting at the bar. The bartender, who is very attentive, will take your order and pick it up for you while you enjoy the view and cold beverage. Also, it is right across the way from Claudio's outside bar so you get to enjoy some music and still be able to carry a conversation with the folks you came with.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJK812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Food and view to go”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A beautiful day in Greenport to walk around, and enjoy the sights. Many eateries to choose from and this location was chosen to eat at because of the scenery of the water, piers and boats.
Before you sit down, approach counter person at the ordering window. The menu is large print and many choices. Once the order is placed your number will be called to pickup the food. I had the clam strips with fries and it was tasty. Being a tall guy with an appetite, it was plentiful for me. One can sit inside, or outside. It was fun to observe the types of boats parking at the docks. I will return and have another go at this location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikecarstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Shack Food”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice day in Greenport and wanted easy quick lunch...food is your average seafood shack open air experience. No waitress service...order at window and pick up. All outdoor seating with marina and water view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gezette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crabby Jerry's also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
 

Been to Crabby Jerry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing